So my dm gave me a vorpal longsword as a loot, and in the description it says that i gain +3 to attack and damage roll, but in the app of dnd beyond it says i have +2 to hit and only 1d8 damage, so my question is do i actually have +5 to hit (as in the +2 on the app and +3 in the description) and 1d8+3 in the damage rolls or not? I'm really confused 😅
Whatever you could already do with a regular longsword you would add the +3 bonus to that for attack and damage rolls.
I got +2 to hit and 1d8 in one hand and 1d10 in two hands for damage, so you're saying i got +5 to hit and 1d8+3 in one hand and 1d10+3 in two hands for damage?
Look at what you've done. You spoiled it. You have nobody to blame but yourself. Go sit and think about your actions.
Don't be mean. Rudeness is a vicious cycle, and it has to stop somewhere. Exceptions for things that are funny. Go to the current Competition of the Finest 'Brews! It's a cool place where cool people make cool things.
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat Off - Mod Hat Also Off (I'm not a mod)
Have you tried using the website instead of the app?
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Look at what you've done. You spoiled it. You have nobody to blame but yourself. Go sit and think about your actions.
Don't be mean. Rudeness is a vicious cycle, and it has to stop somewhere. Exceptions for things that are funny. Go to the current Competition of the Finest 'Brews! It's a cool place where cool people make cool things.
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat Off - Mod Hat Also Off (I'm not a mod)
Look at what you've done. You spoiled it. You have nobody to blame but yourself. Go sit and think about your actions.
Don't be mean. Rudeness is a vicious cycle, and it has to stop somewhere. Exceptions for things that are funny. Go to the current Competition of the Finest 'Brews! It's a cool place where cool people make cool things.
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat Off - Mod Hat Also Off (I'm not a mod)
Normally a Vorpal Longsword's attack roll is calculated as: 1d20 (max/min of 2d20 when at (dis-)advantage) + Ability modifier (Usually strength) + Flat Magical modifiers (here +3) + Other modifiers (where applicable)
For a character with 0 strength modifier and no (dis-)advantage that would be: 1d20 + 0 + 3 to hit
Damage is then 1d8 + ability modifier (0) + flat bonuses (3)
Speaking of Vorpal Blades. Rolling a 20 on the attack triggers a specific special ability that either decapitates (one of) the opponent's head(s) or if they are resistant to slashing they take 6d8 slashing extra damage. However it doesn't say anything about this effect replacing the damage roll nor the critical hit. And a critical hit usually cashes out a double amplification on the damage roll - would that include the bonus 6d8 damage if the target is resistant to slashing? Usually a target is dead when decapitated, but I would like to think that technically you should still roll for damage with critical hit amplifier - in case the creature doesn't outright die from decapitation.
Edit: Critical hits only double the number of die rolls. I think shenanigans have happened in my playgroup's online tool, as I'm pretty certain that one doubled the flat bonuses and didn't double the number of dice but rather the roll results.
Normally a Vorpal Longsword's attack roll is calculated as: 1d20 (max/min of 2d20 when at (dis-)advantage) + Ability modifier (Usually strength) + Flat Magical modifiers (here +3) + Other modifiers (where applicable)
For a character with 0 strength modifier and no (dis-)advantage that would be: 1d20 + 0 + 3 to hit
Damage is then 1d8 + ability modifier (0) + flat bonuses (3)
You're forgetting proficiency, which the character in question seems to have, considering Beyond calculates a +2 to hit even before factoring in the +3 magical bonus.
Speaking of Vorpal Blades. Rolling a 20 on the attack triggers a specific special ability that either decapitates (one of) the opponent's head(s) or if they are resistant to slashing they take 6d8 slashing extra damage. However it doesn't say anything about this effect replacing the damage roll nor the critical hit. And a critical hit usually cashes out a double amplification on the damage roll - would that include the bonus 6d8 damage if the target is resistant to slashing? Usually a target is dead when decapitated, but I would like to think that technically you should still roll for damage with critical hit amplifier - in case the creature doesn't outright die from decapitation.
It seems that the extra 6d8 would be doubled on a crit. The extra 6d8 isn't just on crits, but instead on rolls of 20, and technically not all rolls of 20 are crits (see Adamantine Armor). If it can apply on attacks that aren't crits, then it makes sense for it to be doubled on attacks that are crits. I'm not sure if that's the intention of the rules, though. The whole thing could use some cleaning up.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Look at what you've done. You spoiled it. You have nobody to blame but yourself. Go sit and think about your actions.
