I cannot find if there is some limit when using a free casting (ritual, feats, etc.) not requiring to spend a spell slot, that means you can use your higher level slot for your character, but not spending a spell slot?
Upcast effects explicitly refer to “using a higher level spell slot”. Ergo, if no spell slot is used, then in the absence of any other specific text that effect cannot be applicable because the prerequisite condition is to use a spell slot.
Spells cast without spell slots (like granted abilities) usually default to the lowest level the spell can be cast at. Unless otherwise stated by whatever is granting them.
"You always have that spell prepared. You can cast it once without a spell slot, and you regain the ability to cast it in that way when you finish a Long Rest. You can also cast the spell using any spell slots you have."
If you chose Cure Wounds for this spell, it is always going to be the level 1 version. If you wanted to cast it at higher level you can and would have to use a spell slot.
I cannot find if there is some limit when using a free casting (ritual, feats, etc.) not requiring to spend a spell slot, that means you can use your higher level slot for your character, but not spending a spell slot?
Such a spell is cast at its lowest possible level, which is the level that appears near the top of its description. Unless you have a special ability that says otherwise, the only way to increase the level of a spell is to expend a higher-level spell slot when you cast it. [...]
Yes I know that but it is for the 2014 version which specified it. I had the same doubt than Darbyrm on that topic, I mean, it depends on the “order”, so you could say “I cast this spell with a level X slot, but hey the slot is not spended, as the skill mentions”. Cannot see as clear as in 2014 version, and probably could require asking to designers.
In the other hand, we have cases like some Invocations which casting always as their base level become quickly outdated, but casting with the top level seems too good.
Yes I know that but it is for the 2014 version which specified it. I had the same doubt than Darbyrm on that topic, I mean, it depends on the “order”, so you could say “I cast this spell with a level X slot, but hey the slot is not spended, as the skill mentions”. Cannot see as clear as in 2014 version, and probably could require asking to designers.
In the other hand, we have cases like some Invocations which casting always as their base level become quickly outdated, but casting with the top level seems too good.
The rules for this are the same in 2014 and 2024. It's written right in the description of every spell with upcasting benefits: "Using a higher-level spell slot". If you're not using a spell slot, you're not using a higher-level spell slot.
Yes I know that but it is for the 2014 version which specified it. I had the same doubt than Darbyrm on that topic, I mean, it depends on the “order”, so you could say “I cast this spell with a level X slot, but hey the slot is not spended, as the skill mentions”. Cannot see as clear as in 2014 version, and probably could require asking to designers.
In the other hand, we have cases like some Invocations which casting always as their base level become quickly outdated, but casting with the top level seems too good.
By definition, if a slot is not expended, then you’ve failed to meet the criteria for gaining effects from a higher level slot. There’s no gaming the system by somehow changing your mind midway through casting the spell and using a feature instead of a slot- either you cast with a slot and check if the spell has a “using a higher level spell slot” section, or you cast without a slot which means- barring maybe a few magic items that specifically hold stored casts or say they upcast- the upcast conditions are not present.
In the other hand, we have cases like some Invocations which casting always as their base level become quickly outdated, but casting with the top level seems too good.
I gave an example for that case:
"You can also cast the spell using any spell slots you have."
You CAN, if you chose, Expend a spell slot for the spell to use the more powerful versions. If you don't, it is the default level. So you can cast it for free without using a slot... it WILL be the base level. Or you can use a spell slot to cast at a higher levels. Those are the choices by RAW.
Magic Initiate, and Sage Backgrounds both describe this exactly. As does Sage Advice.
There is nothing stopping to ask your DM (or you to rule as DM) to run this differently, but it would not be RAW.
IMO, the rules are the same in 2014 and 2024 on this topic.
There was an exception in 2014, which I do not see in 2024 and that is Tiefling's Infernal Legacy which specified that at 3rd level a Tiefling could cast Hellish Rebuke once per day as a 2nd level spell (without expending a spell slot). And some other Tiefling subtypes which also got 1st level spells cast at 2nd level. I am not aware of anything like it in 2024 but we at least know how it would look if it were to exist.
IMO, the rules are the same in 2014 and 2024 on this topic.
There was an exception in 2014, which I do not see in 2024 and that is Tiefling's Infernal Legacy which specified that at 3rd level a Tiefling could cast Hellish Rebuke once per day as a 2nd level spell (without expending a spell slot). And some other Tiefling subtypes which also got 1st level spells cast at 2nd level. I am not aware of anything like it in 2024 but we at least know how it would look if it were to exist.
