I'm struggling to understand the rules and mechanics for welding weapon for a spellcaster. Can someone help me out? Also, I'm generally confused about what it takes to switch weapons in combat and having weapons, that are at the ready to be able to do the free interaction with one object, that you get with your turn. It is sort of assumed that for weapons that you have on you (not in the backpack or similar) that there is some kind of an unspoken understanding that adventures just have holsters or sling or similar for each weapon they have on their person, for being able to draw a weapon as one interaction with an object? (cause I'm not getting how characters carry weapons that are not in their backpack and always seem to have a weapon or several/many weapons ready to draw). It also seems like there ought to be a limit to how many weapons, a character might have at the ready - if there is, what would that limit be, or what factors might influence what that number might be?
Here's some insight on the subject that hopefully will help you sort it out.
The rules let you draw or sheathe a weapon in tandem with your movement and action. A second object Interaction on your turn use your action. While not explicitely written in the rules letting go of someone held require no action, so we can safely assume the same for an held object.
Interacting With Objects Around You: Here are a few examples of the sorts of thing you can do in tandem with your movement and action: • draw or sheathe a sword
Others Activities On Your Turn: You can also interact with one object or feature of the environment for free, during either your move or your action. For example, you could open a door during your move as you stride toward a foe, or you could draw your weapon as part of the same action you use to attack. If you want to interact with a second object, you need to use your action. Some magic items and other special objects always require an action to use, as stated in their descriptions
Grappling: If you succeed, you subject the target to the grappled condition. The condition specifies the things that end it, and you can release the target whenever you like (no action required).
There is also official ruling confirming drawing ammunition is included in the attack.
Do the first and third benefits of Crossbow Expert turn a hand crossbow into a semiautomatic weapon?....the act of drawing the ammunition is included in the attack and therefore doesn’t require its own action and doesn’t use up your free interaction with an object on your turn
When you use two-weapon fighting, can you draw and throw two weapons on your turn? You can throw two weapons with two-weapon fighting (PH, 195), but that rule doesn’t give you the ability to draw two weapons for free. On your turn, you can interact with one object for free either during your move or during an action (PH, 190). One of the most common object interactions is drawing or stowing a weapon. Interacting with a second object on the same turn requires an action. You need a feature like the Dual Wielder feat to draw or stow a second weapon for free
Finally there is the Developpers tweetwhich despite being not official ruling may provide additional guidance on dropping held item for free, similar to how releasing a grappled creature.
@_sea_creature Does dropping an item count as your one use of "interacting with an object," or can you drop an item as a "free/no action."
@JeremyECrawford In most circumstances, I would allow a character to let go of something without using an action.
I'm struggling to understand the rules and mechanics for welding weapon for a spellcaster.
It is sort of assumed that for weapons that you have on you (not in the backpack or similar) that there is some kind of an unspoken understanding that adventures just have holsters or sling or similar for each weapon they have on their person, for being able to draw a weapon as one interaction with an object? (cause I'm not getting how characters carry weapons that are not in their backpack and always seem to have a weapon or several/many weapons ready to draw). It also seems like there ought to be a limit to how many weapons, a character might have at the ready - if there is, what would that limit be, or what factors might influence what that number might be?
Plaguescared addressed the drawing and loading of weapons completely but I'll address these other points some more.
On a spellcaster, you have several possible components that explain what is required to cast the spell. These are:
Vocal (V)
Somatic (S)
Material (M)
Vocal simply requires that you are able to utter vocal words and sounds to enact the spell.
Somatic requires gestures for the spell and a free hand (note the hand cannot hold a spell focus or material if the spell does not have a Material component).
Material requires either a focus or material which must be held in a free hand. If the spell also requires Somatic component, then the same hand can be used. If the material component has a value in coins mentioned or is consumed then a focus cannot be used. You must have the material component in hand. Its not mentioned if two hands are required for a spell with two material components so this would be a DM call.
NOTE SAC: "If a spell has a material component, you need to handle that component when you cast the spell. The same rule applies if you’re using a spellcasting focus as the material component." ---"If a spell has a somatic component, you can use the hand that performs the somatic component to also handle the material component." ---"a cleric’s holy symbol is emblazoned on her shield. She likes to wade into melee combat with a mace in one hand and a shield in the other. She uses the holy symbol as her spellcasting focus, so she needs to have the shield in hand when she casts a cleric spell that has a material component. If the spell, such as aid, also has a somatic component, she can perform that component with the shield hand and keep holding the mace in the other.
