In first, second, and third editions mages had to roll to see if they could learn a spell from a scroll. Does the same mechanic exist in 5th edition? I have looked and cannot find the rule on this. I would think maybe an Arcana check of some sort, but if so, what is the DC?
That's correct, though it is often ignored. It's a rule from the DMG under the section for the spell scroll magic item.
A wizard spell on a spell scroll can be copied just as spells in spellbooks can be copied. When a spell is copied from a spell scroll, the copier must succeed on an Intelligence (Arcana) check with a DC equal to 10 + the spell’s level. If the check succeeds, the spell is successfully copied. Whether the check succeeds or fails, the spell scroll is destroyed.
In first, second, and third editions mages had to roll to see if they could learn a spell from a scroll. Does the same mechanic exist in 5th edition? I have looked and cannot find the rule on this. I would think maybe an Arcana check of some sort, but if so, what is the DC?
That's correct, though it is often ignored. It's a rule from the DMG under the section for the spell scroll magic item.
"Not all those who wander are lost"
Thanks. This helps.