Scenario: Low levels (max spell level is 3). Party member has had intelligence reduced to 0, but brain was NOT eaten.
Question: Am I missing any way to restore intelligence to affected party member?
Greater Restoration spell provided by higher level NPC cleric at a local shrine/church. - RAW
Wish spell provided by higher level NPC wizard. - RAW
One week downtime (XGtE) - Relaxation - RAW
Long Rest (DM call/house rules)
3 day downtime (PHB) - Recuperation (DM call/house rules)
Items that increase intelligence (DM call/house rules)
I know that 3.5 had this to say:
"Healing Ability Damage: Ability damage is temporary, just as hit point damage is. Ability damage returns at the rate of 1 point per night of rest (8 hours) for each affected ability score. Complete bed rest restores 2 points per day (24 hours) for each affected ability score."
It’s worth pointing out that there’s no rule preventing the character in question from attuning to a magic item; that’s also in “DM call/house rule” territory.
It’s worth pointing out that there’s no rule preventing the character in question from attuning to a magic item; that’s also in “DM call/house rule” territory.
While technically you are right (anything can be a DM call), if using RAW, they cannot.
Intellect Devourer (MM)
Devour Intellect. The intellect devourer targets one creature it can see within 10 feet of it that has a brain. The target must succeed on a DC 12 Intelligence saving throw against this magic or take 11 (2d10) psychic damage. Also on a failure, roll 3d6: If the total equals or exceeds the target’s Intelligence score, that score is reduced to 0. The target is stunned until it regains at least one point of Intelligence.
Attunement (BR)
Attuning to an item requires a creature to spend a short rest focused on only that item while being in physical contact with it (this can't be the same short rest used to learn the item's properties). This focus can take the form of weapon practice (for a weapon), meditation (for a wondrous item), or some other appropriate activity. If the short rest is interrupted, the attunement attempt fails. Otherwise, at the end of the short rest, the creature gains an intuitive understanding of how to activate any magical properties of the item, including any necessary command words.
Stunned (PH)
A stunned creature is incapacitated (see the condition), can't move, and can speak only falteringly.
The creature automatically fails Strength and Dexterity saving throws.
Attack rolls against the creature have advantage.
Incapacitated (PH)
An incapacitated creature can't take actions or reactions.
Therefore, if stunned/incapacitated - can't move/no actions - can't do an appropriate activity to attune.
I will update my original post to include items as a DM call/house rules.
Divine Intervention (Cleric). However this comes one level later than the same cleric could just get greater restoration, and is less reliable so it's not really a realistic option.
Limited Wish (Warlock, Genie patron). Again, this comes at a higher level (14th) and you'd be using it to likewise cast greater restoration (though it's one of the few ways a non-Celestial Warlock can effectively get it).
Spell Scroll. Again this is really just greater restoration, but it's another option for gaining access to it earlier than you can cast the spell itself, since you can cast higher level spells from scrolls (albeit with a chance of failing).
Not sure any of these are really worth mentioning since greater restoration is either better, or what you're doing anyway.
One other option is casting something like polymorph to change them into something with a higher Intelligence (which is literally anything if you're at 0); it's not truly restoring them but it at least gets them mobile for an hour so they can do stuff and potentially get somewhere they can get help more easily.
This might technically allow you to attune to a magic item since it gives you an hour, enough for a short rest, and a circlet is something that many beasts could reasonably wear? It would depend how your DM rules on attunement while transformed though, e.g- is that a game statistic of the creature, so lost immediately upon turning back again? It's highly dubious in RAW, definitely requires a sympathetic DM.
On a similar vein you could transform them and draw from a deck of many things in the hopes of getting a permanent Intelligence boost? The chances are extremely low, and again, a DM could argue it applies to the transformed creature, rather than to the player character, so it's another one with DM buy in, plus a very low chance of working and a chance of making everything worse. 😉
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.
It’s worth pointing out that there’s no rule preventing the character in question from attuning to a magic item; that’s also in “DM call/house rule” territory.
While technically you are right (anything can be a DM call), if using RAW, they cannot.
Intellect Devourer (MM)
Devour Intellect. The intellect devourer targets one creature it can see within 10 feet of it that has a brain. The target must succeed on a DC 12 Intelligence saving throw against this magic or take 11 (2d10) psychic damage. Also on a failure, roll 3d6: If the total equals or exceeds the target’s Intelligence score, that score is reduced to 0. The target is stunned until it regains at least one point of Intelligence.
Attunement (BR)
Attuning to an item requires a creature to spend a short rest focused on only that item while being in physical contact with it (this can't be the same short rest used to learn the item's properties). This focus can take the form of weapon practice (for a weapon), meditation (for a wondrous item), or some other appropriate activity. If the short rest is interrupted, the attunement attempt fails. Otherwise, at the end of the short rest, the creature gains an intuitive understanding of how to activate any magical properties of the item, including any necessary command words.
Stunned (PH)
A stunned creature is incapacitated (see the condition), can't move, and can speak only falteringly.
