"By means of this spell, a willing creature or an object can be hidden away, safe from detection for the duration. When you cast the spell and touch the target, it becomes invisible and can't be targeted by divination spells or perceived through scrying sensors created by divination spells.
If the target is a creature, it falls into a state of suspended animation. Time ceases to flow for it, and it doesn't grow older.
You can set a condition for the spell to end early. The condition can be anything you choose, but it must occur or be visible within 1 mile of the target. Examples include "after 1,000 years" or "when the tarrasque awakens." This spell also ends if the target takes any damage."
Is there any limitations on the size that it can be applied too? For instance, if a player decided they wanted to hide their castle while they are gone, could they touch it and hide the whole castle since it is an object? Would everything inside be hidden as well or the walls would just become see through? Or would just the brick that you touched be the thing that turned invisible?
Also, can the caster still see the object once cast? It would be pretty embarrassing to cast it on something and then forget exactly where you set it down and not be able to find it again.
The limit is one creature or object. Usually understanding what constitutes one creature in the rules is very straight forward, though something like Swarm of Bats might require some GM interpretation.
What constitutes one object though does not have a rigorous definition and trying to decide what constitutes 'an object' is very similar to the classic Ship of Theseus thought experiment. This thought experiment has been around for almost two thousand years and something people still debate in one context or another. So all I can say is talk to your DM and consider that at the same power level there is Mordenkainen’s Magnificent Mansion
*Edit* As for seeing an object that has been made invisible by Sequester you would need some way of seeing something that is Invisible. Having blindsight or truesight would work. I believe the spells See Invisibility and True Seeing would work but I can also imagine DMs ruling that they don't since they are divination spells.
For the purpose of these rules, an object is a discrete, inanimate item like a window, door, sword, book, table, chair, or stone, not a building or a vehicle that is composed of many other objects.
Personally for a 5000 gp a pop spell I might be willing to allow it to go a little wider to accomodate a structure, but RAW says that buildings are not objects in the mechanical sense.
For the purpose of these rules, an object is a discrete, inanimate item like a window, door, sword, book, table, chair, or stone, not a building or a vehicle that is composed of many other objects.
Personally for a 5000 gp a pop spell I might be willing to allow it to go a little wider to accomodate a structure, but RAW says that buildings are not objects in the mechanical sense.
Oh perfect, thats exactly what I needed, thanks!
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
The spell states:
"By means of this spell, a willing creature or an object can be hidden away, safe from detection for the duration. When you cast the spell and touch the target, it becomes invisible and can't be targeted by divination spells or perceived through scrying sensors created by divination spells.
If the target is a creature, it falls into a state of suspended animation. Time ceases to flow for it, and it doesn't grow older.
You can set a condition for the spell to end early. The condition can be anything you choose, but it must occur or be visible within 1 mile of the target. Examples include "after 1,000 years" or "when the tarrasque awakens." This spell also ends if the target takes any damage."
Is there any limitations on the size that it can be applied too? For instance, if a player decided they wanted to hide their castle while they are gone, could they touch it and hide the whole castle since it is an object? Would everything inside be hidden as well or the walls would just become see through? Or would just the brick that you touched be the thing that turned invisible?
Also, can the caster still see the object once cast? It would be pretty embarrassing to cast it on something and then forget exactly where you set it down and not be able to find it again.
The limit is one creature or object. Usually understanding what constitutes one creature in the rules is very straight forward, though something like Swarm of Bats might require some GM interpretation.
What constitutes one object though does not have a rigorous definition and trying to decide what constitutes 'an object' is very similar to the classic Ship of Theseus thought experiment. This thought experiment has been around for almost two thousand years and something people still debate in one context or another. So all I can say is talk to your DM and consider that at the same power level there is Mordenkainen’s Magnificent Mansion
*Edit* As for seeing an object that has been made invisible by Sequester you would need some way of seeing something that is Invisible. Having blindsight or truesight would work. I believe the spells See Invisibility and True Seeing would work but I can also imagine DMs ruling that they don't since they are divination spells.
So, per the DMG
Personally for a 5000 gp a pop spell I might be willing to allow it to go a little wider to accomodate a structure, but RAW says that buildings are not objects in the mechanical sense.
Oh perfect, thats exactly what I needed, thanks!