Based on a RAW reading of Frenzy: "If you use Reckless Attack while your Rage is active, you deal extra damage to the first target you hit on your turn with a Strength-based attack." It would appear that you could apply those extra d6s to multiple attacks as long as you only keep attacking the "first target".
Scenario: attack action with hand axe and scimitar (2 attacks), extra attack from Nick (3rd attack), bonus action attack from duel wielder (4th attack). Then, if you have some levels of fighter, action surge and make 3 more attacks. This could add a lot of d6s as long as your attacking the "first target".
I realize the dual wielder interpretation may still be up for some debate, but regardless, it seems by RAW, you could do a lot of damage with this interpretation. Based on the 2014 ability, it seems like it should only be adding the damage to the first attack, but that's not how it reads to me.
Nope. No part of the feature says that you deal extra damage per attack, just that you do extra damage. Once the extra damage is done (to the first target you hit on your turn with a Strength-based attack), you can't apply it until your next turn.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Look at what you've done. You spoiled it. You have nobody to blame but yourself. Go sit and think about your actions.
Don't be mean. Rudeness is a vicious cycle, and it has to stop somewhere. Exceptions for things that are funny. Go to the current Competition of the Finest 'Brews! It's a cool place where cool people make cool things.
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat Off - Mod Hat Also Off (I'm not a mod)
I want to agree with you, and you're right, it doesn't say it's allowed per attack like Radiant Strikes:
Your strikes now carry supernatural power. When you hit a target with an attack roll using a Melee weapon or an Unarmed Strike, the target takes an extra 1d8 Radiant damage.
But it also does not limit it to once per turn such as in Divine Strike:
Once on each of your turns when you hit a creature with an attack roll using a weapon, you can cause the target to take an extra 1d8 Necrotic or Radiant damage (your choice).
There is no "once per turn", "on the first attack", or "per attack roll" verbage for the extra damage, the only stipulation is that it can only occur to the "first target". If it was intended to apply only once, or each time for that matter, should it not say as much?
If my player keeps attacking that "first target" (a giant ogre in this case), it seems he would still earn the extra damage for every swing.
Are there some other rules about attacks or damage i'm missing?
I want to agree with you, and you're right, it doesn't say it's allowed per attack like Radiant Strikes:
Your strikes now carry supernatural power. When you hit a target with an attack roll using a Melee weapon or an Unarmed Strike, the target takes an extra 1d8 Radiant damage.
But it also does not limit it to once per turn such as in Divine Strike:
Once on each of your turns when you hit a creature with an attack roll using a weapon, you can cause the target to take an extra 1d8 Necrotic or Radiant damage (your choice).
There is no "once per turn", "on the first attack", or "per attack roll" verbage for the extra damage, the only stipulation is that it can only occur to the "first target". If it was intended to apply only once, or each time for that matter, should it not say as much?
If my player keeps attacking that "first target" (a giant ogre in this case), it seems he would still earn the extra damage for every swing.
Are there some other rules about attacks or damage i'm missing?
In general, if something says that it does damage, it just does damage. Fireball doesn't have to specify whether it's a one-time instance of damage or something that gets added to each of your attacks. This feature saying "extra" just means that they (reasonably) assume that a Barbarian who hits their target will be doing damage even before the feature. There's no reason to think it would add damage to each attack afterwards, any more than there is to think Fireball would do so.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Look at what you've done. You spoiled it. You have nobody to blame but yourself. Go sit and think about your actions.
Don't be mean. Rudeness is a vicious cycle, and it has to stop somewhere. Exceptions for things that are funny. Go to the current Competition of the Finest 'Brews! It's a cool place where cool people make cool things.
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat Off - Mod Hat Also Off (I'm not a mod)
I want to agree with you, and you're right, it doesn't say it's allowed per attack like Radiant Strikes:
Your strikes now carry supernatural power. When you hit a target with an attack roll using a Melee weapon or an Unarmed Strike, the target takes an extra 1d8 Radiant damage.
But it also does not limit it to once per turn such as in Divine Strike:
Once on each of your turns when you hit a creature with an attack roll using a weapon, you can cause the target to take an extra 1d8 Necrotic or Radiant damage (your choice).
There is no "once per turn", "on the first attack", or "per attack roll" verbage for the extra damage, the only stipulation is that it can only occur to the "first target". If it was intended to apply only once, or each time for that matter, should it not say as much?
If my player keeps attacking that "first target" (a giant ogre in this case), it seems he would still earn the extra damage for every swing.
Are there some other rules about attacks or damage i'm missing?
The ability does damage only once per round, but it must be done to the first target you hit. The radiant/necrotic damage ability above lets you choose who gets the extra damage.
Each attack you make has a target. If you hit the same creature twice, it's both your first and your second target.
I want to agree with you, and you're right, it doesn't say it's allowed per attack like Radiant Strikes:
Your strikes now carry supernatural power. When you hit a target with an attack roll using a Melee weapon or an Unarmed Strike, the target takes an extra 1d8 Radiant damage.
But it also does not limit it to once per turn such as in Divine Strike:
Once on each of your turns when you hit a creature with an attack roll using a weapon, you can cause the target to take an extra 1d8 Necrotic or Radiant damage (your choice).
There is no "once per turn", "on the first attack", or "per attack roll" verbage for the extra damage, the only stipulation is that it can only occur to the "first target". If it was intended to apply only once, or each time for that matter, should it not say as much?