If the same cleric casts cure wounds, she needs to put the mace or the shield away, because that spell doesn’t have a material component but does have a somatic component. She’s going to need a free hand to make the spell’s gestures. If she had the War Caster feat, she could ignore this restriction."
--- If you have a two handed weapon it's generally presumed that you must have both hands to wield the weapon for attacks (or stronger attacks in the case of versatile weapons) but only one hand to merely hold it while your other performs spells or other actions. The Warcaster feat allows Somatic components to be performed while holding a weapon. Typically the weapon will also be a spellcasting focus.
Clerics and Paladins are able to have an emblem as their focus. This emblem is typically put on a shield which allows clerics and paladins to use a shield as a spellcasting focus. Note that focuses are different for different caster types. You cannot substitute a weapon for a focus BUT generally the rules for improvised weapons are used. Improvised weapons mention that if an object is similar enough to a weapon on the weapons table, then that weapon's details can be used rather than the generic improvised weapon details. Typically this means that a mage Rod is considered a Mace and a mage staff or druid wooden staff is considered a quarterstaff.
-----
On how weapons are stowed on the body and available. Thats very commonly glossed over. Many DMs don't force players to keep track of it provided they aren't carrying a garrison's worth of weaponry or obviously large items such as a barrel or chest. Others get a bit more strict or might require you to detail how and where the weapons and easy draw items are stowed. Backpacks note that they can have items strapped and tied to them with their capacity typically representing how much internal space they have. When you purchase a pack with a backpack its not uncommon for rations to take most or all of the space and nearly everything else to be strapped on or rolled up in a bed or blanket which is strapped on. There are some comical images out there which display these overburdened backpacks in a barely plausible way.
NOTE the free item interaction details: "The DM might require you to use an action for any of these activities when it needs special care or when it presents an unusual obstacle. For instance, the DM could reasonably expect you to use an action to open a stuck door or turn a crank to lower a drawbridge."
Note also that a Bag of holding specifically notes that it requires an action to draw something from it but the above means that at any time a DM could note you dropping and switching numerous weapons or throwing them and drawing more then ask you to explain it.
Personally, I take it a bit more serious and get my character some travelling clothes which include a belt (but some rope could be argued as well). I figure I can have up to two pouches, quivers or two non-heavy weapons slung at my belt for easy acess. Then a backpack with up to two heavy weapons strapped either side and my shield if I don't want to carry it. I imagine the heavy weapons strapped to either side of the backpack and the shield on the face of the backpack. That could just as easily be another pair of quivers or non-heavy weapons. Daggers and lighter weapons could be tucked into belts, strapped on other parts of the backpack or the character's body, boots, etc. Really, I try to use a measure of common sense and believability but plenty of others could come up with perfectly reasonable ways to imagine how items are stowed but quickly available to retrieve (or stow again) in the heat of battle while not requiring a full action.
For spellcasting while inot addressed spefcifically its assumed that drawing material components from a pouch is part of the action used to cast the spell as well.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I'm struggling to understand the rules and mechanics for welding weapon for a spellcaster. Can someone help me out? Also, I'm generally confused about what it takes to switch weapons in combat and having weapons, that are at the ready to be able to do the free interaction with one object, that you get with your turn. It is sort of assumed that for weapons that you have on you (not in the backpack or similar) that there is some kind of an unspoken understanding that adventures just have holsters or sling or similar for each weapon they have on their person, for being able to draw a weapon as one interaction with an object? (cause I'm not getting how characters carry weapons that are not in their backpack and always seem to have a weapon or several/many weapons ready to draw). It also seems like there ought to be a limit to how many weapons, a character might have at the ready - if there is, what would that limit be, or what factors might influence what that number might be?
Here's some insight on the subject that hopefully will help you sort it out.
The rules let you draw or sheathe a weapon in tandem with your movement and action. A second object Interaction on your turn use your action. While not explicitely written in the rules letting go of someone held require no action, so we can safely assume the same for an held object.
There is also official ruling confirming drawing ammunition is included in the attack.