Don't be mean. Rudeness is a vicious cycle, and it has to stop somewhere. Exceptions for things that are funny. Go to the current Competition of the Finest 'Brews! It's a cool place where cool people make cool things.
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat Off - Mod Hat Also Off (I'm not a mod)
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
So my dm gave me a vorpal longsword as a loot, and in the description it says that i gain +3 to attack and damage roll, but in the app of dnd beyond it says i have +2 to hit and only 1d8 damage, so my question is do i actually have +5 to hit (as in the +2 on the app and +3 in the description) and 1d8+3 in the damage rolls or not? I'm really confused 😅
Whatever you could already do with a regular longsword you would add the +3 bonus to that for attack and damage rolls.
I got +2 to hit and 1d8 in one hand and 1d10 in two hands for damage, so you're saying i got +5 to hit and 1d8+3 in one hand and 1d10+3 in two hands for damage?
What's your strength modifier?
Look at what you've done. You spoiled it. You have nobody to blame but yourself. Go sit and think about your actions.
Don't be mean. Rudeness is a vicious cycle, and it has to stop somewhere. Exceptions for things that are funny.
Go to the current Competition of the Finest 'Brews! It's a cool place where cool people make cool things.
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat Off - Mod Hat Also Off (I'm not a mod)
+0
Have you tried using the website instead of the app?
Look at what you've done. You spoiled it. You have nobody to blame but yourself. Go sit and think about your actions.
Don't be mean. Rudeness is a vicious cycle, and it has to stop somewhere. Exceptions for things that are funny.
Go to the current Competition of the Finest 'Brews! It's a cool place where cool people make cool things.
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat Off - Mod Hat Also Off (I'm not a mod)
It's the same thing in both of them no matter what
Are you attuned with it?
Look at what you've done. You spoiled it. You have nobody to blame but yourself. Go sit and think about your actions.
Don't be mean. Rudeness is a vicious cycle, and it has to stop somewhere. Exceptions for things that are funny.
Go to the current Competition of the Finest 'Brews! It's a cool place where cool people make cool things.
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat Off - Mod Hat Also Off (I'm not a mod)
It's always that danged attunement.
Normally a Vorpal Longsword's attack roll is calculated as: 1d20 (max/min of 2d20 when at (dis-)advantage) + Ability modifier (Usually strength) + Flat Magical modifiers (here +3) + Other modifiers (where applicable)
For a character with 0 strength modifier and no (dis-)advantage that would be: 1d20 + 0 + 3 to hit
Damage is then 1d8 + ability modifier (0) + flat bonuses (3)
Speaking of Vorpal Blades. Rolling a 20 on the attack triggers a specific special ability that either decapitates (one of) the opponent's head(s) or if they are resistant to slashing they take 6d8 slashing extra damage. However it doesn't say anything about this effect replacing the damage roll nor the critical hit. And a critical hit usually cashes out a double amplification on the damage roll - would that include the bonus 6d8 damage if the target is resistant to slashing? Usually a target is dead when decapitated, but I would like to think that technically you should still roll for damage with critical hit amplifier - in case the creature doesn't outright die from decapitation.
Edit: Critical hits only double the number of die rolls. I think shenanigans have happened in my playgroup's online tool, as I'm pretty certain that one doubled the flat bonuses and didn't double the number of dice but rather the roll results.
You're forgetting proficiency, which the character in question seems to have, considering Beyond calculates a +2 to hit even before factoring in the +3 magical bonus.
It seems that the extra 6d8 would be doubled on a crit. The extra 6d8 isn't just on crits, but instead on rolls of 20, and technically not all rolls of 20 are crits (see Adamantine Armor). If it can apply on attacks that aren't crits, then it makes sense for it to be doubled on attacks that are crits. I'm not sure if that's the intention of the rules, though. The whole thing could use some cleaning up.
Look at what you've done. You spoiled it. You have nobody to blame but yourself. Go sit and think about your actions.
Don't be mean. Rudeness is a vicious cycle, and it has to stop somewhere. Exceptions for things that are funny.
Go to the current Competition of the Finest 'Brews! It's a cool place where cool people make cool things.
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat Off - Mod Hat Also Off (I'm not a mod)