I did attempt to see how Planar Binding interacts with the tasha's summoning spells, but almost everything seems to be from years ago and/or address only Conjure Elementals.
So, what sez the peoples? Can my 12th level conjuration wizard cast Summon Draconic Spirit with a 5th level slot and then cast Planar Binding on it with a 6th level slot?
Couple daggers in the back saying "no" are the fact that long casting times (like that of Planar Binding) means that my wiz's concentration is broken as soon as I start casting.
Also Planar Binding doesn't say you no longer need to concentrate on your summoning spell, only that its duration is longer. (IE: even if this combo got this far, my wiz would have to literally concentrate non-stop to keep the draconic spirit around for the 24 hours.)
I feel like I've answered my own question, but making sure I'm not missing some wording or errata.
BONUS question: Would an inverted Magic Circle keep the draconic spirit around after my wizard's concentration was broken?
Because of concentration this requires two casters to do, one to cast and concentrate on the summoning spell, the other to cast Planar Binding.
As for still needing to concentrate on the summoning spell after Planar Binding is cast? No, Planar Binding does not extend the duration of the summoning spell that was used. It has its own effect and duration that would be used after the duration of the summoning spell expired. Also all of the Tasha's summoning spells have a duration of 1 hour which is the casting time of Planar Binding, so by the time you are done casting it the summoning spell has ended.
Magic Circle doesn't have an inverted option and only prevents the selected creature types from entering the cylinder. So if you cast Magic Circle as it is written the summon would be able to walk out unhindered.
Bonus answer: Be aware that Planar Binding only works on a celestial, elemental, fey, or fiend. So if your friend casts Summon Draconic Spirit then Planar Binding has no affect on the summon since it is a dragon, not a celestial, elemental, fey, or fiend.
No, Planar Binding does not extend the duration of the summoning spell that was used. It has its own effect and duration that would be used after the duration of the summoning spell expired. Also all of the Tasha's summoning spells have a duration of 1 hour which is the casting time of Planar Binding, so by the time you are done casting it the summoning spell has ended.
If the creature was summoned or created by another spell, that spell's duration is extended to match the duration of this spell.
Magic Circle doesn't have an inverted option and only prevents the selected creature types from entering the cylinder. So if you cast Magic Circle as it is written the summon would be able to walk out unhindered.
When you cast this spell, you can elect to cause its magic to operate in the reverse direction, preventing a creature of the specified type from leaving the cylinder and protecting targets outside it.
In fact, this option is mentioned within the text of planar binding.
Look at what you've done. You spoiled it. You have nobody to blame but yourself. Go sit and think about your actions.
Don't be mean. Rudeness is a vicious cycle, and it has to stop somewhere. Exceptions for things that are funny. Go to the current Competition of the Finest 'Brews! It's a cool place where cool people make cool things.
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat Off - Mod Hat Also Off (I'm not a mod)
Well, now that I have had some more time to think I will take another stab at this.
If Player A casts Summon Fiend and then Player B immediately starts casting Planar Binding then the spell finishes in the same round that the duration of Summon Fiend ends. Since the target of Planar Binding needs to be in range for the entire casting of the spell Planar Binding must be strictly cast after Summon Fiend. I can see DMs ruling this means that Summon Fiend ends before Planar Binding is fully cast and so the summon disappears and the casting of Planar Binding fails without expending a spell slot per the Casting Time rules. Personally I would consider the same round to be close enough to have Summon Fiend get its duration extended by 24 hours, the duration of Planar Binding. As TieflingLew notes Planar Binding increases the duration but does not change the concentration requirement, so in this case Player A would need to continue concentrating on Summon Fiend for the entirety of the new duration.
Something I don't have a clear answer on is who controls the summon and using what set of rules. In this case I think it is pretty clear that Player A can continue to control their summon using the rules of Summon Fiend. However when Planar Binding extends the duration of a summoning spell it doesn't say that is its only effect. So I believe the RAW would mean that Player B can now also control the summon using the rules of Planar Binding. I am not sure how I would rule this but I am leaning towards only letting Player A control the summon and ignoring the control mechanics of Planar Binding when extending the duration of another spell.
As for your question about Magic Circle, as Quar1on points out the text of Planar Binding explicitly suggests using Magic Circle to trap a summoned creature. So while it is unclear exactly how a fiendish spirit disappears when the spell Summon Fiend ends it would appear that the writers intent is that the summon disappears as a result of planar travel or teleportation which Magic Circle can prevent.