There several magic items in the 2024 DMG that work this way — i.e., they specify explicitly that a spell can be cast from them at a higher level than the minimum.
Yes I know that but it is for the 2014 version which specified it. I had the same doubt than Darbyrm on that topic, I mean, it depends on the “order”, so you could say “I cast this spell with a level X slot, but hey the slot is not spended, as the skill mentions”. Cannot see as clear as in 2014 version, and probably could require asking to designers.
In the other hand, we have cases like some Invocations which casting always as their base level become quickly outdated, but casting with the top level seems too good.
Unless an ability tells you that you cast it explicitly at higher level than normal without spending a slot, you cast it at the minimum spell level. You have to expend the slot to cast it otherwise. I do not know of any PHB abilities that do that.
IMO, the rules are the same in 2014 and 2024 on this topic.
There was an exception in 2014, which I do not see in 2024 and that is Tiefling's Infernal Legacy which specified that at 3rd level a Tiefling could cast Hellish Rebuke once per day as a 2nd level spell (without expending a spell slot). And some other Tiefling subtypes which also got 1st level spells cast at 2nd level. I am not aware of anything like it in 2024 but we at least know how it would look if it were to exist.
In the other hand, we have cases like some Invocations which casting always as their base level become quickly outdated, but casting with the top level seems too good.
I gave an example for that case:
"You can also cast the spell using any spell slots you have."
You CAN, if you chose, Expend a spell slot for the spell to use the more powerful versions. If you don't, it is the default level. So you can cast it for free without using a slot... it WILL be the base level. Or you can use a spell slot to cast at a higher levels. Those are the choices by RAW.
Magic Initiate, and Sage Backgrounds both describe this exactly. As does Sage Advice.
There is nothing stopping to ask your DM (or you to rule as DM) to run this differently, but it would not be RAW.
Well this would not be a good example, because casting with your own slots could be more focused on extra uses, instead the upcasting side.
I'd say more, on the Invocations there is no mention of using your slots, only casts at will, as the extra uses is covered there is no mention of using your own slots.
In the other hand, we have cases like some Invocations which casting always as their base level become quickly outdated, but casting with the top level seems too good.
I gave an example for that case:
"You can also cast the spell using any spell slots you have."
You CAN, if you chose, Expend a spell slot for the spell to use the more powerful versions. If you don't, it is the default level. So you can cast it for free without using a slot... it WILL be the base level. Or you can use a spell slot to cast at a higher levels. Those are the choices by RAW.
Magic Initiate, and Sage Backgrounds both describe this exactly. As does Sage Advice.
There is nothing stopping to ask your DM (or you to rule as DM) to run this differently, but it would not be RAW.
Well this would not be a good example, because casting with your own slots could be more focused on extra uses, instead the upcasting side.
I'd say more, on the Invocations there is no mention of using your slots, only casts at will, as the extra uses is covered there is no mention of using your own slots.
It doesn't matter if you chose to expend a spell slot for extra usages or for a more powerful version, if you expend a higher than normal spell slot for a spell and it has increased effects when using a spell slot of the level you used, you get the increased effect.
For example, if you cast Rangers can cast Hunter's Mark 2 to 6 times (essentially proficiency bonus times) without using a spell slot via the Favored Enemy ability. Every time you cast it this way, it is cast as a 1st level spell and lasts up to 1 hour.
If you expend a first level spell slot, you can cast it again with no additional effect; it still lasts up to 1 hour.
If you expend a second level spell slot, you can cast it again and even though you cast it with a higher level spell slot, there is no additional effect defined for a second level spell.
If you expend a third level spell slot, the spell description says that you can now concentrate up to 8 hours on the spell.
A fourth level spell slot has the same effect as a third level spell slot.
Finally, if you expend a fifth level spell slot, you can concentrate for up to 24 hours on it.
Some spells, like Mage Armor don't benefit from using a higher level spell slot. Other spells, like Fireball get a benefit for each level the slot is above the minimum.
If you are casting a spell without a spell slot and the effect that allows you do so does not specify a spell slot level, that spell is cast at the minimum level. If you then want to unlock an increased effect listed in the spell under the section "Using a Higher-level Spell Slot", you need to expend a spell slot of the appropriate level. If you are adapting anything from the 2014 rules, the spell text will be "At Higher Levels".
I cannot find if there is some limit when using a free casting (ritual, feats, etc.) not requiring to spend a spell slot, that means you can use your higher level slot for your character, but not spending a spell slot?
