Regarding the use of sneak attack for rogues, is it possible for sneak attack to be applied to an attack during the rogue's turn, then again to an opportunity attack in the same round of combat?
The rule for sneak attack specifically says "Once per turn,...", and reactions are not considered to be part of a character's turn, so it would stand to reason that sneak attack can be applied in both instances, even if they fall within the same round of combat.
The Sneak Attack description specifies that you can use the feature once per turn, but it’s not limited to your turn. The feature also doesn’t limit the number of times you can use it in a round.
You sometimes get a chance to use Sneak Attack on someone else’s turn. The most common way for this to happen is when a foe provokes an opportunity attack from you. If the requirements for Sneak Attack are met, your opportunity attack can benefit from that feature. Similarly, a fighter could use Commander’s Strike to grant you an attack on the fighter’s turn, and if the attack qualifies, it can use Sneak Attack. Both of those options rely on the use of your reaction, so you could do only one of them in a round.
Because you get only one reaction per round, you’re unlikely to use Sneak Attack more than twice in a round: once with your action and once with your reaction.
Regarding the use of sneak attack for rogues, is it possible for sneak attack to be applied to an attack during the rogue's turn, then again to an opportunity attack in the same round of combat?
The rule for sneak attack specifically says "Once per turn,...", and reactions are not considered to be part of a character's turn, so it would stand to reason that sneak attack can be applied in both instances, even if they fall within the same round of combat.
Agree or disagree?
TarodNet is correct, you can use it more than once per round, just not more than once per turn. However, I do want to clarify/correct something you said, which was "reactions are not considered to be part of a character's turn". That is not really true. Reactions always take place on someone's turn, and it can be your turn or someone else's, depending on when the trigger for that specific reaction occurs.
There is a somewhat common misconception that you're not allowed to take reactions on your own turn; that has never been true, it's just that reactions that can trigger on your own turn are a lot less common.
Regarding the use of sneak attack for rogues, is it possible for sneak attack to be applied to an attack during the rogue's turn, then again to an opportunity attack in the same round of combat?
The rule for sneak attack specifically says "Once per turn,...", and reactions are not considered to be part of a character's turn, so it would stand to reason that sneak attack can be applied in both instances, even if they fall within the same round of combat.
Agree or disagree?
TarodNet is correct, you can use it more than once per round, just not more than once per turn. However, I do want to clarify/correct something you said, which was "reactions are not considered to be part of a character's turn". That is not really true. Reactions always take place on someone's turn, and it can be your turn or someone else's, depending on when the trigger for that specific reaction occurs.
There is a somewhat common misconception that you're not allowed to take reactions on your own turn; that has never been true, it's just that reactions that can trigger on your own turn are a lot less common.
Absolutely true. Thanks for adding the explanation. Just for reference:
Reaction
A Reaction is a special action taken in response to a trigger defined in the Reaction’s description. You can take a Reaction on another creature’s turn, and if you take it on your turn, you can do so even if you also take an action, a Bonus Action, or both. Once you take a Reaction, you can’t take another one until the start of your next turn. The Opportunity Attack is a Reaction available to all creatures. See also “Opportunity Attacks” and chapter 1 (“Actions”).
Even if the character wants, they could define a Ready Action trigger to occur on their own turn.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Regarding the use of sneak attack for rogues, is it possible for sneak attack to be applied to an attack during the rogue's turn, then again to an opportunity attack in the same round of combat?
The rule for sneak attack specifically says "Once per turn,...", and reactions are not considered to be part of a character's turn, so it would stand to reason that sneak attack can be applied in both instances, even if they fall within the same round of combat.
Agree or disagree?
Yes, you're right. This was answered in the Sage Advice Compendium:
TarodNet is correct, you can use it more than once per round, just not more than once per turn. However, I do want to clarify/correct something you said, which was "reactions are not considered to be part of a character's turn". That is not really true. Reactions always take place on someone's turn, and it can be your turn or someone else's, depending on when the trigger for that specific reaction occurs.
There is a somewhat common misconception that you're not allowed to take reactions on your own turn; that has never been true, it's just that reactions that can trigger on your own turn are a lot less common.
pronouns: he/she/they
Absolutely true. Thanks for adding the explanation. Just for reference:
Even if the character wants, they could define a Ready Action trigger to occur on their own turn.