Pretty much the title tells the story but even across many other items I'd be curious to know if others think the "Magic Initiate Feat" would satisfy a class-like requirement for an item, feat or other ability.
The important lines in the Magic Initiate Feat state:
Choose a class: bard, cleric, druid, sorcerer, warlock, or wizard
Your spellcasting ability for these spells depends on the class you chose
Wondrous item, common (requires attunement by a wizard)
Some things specify "spellcaster" or "Pact Magic" which the Magic Initiate feat doesn't grant. Similarly, some might specify "Class". However in the case of the "Hat of Wizadry" it mentions neither "spellcaster" nor "wizard class" only attunement by a wizard. So I guess the question is: Would taking "Magic Initiate" and choosing "wizard" satisfy the requirement of "Hat of Wizardy" for attunement by a wizard?
By RAW, no, you can't attune it unless you're actually a wizard. That said, if someone with wizard based spellcasting wanted to use it, I'd probably let them.
Neither RAW nor RAI. The rules don't allow you to do that. Now if the DM allows it, it's up to him. But playing by the rules you have to fulfill the listed conditions. The Magic Initiate feat doesn't make you a member of the wizard class, so you can't use Hat of Wizardry.
Pretty much the title tells the story but even across many other items I'd be curious to know if others think the "Magic Initiate Feat" would satisfy a class-like requirement for an item, feat or other ability.
The important lines in the Magic Initiate Feat state:
The important line from the Hat of Wizardry state:
Some things specify "spellcaster" or "Pact Magic" which the Magic Initiate feat doesn't grant. Similarly, some might specify "Class". However in the case of the "Hat of Wizadry" it mentions neither "spellcaster" nor "wizard class" only attunement by a wizard. So I guess the question is: Would taking "Magic Initiate" and choosing "wizard" satisfy the requirement of "Hat of Wizardy" for attunement by a wizard?
From the Attunement section of the DMG: "If the prerequisite is a class, a creature must be a member of that class to attune to the item." - https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/dmg/treasure#Attunement
By RAW, no, you can't attune it unless you're actually a wizard. That said, if someone with wizard based spellcasting wanted to use it, I'd probably let them.
Neither RAW nor RAI. The rules don't allow you to do that. Now if the DM allows it, it's up to him. But playing by the rules you have to fulfill the listed conditions. The Magic Initiate feat doesn't make you a member of the wizard class, so you can't use Hat of Wizardry.
A Hat of Wizardry doesn't make you a Wizard but if you multiclass into one you could then attune to the tiem.