The creature automatically fails Strength and Dexterity saving throws.
Attack rolls against the creature have advantage.
Incapacitated (PH)
An incapacitated creature can't take actions or reactions.
Therefore, if stunned/incapacitated - can't move/no actions - can't do an appropriate activity to attune.
I will update my original post to include items as a DM call/house rules.
That's just what I mean though. Nothing about attunement requires movement or your action, so whether or not the focus required to attune is possible while incapacitated is up to the DM. There's no rule that says it's not.
Divine Intervention (Cleric). However this comes one level later than the same cleric could just get greater restoration and is less reliable so it's not really a realistic option.
Limited Wish (Warlock, Genie patron). Again, this comes at a higher level (14th) and you'd be using it to likewise cast greater restoration (though it's one of the few ways a non-Celestial Warlock effectively get it).
Spell Scroll. Again this is really just greater restoration, but it's another option for gaining access to it earlier than you can cast the spell itself, since you can cast higher level spells from scrolls (albeit with a chance of failing).
Not sure any of these are really worth mentioning since greater restoration is either better, or what you're doing anyway.
One other option is casting something like polymorph to change them into something with a higher Intelligence (which is literally anything if you're at 0); it's not truly restoring them but it at least gets them mobile for an hour so they can do stuff and potentially get somewhere they can get help more easily.
This might technically allow you to attune to a magic item since it gives you an hour, enough for a short rest, and a circlet is something that many beasts could reasonably wear? It would depend how your DM rules on attunement while transformed though, e.g- is that a game statistic of the creature, so lost immediately upon turning back again? It's highly dubious in RAW, definitely requires a sympathetic DM.
On a similar vein you could transform them and draw from a deck of many things in the hopes of getting a permanent Intelligence boost? The chances are extremely low, and again, a DM could argue it applies to the transformed creature, rather than to the player character, so it's another one with DM buy in, plus a very low chance of working and a chance of making everything worse. 😉
Thank you! I didn't actually consider polymorph or the rest, but those are all good information!
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Scenario: Low levels (max spell level is 3). Party member has had intelligence reduced to 0, but brain was NOT eaten.
Question: Am I missing any way to restore intelligence to affected party member?
I know that 3.5 had this to say:
"Healing Ability Damage: Ability damage is temporary, just as hit point damage is. Ability damage returns at the rate of 1 point per night of rest (8 hours) for each affected ability score. Complete bed rest restores 2 points per day (24 hours) for each affected ability score."
But that is not found in 5e.
It’s worth pointing out that there’s no rule preventing the character in question from attuning to a magic item; that’s also in “DM call/house rule” territory.
While technically you are right (anything can be a DM call), if using RAW, they cannot.
Intellect Devourer (MM)
Devour Intellect. The intellect devourer targets one creature it can see within 10 feet of it that has a brain. The target must succeed on a DC 12 Intelligence saving throw against this magic or take 11 (2d10) psychic damage. Also on a failure, roll 3d6: If the total equals or exceeds the target’s Intelligence score, that score is reduced to 0. The target is stunned until it regains at least one point of Intelligence.
Attunement (BR)
Attuning to an item requires a creature to spend a short rest focused on only that item while being in physical contact with it (this can't be the same short rest used to learn the item's properties). This focus can take the form of weapon practice (for a weapon), meditation (for a wondrous item), or some other appropriate activity. If the short rest is interrupted, the attunement attempt fails. Otherwise, at the end of the short rest, the creature gains an intuitive understanding of how to activate any magical properties of the item, including any necessary command words.
Stunned (PH)
Incapacitated (PH)
An incapacitated creature can't take actions or reactions.
Therefore, if stunned/incapacitated - can't move/no actions - can't do an appropriate activity to attune.
I will update my original post to include items as a DM call/house rules.
Your list seems fairly complete!
Only things I can think of offhand are:
Not sure any of these are really worth mentioning since greater restoration is either better, or what you're doing anyway.
One other option is casting something like polymorph to change them into something with a higher Intelligence (which is literally anything if you're at 0); it's not truly restoring them but it at least gets them mobile for an hour so they can do stuff and potentially get somewhere they can get help more easily.
This might technically allow you to attune to a magic item since it gives you an hour, enough for a short rest, and a circlet is something that many beasts could reasonably wear? It would depend how your DM rules on attunement while transformed though, e.g- is that a game statistic of the creature, so lost immediately upon turning back again? It's highly dubious in RAW, definitely requires a sympathetic DM.
On a similar vein you could transform them and draw from a deck of many things in the hopes of getting a permanent Intelligence boost? The chances are extremely low, and again, a DM could argue it applies to the transformed creature, rather than to the player character, so it's another one with DM buy in, plus a very low chance of working and a chance of making everything worse. 😉
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.
That's just what I mean though. Nothing about attunement requires movement or your action, so whether or not the focus required to attune is possible while incapacitated is up to the DM. There's no rule that says it's not.
Thank you! I didn't actually consider polymorph or the rest, but those are all good information!