Unfortunately the duration of Magic Circle is only an hour so we run into the same problem as before where it barely lasts long enough to cast Planar Binding. I see this being possible but it still requires two casters. With two casters Player A casts Summon Fiend and then Player B casts Magic Circle. Once Magic Circle is cast Player A immediately starts casting Planar Binding. This means enduring an hour of the summon trying to escape the Magic Circle and/or attacking the players with disadvantage. In this case the summoning spell has ended by the time Planar Binding finishes casting so there is no spell to extend the duration of and Player A controls the fiendish spirit according to the rules of Planar Binding. Note Player B cannot be the one to cast Planar Binding as they wouldn't be able to start casting it in the same round they finished casting Magic Circle so it would end one round before Planar Binding finishes casting.
This seems like a more resource expensive way of accomplishing what was possible without Magic Circle. I do see one advantage to this approach though, it doesn't need to be planned in quite the same way. Player A could cast Summon Fiend in the heat of the moment and then later have Player B cast Magic Circle to trap the fiend so long as Summon Fiend had a minute or more left in its duration.
Something I don't have a clear answer on is who controls the summon and using what set of rules. In this case I think it is pretty clear that Player A can continue to control their summon using the rules of Summon Fiend. However when Planar Binding extends the duration of a summoning spell it doesn't say that is its only effect. So I believe the RAW would mean that Player B can now also control the summon using the rules of Planar Binding. I am not sure how I would rule this but I am leaning towards only letting Player A control the summon and ignoring the control mechanics of Planar Binding when extending the duration of another spell.
So one thing I would point out.
With this spell, you attempt to bind a celestial, an elemental, a fey, or a fiend to your service. The creature must be within range for the entire casting of the spell. (Typically, the creature is first summoned into the center of an inverted magic circle in order to keep it trapped while this spell is cast.) At the completion of the casting, the target must make a Charisma saving throw. On a failed save, it is bound to serve you for the duration.If the creature was summoned or created by another spell, that spell's duration is extended to match the duration of this spell.
A bound creature must follow your instructions to the best of its ability. You might command the creature to accompany you on an adventure, to guard a location, or to deliver a message. The creature obeys the letter of your instructions, but if the creature is hostile to you, it strives to twist your words to achieve its own objectives. If the creature carries out your instructions completely before the spell ends, it travels to you to report this fact if you are on the same plane of existence. If you are on a different plane of existence, it returns to the place where you bound it and remains there until the spell ends.
So the bolded parts at least from where I'm standing means the control part is moved to you if someone else summoned it and you bound it. But for the extended duration part it would still be under the old spell as the demon has not had to make a saving throw or anything of the sort. Again my two cents nothing more.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I did attempt to see how Planar Binding interacts with the tasha's summoning spells, but almost everything seems to be from years ago and/or address only Conjure Elementals.
So, what sez the peoples? Can my 12th level conjuration wizard cast Summon Draconic Spirit with a 5th level slot and then cast Planar Binding on it with a 6th level slot?
Couple daggers in the back saying "no" are the fact that long casting times (like that of Planar Binding) means that my wiz's concentration is broken as soon as I start casting.
Also Planar Binding doesn't say you no longer need to concentrate on your summoning spell, only that its duration is longer. (IE: even if this combo got this far, my wiz would have to literally concentrate non-stop to keep the draconic spirit around for the 24 hours.)
I feel like I've answered my own question, but making sure I'm not missing some wording or errata.
BONUS question: Would an inverted Magic Circle keep the draconic spirit around after my wizard's concentration was broken?
Because of concentration this requires two casters to do, one to cast and concentrate on the summoning spell, the other to cast Planar Binding.
As for still needing to concentrate on the summoning spell after Planar Binding is cast? No, Planar Binding does not extend the duration of the summoning spell that was used. It has its own effect and duration that would be used after the duration of the summoning spell expired. Also all of the Tasha's summoning spells have a duration of 1 hour which is the casting time of Planar Binding, so by the time you are done casting it the summoning spell has ended.
Magic Circle doesn't have an inverted option and only prevents the selected creature types from entering the cylinder. So if you cast Magic Circle as it is written the summon would be able to walk out unhindered.
Bonus answer: Be aware that Planar Binding only works on a celestial, elemental, fey, or fiend. So if your friend casts Summon Draconic Spirit then Planar Binding has no affect on the summon since it is a dragon, not a celestial, elemental, fey, or fiend.
