I had a discussion with the ranger at my table about the Healing Spirit spell and was hoping someone could help give an outside perspective. We have different ideas about when the d6s are applied.
The spell's text says "Whenever you or a creature you can see moves into the spirit's space for the first time on a turn or starts its turn there, you can cause the spirit to restore 1d6 hit points to that creature (no action required)."
I was under the impression that, for example, on a fighter's turn, they could start their turn in, or move into the healing spirit and regain 1d6 hp on the fighter's turn. My ranger was arguing that because he can move the spirit as a bonus action, and has 6d6 worth of healing, he could move the spirit as a bonus action into the fighter's space and heal 1-6d6 on the ranger's bonus action. I could see how it is ambiguous because the spell says, "moves into the spirit's space for the first time on a turn", which could be interpreted as on the ranger's turn (however I was assuming the target of the healing's turn). I don't see how you could apply more than 1d6 to a creature on any given turn. In the end, the ranger healed the fighter 1d6 on his bonus action, and the fighter healed another 1d6 at the start of their turn.
This is the part of the spell that the ranger pointed to as indicating that he could heal 1-6d6 as his bonus action when moving the spirit into the fighter's space. "As a bonus action on your turn, you can move the Spirit up to 30 feet to a space you can see. The spirit can heal a number of times equal to 1 + your spellcasting ability modifier (minimum of twice). After healing that number of times, the spirit disappears."
Are we using this spell correctly? From the long post, you can probably tell that this derailed the session a little bit haha. Any advice would be much appreciated!
There's a ton of content here and elsewhere discussing this spell, trust me. The spell's healing does indeed occur whenever the spell is triggered, but only for 1d6.
The sentence describing how many times the spell can do its thing is a separate sentence.
So, it's not going to happen when the caster moves the spell's radius around.
1d6 of healing can occur whenever any creature (including the caster) moves into the area. Or if they start their turn there.
There's a ton of content here and elsewhere discussing this spell, trust me. The spell's healing does indeed occur whenever the spell is triggered, but only for 1d6.
The sentence describing how many times the spell can do its thing is a separate sentence.
So, it's not going to happen when the caster moves the spell's radius around.
1d6 of healing can occur whenever any creature (including the caster) moves into the area. Or if they start their turn there.
Bolded line emphasis mine. I agree with this interpretation. Spells do what they say they do. This spell calls out that a creature has to move into the spells space to gain the benefit or start it's turn there. The spell entering its space does not count. It's done this way to eliminate rulings where someone casts healing spirit and drags it across people giving them 1d6 each very quickly, essentially becoming a better mass healing word.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I had a discussion with the ranger at my table about the Healing Spirit spell and was hoping someone could help give an outside perspective. We have different ideas about when the d6s are applied.
The spell's text says "Whenever you or a creature you can see moves into the spirit's space for the first time on a turn or starts its turn there, you can cause the spirit to restore 1d6 hit points to that creature (no action required)."
I was under the impression that, for example, on a fighter's turn, they could start their turn in, or move into the healing spirit and regain 1d6 hp on the fighter's turn. My ranger was arguing that because he can move the spirit as a bonus action, and has 6d6 worth of healing, he could move the spirit as a bonus action into the fighter's space and heal 1-6d6 on the ranger's bonus action. I could see how it is ambiguous because the spell says, "moves into the spirit's space for the first time on a turn", which could be interpreted as on the ranger's turn (however I was assuming the target of the healing's turn). I don't see how you could apply more than 1d6 to a creature on any given turn. In the end, the ranger healed the fighter 1d6 on his bonus action, and the fighter healed another 1d6 at the start of their turn.
This is the part of the spell that the ranger pointed to as indicating that he could heal 1-6d6 as his bonus action when moving the spirit into the fighter's space. "As a bonus action on your turn, you can move the Spirit up to 30 feet to a space you can see. The spirit can heal a number of times equal to 1 + your spellcasting ability modifier (minimum of twice). After healing that number of times, the spirit disappears."
Are we using this spell correctly? From the long post, you can probably tell that this derailed the session a little bit haha. Any advice would be much appreciated!
There's a ton of content here and elsewhere discussing this spell, trust me. The spell's healing does indeed occur whenever the spell is triggered, but only for 1d6.
The sentence describing how many times the spell can do its thing is a separate sentence.
So, it's not going to happen when the caster moves the spell's radius around.
1d6 of healing can occur whenever any creature (including the caster) moves into the area. Or if they start their turn there.
Bolded line emphasis mine. I agree with this interpretation. Spells do what they say they do. This spell calls out that a creature has to move into the spells space to gain the benefit or start it's turn there. The spell entering its space does not count. It's done this way to eliminate rulings where someone casts healing spirit and drags it across people giving them 1d6 each very quickly, essentially becoming a better mass healing word.