Finally there is the Developpers tweetwhich despite being not official ruling may provide additional guidance on dropping held item for free, similar to how releasing a grappled creature.
Plaguescared addressed the drawing and loading of weapons completely but I'll address these other points some more.
On a spellcaster, you have several possible components that explain what is required to cast the spell. These are:
Vocal simply requires that you are able to utter vocal words and sounds to enact the spell.
Somatic requires gestures for the spell and a free hand (note the hand cannot hold a spell focus or material if the spell does not have a Material component).
Material requires either a focus or material which must be held in a free hand. If the spell also requires Somatic component, then the same hand can be used. If the material component has a value in coins mentioned or is consumed then a focus cannot be used. You must have the material component in hand. Its not mentioned if two hands are required for a spell with two material components so this would be a DM call.
NOTE SAC: "If a spell has a material component, you need to handle that component when you cast the spell. The same rule applies if you’re using a spellcasting focus as the material component."
---"If a spell has a somatic component, you can use the hand that performs the somatic component to also handle the material component."
---"a cleric’s holy symbol is emblazoned on her shield. She likes to wade into melee combat with a mace in one hand and a shield in the other. She uses the holy symbol as her spellcasting focus, so she needs to have the shield in hand when she casts a cleric spell that has a material component. If the spell, such as aid, also has a somatic component, she can perform that component with the shield hand and keep holding the mace in the other.
If the same cleric casts cure wounds, she needs to put the mace or the shield away, because that spell doesn’t have a material component but does have a somatic component. She’s going to need a free hand to make the spell’s gestures. If she had the War Caster feat, she could ignore this restriction."
---
If you have a two handed weapon it's generally presumed that you must have both hands to wield the weapon for attacks (or stronger attacks in the case of versatile weapons) but only one hand to merely hold it while your other performs spells or other actions. The Warcaster feat allows Somatic components to be performed while holding a weapon. Typically the weapon will also be a spellcasting focus.
Clerics and Paladins are able to have an emblem as their focus. This emblem is typically put on a shield which allows clerics and paladins to use a shield as a spellcasting focus. Note that focuses are different for different caster types. You cannot substitute a weapon for a focus BUT generally the rules for improvised weapons are used. Improvised weapons mention that if an object is similar enough to a weapon on the weapons table, then that weapon's details can be used rather than the generic improvised weapon details. Typically this means that a mage Rod is considered a Mace and a mage staff or druid wooden staff is considered a quarterstaff.
-----
On how weapons are stowed on the body and available. Thats very commonly glossed over. Many DMs don't force players to keep track of it provided they aren't carrying a garrison's worth of weaponry or obviously large items such as a barrel or chest. Others get a bit more strict or might require you to detail how and where the weapons and easy draw items are stowed. Backpacks note that they can have items strapped and tied to them with their capacity typically representing how much internal space they have. When you purchase a pack with a backpack its not uncommon for rations to take most or all of the space and nearly everything else to be strapped on or rolled up in a bed or blanket which is strapped on. There are some comical images out there which display these overburdened backpacks in a barely plausible way.
NOTE the free item interaction details:
"The DM might require you to use an action for any of these activities when it needs special care or when it presents an unusual obstacle. For instance, the DM could reasonably expect you to use an action to open a stuck door or turn a crank to lower a drawbridge."
Note also that a Bag of holding specifically notes that it requires an action to draw something from it but the above means that at any time a DM could note you dropping and switching numerous weapons or throwing them and drawing more then ask you to explain it.
Personally, I take it a bit more serious and get my character some travelling clothes which include a belt (but some rope could be argued as well). I figure I can have up to two pouches, quivers or two non-heavy weapons slung at my belt for easy acess. Then a backpack with up to two heavy weapons strapped either side and my shield if I don't want to carry it. I imagine the heavy weapons strapped to either side of the backpack and the shield on the face of the backpack. That could just as easily be another pair of quivers or non-heavy weapons. Daggers and lighter weapons could be tucked into belts, strapped on other parts of the backpack or the character's body, boots, etc. Really, I try to use a measure of common sense and believability but plenty of others could come up with perfectly reasonable ways to imagine how items are stowed but quickly available to retrieve (or stow again) in the heat of battle while not requiring a full action.
For spellcasting while inot addressed spefcifically its assumed that drawing material components from a pouch is part of the action used to cast the spell as well.