What is meant by "infuse"? If they just want to attach an Elemental Gem to something, I'd say that's fine. Now, if they're looking to say that since they infused the gem into the other thing they can use its ability repeatedly rather than it losing its power after the first use, that's where I'd suggest putting a foot down unless you're running a very loose and permissive table, because you've just jumped at least one rarity tier.
So the basic rules for Elemental Gem are: "This gem contains a mote of elemental energy. When you use an action to break the gem, an elemental is summoned as if you had cast the conjure elemental spell, and the gem’s magic is lost. The type of gem determines the elemental summoned by the spell."
The spell is pretty potent at lower levels, and useful at mid-to upper levels, at the CR 5 the gem gives.
Now, when you say 'Infuse' do you mean create a permanent Magic Item, like in the DMG? Or are you talking infusions as in 'Artificer'?
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Remember there are Rules as Written (RAW), Rules as Intended (RAI), and Rules as Fun (RAF). There's some great RAW, RAI, and RAF here... please check in with your DM to determine how they want to adjudicate the RAW/RAI/RAF for your game.
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Should I let a player infuse a magic thing w. Elemental gem?
You're the DM. Do you want to allow it?
It's not in the scope of the item's defined powers, so if it's allowed and what they get if it happens are up to you.
To me, it seems like a perfectly reasonable thing to have them do as part of magic item creation.
What is meant by "infuse"? If they just want to attach an Elemental Gem to something, I'd say that's fine. Now, if they're looking to say that since they infused the gem into the other thing they can use its ability repeatedly rather than it losing its power after the first use, that's where I'd suggest putting a foot down unless you're running a very loose and permissive table, because you've just jumped at least one rarity tier.
So the basic rules for Elemental Gem are: "This gem contains a mote of elemental energy. When you use an action to break the gem, an elemental is summoned as if you had cast the conjure elemental spell, and the gem’s magic is lost. The type of gem determines the elemental summoned by the spell."
The spell is pretty potent at lower levels, and useful at mid-to upper levels, at the CR 5 the gem gives.
Now, when you say 'Infuse' do you mean create a permanent Magic Item, like in the DMG? Or are you talking infusions as in 'Artificer'?
Remember there are Rules as Written (RAW), Rules as Intended (RAI), and Rules as Fun (RAF). There's some great RAW, RAI, and RAF here... please check in with your DM to determine how they want to adjudicate the RAW/RAI/RAF for your game.