Upcast effects explicitly refer to “using a higher level spell slot”. Ergo, if no spell slot is used, then in the absence of any other specific text that effect cannot be applicable because the prerequisite condition is to use a spell slot.
Spells cast without spell slots (like granted abilities) usually default to the lowest level the spell can be cast at.
Unless otherwise stated by whatever is granting them.
Example:
Magic Initiate
"You always have that spell prepared. You can cast it once without a spell slot, and you regain the ability to cast it in that way when you finish a Long Rest. You can also cast the spell using any spell slots you have."
If you chose Cure Wounds for this spell, it is always going to be the level 1 version. If you wanted to cast it at higher level you can and would have to use a spell slot.
The answer provided by @The_Ace_of_Rogues is totally right and I agree, but if it helps, let me add a related thread: Fiendish Vigor (2024) - Rules & Game Mechanics
And this entry in the Sage Advice Compendium:
Yes I know that but it is for the 2014 version which specified it. I had the same doubt than Darbyrm on that topic, I mean, it depends on the “order”, so you could say “I cast this spell with a level X slot, but hey the slot is not spended, as the skill mentions”. Cannot see as clear as in 2014 version, and probably could require asking to designers.
In the other hand, we have cases like some Invocations which casting always as their base level become quickly outdated, but casting with the top level seems too good.
IMO, the rules are the same in 2014 and 2024 on this topic.
The rules for this are the same in 2014 and 2024. It's written right in the description of every spell with upcasting benefits: "Using a higher-level spell slot". If you're not using a spell slot, you're not using a higher-level spell slot.
pronouns: he/she/they
By definition, if a slot is not expended, then you’ve failed to meet the criteria for gaining effects from a higher level slot. There’s no gaming the system by somehow changing your mind midway through casting the spell and using a feature instead of a slot- either you cast with a slot and check if the spell has a “using a higher level spell slot” section, or you cast without a slot which means- barring maybe a few magic items that specifically hold stored casts or say they upcast- the upcast conditions are not present.
I gave an example for that case:
"You can also cast the spell using any spell slots you have."
You CAN, if you chose, Expend a spell slot for the spell to use the more powerful versions. If you don't, it is the default level.
So you can cast it for free without using a slot... it WILL be the base level. Or you can use a spell slot to cast at a higher levels. Those are the choices by RAW.
Magic Initiate, and Sage Backgrounds both describe this exactly. As does Sage Advice.
There is nothing stopping to ask your DM (or you to rule as DM) to run this differently, but it would not be RAW.
There was an exception in 2014, which I do not see in 2024 and that is Tiefling's Infernal Legacy which specified that at 3rd level a Tiefling could cast Hellish Rebuke once per day as a 2nd level spell (without expending a spell slot). And some other Tiefling subtypes which also got 1st level spells cast at 2nd level. I am not aware of anything like it in 2024 but we at least know how it would look if it were to exist.
There several magic items in the 2024 DMG that work this way — i.e., they specify explicitly that a spell can be cast from them at a higher level than the minimum.
pronouns: he/she/they
See the Casting Spells section.
Spells when cast are cast at their base level then there is a section Using a Higher-Level Spell Slot
Unless an ability tells you that you cast it explicitly at higher level than normal without spending a slot, you cast it at the minimum spell level. You have to expend the slot to cast it otherwise. I do not know of any PHB abilities that do that.
How to add Tooltips.
Thank you for this example!
Well this would not be a good example, because casting with your own slots could be more focused on extra uses, instead the upcasting side.
I'd say more, on the Invocations there is no mention of using your slots, only casts at will, as the extra uses is covered there is no mention of using your own slots.
It doesn't matter if you chose to expend a spell slot for extra usages or for a more powerful version, if you expend a higher than normal spell slot for a spell and it has increased effects when using a spell slot of the level you used, you get the increased effect.
For example, if you cast Rangers can cast Hunter's Mark 2 to 6 times (essentially proficiency bonus times) without using a spell slot via the Favored Enemy ability. Every time you cast it this way, it is cast as a 1st level spell and lasts up to 1 hour.
Some spells, like Mage Armor don't benefit from using a higher level spell slot. Other spells, like Fireball get a benefit for each level the slot is above the minimum.
If you are casting a spell without a spell slot and the effect that allows you do so does not specify a spell slot level, that spell is cast at the minimum level. If you then want to unlock an increased effect listed in the spell under the section "Using a Higher-level Spell Slot", you need to expend a spell slot of the appropriate level. If you are adapting anything from the 2014 rules, the spell text will be "At Higher Levels".
How to add Tooltips.