Paraphrasing RaW “when you make your first attack on your turn…gives you advantage on melee attack rolls…during this turn.” No further verbiage about advantage being given at higher levels. Such as at 5th when you gain an Extra Attack during your turn. So what do you think? Should Barbarians get advantage on every swing of the axe or just the first attack during their turn?
You misunderstood the ruling and paraphrasing it complicated that.
Via the direct text
Reckless Attack
Starting at 2nd level, you can throw aside all concern for defense to attack with fierce desperation. When you make your first attack on your turn, you can decide to attack recklessly. Doing so gives you advantage on melee weapon attack rolls using Strength during this turn, but attack rolls against you have advantage until your next turn.
You can decide to attack recklessly on your first attack. This means you must make the choice on the first attack that turn, not any attacks after the first. This decision then grants you the advantage on all attacks (including the first) during that turn. This does not include opportunity attacks or attacks as reactions.
StylesStriker is correct, the decision to attack recklessly must be made when the barbarian makes their first attack of the turn and then applies to all attacks made that turn.
This is why in the sentence about giving advantage they say: "Doing so gives you advantage on melee weapon attack rolls . . ." In this sentence 'rolls' is the plural form of the noun 'roll'. If the intent of the designers had been for it to only apply to one attack roll they would have used the singular form 'roll' and added a pronoun like 'this' or 'a' to say something like: "Doing so gives you advantage on this melee weapon attack roll . . ."
Also note, Reckless Attacks only applies to attack rolls made on the barbarians turn. So attacks made outside of the barbarians turn, like opportunity attacks, do not gain advantage even if the barbarian decided to attack recklessly on their previous turn.
StylesStriker is correct but i'd make one minor correction, Reckless Attack gives you advantage on melee weapon attack rolls using Strength during this turn, including Opportunity Attacks and attacks made as a reaction. What it excludes is any attack occuring on turns that arent yours. So if an enemy on the Barbarian's turn provoke an Opportunity Attack or trigger a reaction attack from the Sentinel feat for exemple, it would be made with advantage.
StylesStriker is correct but i'd make one minor correction, Reckless Attack gives you advantage on melee weapon attack rolls using Strength during this turn, including Opportunity Attacks and attacks made as a reaction. What it excludes is any attack occuring on turns that arent yours. So if an enemy on the Barbarian's turn provoke an Opportunity Attack or trigger a reaction attack from the Sentinel feat for exemple, it would be made with advantage.
Edited again :) ... I agree with your comment.
If an attack is made on the Barbarian's turn and the Barbarian declares that they will use Reckless Attack with the first attack they make on their turn then it will apply to all other attacks on their turn. It will not apply to attacks on other creatures turns, possibly including opportunity attacks or attacks triggered by feats or similar which occur on other creature's turns but if such happen to be triggered on the Barbarian's turn then Reckless does apply.
P.S. Although opportunity attacks on your turn might be unlikely they could be triggered by a team mate with a held action casting Dissonant Whispers on your target and causing it to flee for example.
Paraphrasing RaW “when you make your first attack on your turn…gives you advantage on melee attack rolls…during this turn.” No further verbiage about advantage being given at higher levels. Such as at 5th when you gain an Extra Attack during your turn.
So what do you think? Should Barbarians get advantage on every swing of the axe or just the first attack during their turn?
You misunderstood the ruling and paraphrasing it complicated that.
Via the direct text
Reckless Attack
Starting at 2nd level, you can throw aside all concern for defense to attack with fierce desperation. When you make your first attack on your turn, you can decide to attack recklessly. Doing so gives you advantage on melee weapon attack rolls using Strength during this turn, but attack rolls against you have advantage until your next turn.
You can decide to attack recklessly on your first attack. This means you must make the choice on the first attack that turn, not any attacks after the first. This decision then grants you the advantage on all attacks (including the first) during that turn. This does not include opportunity attacks or attacks as reactions.
Loading...
Watch DnD Shorts on youtube.
Chief Innovationist, Acquisitions Inc. The Series 2
Successfully completed the Tomb of Horrors module (as part of playing Tomb of Annihilation) with no party deaths!
StylesStriker is correct, the decision to attack recklessly must be made when the barbarian makes their first attack of the turn and then applies to all attacks made that turn.
This is why in the sentence about giving advantage they say: "Doing so gives you advantage on melee weapon attack rolls . . ." In this sentence 'rolls' is the plural form of the noun 'roll'. If the intent of the designers had been for it to only apply to one attack roll they would have used the singular form 'roll' and added a pronoun like 'this' or 'a' to say something like: "Doing so gives you advantage on this melee weapon attack roll . . ."
Also note, Reckless Attacks only applies to attack rolls made on the barbarians turn. So attacks made outside of the barbarians turn, like opportunity attacks, do not gain advantage even if the barbarian decided to attack recklessly on their previous turn.
StylesStriker is correct but i'd make one minor correction, Reckless Attack gives you advantage on melee weapon attack rolls using Strength during this turn, including Opportunity Attacks and attacks made as a reaction. What it excludes is any attack occuring on turns that arent yours. So if an enemy on the Barbarian's turn provoke an Opportunity Attack or trigger a reaction attack from the Sentinel feat for exemple, it would be made with advantage.
Edited again :) ... I agree with your comment.
If an attack is made on the Barbarian's turn and the Barbarian declares that they will use Reckless Attack with the first attack they make on their turn then it will apply to all other attacks on their turn. It will not apply to attacks on other creatures turns, possibly including opportunity attacks or attacks triggered by feats or similar which occur on other creature's turns but if such happen to be triggered on the Barbarian's turn then Reckless does apply.
P.S. Although opportunity attacks on your turn might be unlikely they could be triggered by a team mate with a held action casting Dissonant Whispers on your target and causing it to flee for example.