If my player keeps attacking that "first target" (a giant ogre in this case), it seems he would still earn the extra damage for every swing.
Are there some other rules about attacks or damage i'm missing?
The ability does damage only once per round, but it must be done to the first target you hit. The radiant/necrotic damage ability above lets you choose who gets the extra damage.
Each attack you make has a target. If you hit the same creature twice, it's both your first and your second target.
This explanation makes the most sense, thank you!
I looked up the definition of "Target" in the 2024 rules glossary, and I don't think it can be interpreted any other way after taking that into account:
Target
A target is the creature or object targeted by an attack roll, forced to make a saving throw by an effect, or selected to receive the effects of a spell or another phenomenon.
I do wish it had just been spelled out in the definition though...
I want to agree with you, and you're right, it doesn't say it's allowed per attack like Radiant Strikes:
Your strikes now carry supernatural power. When you hit a target with an attack roll using a Melee weapon or an Unarmed Strike, the target takes an extra 1d8 Radiant damage.
But it also does not limit it to once per turn such as in Divine Strike:
Once on each of your turns when you hit a creature with an attack roll using a weapon, you can cause the target to take an extra 1d8 Necrotic or Radiant damage (your choice).
There is no "once per turn", "on the first attack", or "per attack roll" verbage for the extra damage, the only stipulation is that it can only occur to the "first target". If it was intended to apply only once, or each time for that matter, should it not say as much?
If my player keeps attacking that "first target" (a giant ogre in this case), it seems he would still earn the extra damage for every swing.
Are there some other rules about attacks or damage i'm missing?
ya radiant strikes is busted . they thought it would be cheap for hunter to have concentration free hunters mark but give paladins this.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Dear Experts,
Based on a RAW reading of Frenzy: "If you use Reckless Attack while your Rage is active, you deal extra damage to the first target you hit on your turn with a Strength-based attack." It would appear that you could apply those extra d6s to multiple attacks as long as you only keep attacking the "first target".
Scenario: attack action with hand axe and scimitar (2 attacks), extra attack from Nick (3rd attack), bonus action attack from duel wielder (4th attack). Then, if you have some levels of fighter, action surge and make 3 more attacks. This could add a lot of d6s as long as your attacking the "first target".
I realize the dual wielder interpretation may still be up for some debate, but regardless, it seems by RAW, you could do a lot of damage with this interpretation. Based on the 2014 ability, it seems like it should only be adding the damage to the first attack, but that's not how it reads to me.
Insights?
That's not how it works; basically the first attack you land gets the bonus and that's it. A feature that procs once per target would read like this:
Nope. No part of the feature says that you deal extra damage per attack, just that you do extra damage. Once the extra damage is done (to the first target you hit on your turn with a Strength-based attack), you can't apply it until your next turn.
Look at what you've done. You spoiled it. You have nobody to blame but yourself. Go sit and think about your actions.
Don't be mean. Rudeness is a vicious cycle, and it has to stop somewhere. Exceptions for things that are funny.
Go to the current Competition of the Finest 'Brews! It's a cool place where cool people make cool things.
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat Off - Mod Hat Also Off (I'm not a mod)
I want to agree with you, and you're right, it doesn't say it's allowed per attack like Radiant Strikes:
Your strikes now carry supernatural power. When you hit a target with an attack roll using a Melee weapon or an Unarmed Strike, the target takes an extra 1d8 Radiant damage.
But it also does not limit it to once per turn such as in Divine Strike:
Once on each of your turns when you hit a creature with an attack roll using a weapon, you can cause the target to take an extra 1d8 Necrotic or Radiant damage (your choice).
There is no "once per turn", "on the first attack", or "per attack roll" verbage for the extra damage, the only stipulation is that it can only occur to the "first target". If it was intended to apply only once, or each time for that matter, should it not say as much?
If my player keeps attacking that "first target" (a giant ogre in this case), it seems he would still earn the extra damage for every swing.
Are there some other rules about attacks or damage i'm missing?
In general, if something says that it does damage, it just does damage. Fireball doesn't have to specify whether it's a one-time instance of damage or something that gets added to each of your attacks. This feature saying "extra" just means that they (reasonably) assume that a Barbarian who hits their target will be doing damage even before the feature. There's no reason to think it would add damage to each attack afterwards, any more than there is to think Fireball would do so.
Look at what you've done. You spoiled it. You have nobody to blame but yourself. Go sit and think about your actions.
Don't be mean. Rudeness is a vicious cycle, and it has to stop somewhere. Exceptions for things that are funny.
Go to the current Competition of the Finest 'Brews! It's a cool place where cool people make cool things.
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat Off - Mod Hat Also Off (I'm not a mod)
The ability does damage only once per round, but it must be done to the first target you hit. The radiant/necrotic damage ability above lets you choose who gets the extra damage.
Each attack you make has a target. If you hit the same creature twice, it's both your first and your second target.
This explanation makes the most sense, thank you!
I looked up the definition of "Target" in the 2024 rules glossary, and I don't think it can be interpreted any other way after taking that into account:
Target
A target is the creature or object targeted by an attack roll, forced to make a saving throw by an effect, or selected to receive the effects of a spell or another phenomenon.
I do wish it had just been spelled out in the definition though...
ya radiant strikes is busted . they thought it would be cheap for hunter to have concentration free hunters mark but give paladins this.