So the 4th level spell from humblewood Shape Plants allows the player to affect ANY plant life that can fir within a 5 foot square. This VERY SPECIFICALLY does not say monster BUT it does insinuate any plant life. Could the spell be used to forcible bind a plant monster of medium size or smaller? Or large if upcast to 8th? It would work only on plant creatures in this fashion and only as a touch spell, and then only for an hour? If it could, would a plant creature be entiteld to a saving throw?
For those of you who do not possess this book the spell reads as follows: "You call upon gentle natural magics to alter the growth of plants. Any plant life you can see within range that fits within a 5-foot cube can take on whatever shape you desire..."
The rest of the spell indicates whether or not you can form it into damaging or difficult terrain, cosmetic changes to the plant such as how many flowers or friots it has. And whether or not the effects are permanent contingent on youhaving some ability that let's you communicate with it, and it being okay with the changes.
Unfortunately, the part you quoted is incomplete so it is hard to interpret. The plant life takes on the shape you desire but there is nothing in the quote indicating that if the plant is capable of independent movement that there is a force that keeps it there. Most plants have limited movement capability so if you shape them or place them in a certain shape they tend to stay that way. However, when applied to a plant creature that can move, there is no indication in the text you quoted that they might assume the shape desired by the caster but only for as long as it takes the plant creature to move out of that shape. I do not think the spell duplicates the effect of hold person on plants though that would be a DM call.
Also, the part about "gentle, natural magics" tends to make me think that it isn't intended to harm or in any way force the plant into a shape that would cause harm. The requirement for consent for a longer duration for the changes leads me to think that the intent is that the spell is not to be used in a manner in conflict with a creature.
A plant creature could be held by a 5th level hold monster spell. I don't think this 4th level spell is intended to duplicate the effects of a 5th level spell applicable only to plants, especially given the wording of the spell. Locking the creature into a fixed shape would be the same as a hold monster spell - paralysing the target and making it incapable of movement.
If you want to boost the power of the spell, you could just adopt the hold monster spell mechanics when this spell is cast at a plant creature though that would be entirely homebrew.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
So the 4th level spell from humblewood Shape Plants allows the player to affect ANY plant life that can fir within a 5 foot square. This VERY SPECIFICALLY does not say monster BUT it does insinuate any plant life. Could the spell be used to forcible bind a plant monster of medium size or smaller? Or large if upcast to 8th? It would work only on plant creatures in this fashion and only as a touch spell, and then only for an hour? If it could, would a plant creature be entiteld to a saving throw?
For those of you who do not possess this book the spell reads as follows: "You call upon gentle natural magics to alter the growth of plants. Any plant life you can see within range that fits within a 5-foot cube can take on whatever shape you desire..."
The rest of the spell indicates whether or not you can form it into damaging or difficult terrain, cosmetic changes to the plant such as how many flowers or friots it has. And whether or not the effects are permanent contingent on youhaving some ability that let's you communicate with it, and it being okay with the changes.
It doesn't say creature so it doesn't affect creatures.
"Sooner or later, your Players are going to smash your railroad into a sandbox."
-Vedexent
"real life is a super high CR."
-OboeLauren
"............anybody got any potatoes? We could drop a potato in each hole an' see which ones get viciously mauled by horrible monsters?"
-Ilyara Thundertale
Personally, I would rule no.
Unfortunately, the part you quoted is incomplete so it is hard to interpret. The plant life takes on the shape you desire but there is nothing in the quote indicating that if the plant is capable of independent movement that there is a force that keeps it there. Most plants have limited movement capability so if you shape them or place them in a certain shape they tend to stay that way. However, when applied to a plant creature that can move, there is no indication in the text you quoted that they might assume the shape desired by the caster but only for as long as it takes the plant creature to move out of that shape. I do not think the spell duplicates the effect of hold person on plants though that would be a DM call.
Also, the part about "gentle, natural magics" tends to make me think that it isn't intended to harm or in any way force the plant into a shape that would cause harm. The requirement for consent for a longer duration for the changes leads me to think that the intent is that the spell is not to be used in a manner in conflict with a creature.
A plant creature could be held by a 5th level hold monster spell. I don't think this 4th level spell is intended to duplicate the effects of a 5th level spell applicable only to plants, especially given the wording of the spell. Locking the creature into a fixed shape would be the same as a hold monster spell - paralysing the target and making it incapable of movement.
If you want to boost the power of the spell, you could just adopt the hold monster spell mechanics when this spell is cast at a plant creature though that would be entirely homebrew.