Wrong. From planar binding:
Wrong. From magic circle:
In fact, this option is mentioned within the text of planar binding.
Look at what you've done. You spoiled it. You have nobody to blame but yourself. Go sit and think about your actions.
Don't be mean. Rudeness is a vicious cycle, and it has to stop somewhere. Exceptions for things that are funny.
Go to the current Competition of the Finest 'Brews! It's a cool place where cool people make cool things.
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat Off - Mod Hat Also Off (I'm not a mod)
Thank you, those are some egregious mistakes on my part.
Well, now that I have had some more time to think I will take another stab at this.
If Player A casts Summon Fiend and then Player B immediately starts casting Planar Binding then the spell finishes in the same round that the duration of Summon Fiend ends. Since the target of Planar Binding needs to be in range for the entire casting of the spell Planar Binding must be strictly cast after Summon Fiend. I can see DMs ruling this means that Summon Fiend ends before Planar Binding is fully cast and so the summon disappears and the casting of Planar Binding fails without expending a spell slot per the Casting Time rules. Personally I would consider the same round to be close enough to have Summon Fiend get its duration extended by 24 hours, the duration of Planar Binding. As TieflingLew notes Planar Binding increases the duration but does not change the concentration requirement, so in this case Player A would need to continue concentrating on Summon Fiend for the entirety of the new duration.
Something I don't have a clear answer on is who controls the summon and using what set of rules. In this case I think it is pretty clear that Player A can continue to control their summon using the rules of Summon Fiend. However when Planar Binding extends the duration of a summoning spell it doesn't say that is its only effect. So I believe the RAW would mean that Player B can now also control the summon using the rules of Planar Binding. I am not sure how I would rule this but I am leaning towards only letting Player A control the summon and ignoring the control mechanics of Planar Binding when extending the duration of another spell.
As for your question about Magic Circle, as Quar1on points out the text of Planar Binding explicitly suggests using Magic Circle to trap a summoned creature. So while it is unclear exactly how a fiendish spirit disappears when the spell Summon Fiend ends it would appear that the writers intent is that the summon disappears as a result of planar travel or teleportation which Magic Circle can prevent.
Unfortunately the duration of Magic Circle is only an hour so we run into the same problem as before where it barely lasts long enough to cast Planar Binding. I see this being possible but it still requires two casters. With two casters Player A casts Summon Fiend and then Player B casts Magic Circle. Once Magic Circle is cast Player A immediately starts casting Planar Binding. This means enduring an hour of the summon trying to escape the Magic Circle and/or attacking the players with disadvantage. In this case the summoning spell has ended by the time Planar Binding finishes casting so there is no spell to extend the duration of and Player A controls the fiendish spirit according to the rules of Planar Binding. Note Player B cannot be the one to cast Planar Binding as they wouldn't be able to start casting it in the same round they finished casting Magic Circle so it would end one round before Planar Binding finishes casting.
This seems like a more resource expensive way of accomplishing what was possible without Magic Circle. I do see one advantage to this approach though, it doesn't need to be planned in quite the same way. Player A could cast Summon Fiend in the heat of the moment and then later have Player B cast Magic Circle to trap the fiend so long as Summon Fiend had a minute or more left in its duration.
With this spell, you attempt to bind a celestial, an elemental, a fey, or a fiend to your service. The creature must be within range for the entire casting of the spell. (Typically, the creature is first summoned into the center of an inverted magic circle in order to keep it trapped while this spell is cast.) At the completion of the casting, the target must make a Charisma saving throw. On a failed save, it is bound to serve you for the duration. If the creature was summoned or created by another spell, that spell's duration is extended to match the duration of this spell.
A bound creature must follow your instructions to the best of its ability. You might command the creature to accompany you on an adventure, to guard a location, or to deliver a message. The creature obeys the letter of your instructions, but if the creature is hostile to you, it strives to twist your words to achieve its own objectives. If the creature carries out your instructions completely before the spell ends, it travels to you to report this fact if you are on the same plane of existence. If you are on a different plane of existence, it returns to the place where you bound it and remains there until the spell ends.
So the bolded parts at least from where I'm standing means the control part is moved to you if someone else summoned it and you bound it. But for the extended duration part it would still be under the old spell as the demon has not had to make a saving throw or anything of the sort. Again my two cents nothing more.