How does Twist of Fate (from the legendary magic item Spindle of Fate) interact with Legendary Resistance?
Spindle of Fate
Twist of Fate.When a creature within 60 feet of you makes a saving throw or an attack roll, you can use your reaction to expend 3 charges and alter the outcome, turning a failed saving throw into a successful one, a missed attack roll into a hit, or vice versa.
Legendary Resistance (n/Day) If [the creature] fails a saving throw, it can choose to succeed instead.
Is there a priority order for these effects?
Can Legendary Resistance trigger after Twist of Fate (or vice versa)?
If both trigger on the same saving throw:
Are these effects limited to one use per saving throw? Can they create a chain (e.g., success → failure → success → failure → success) if multiple Spindles of Fate (and reactions) or Legendary Resistance exist?
It's a bit of a judgement call for the DM, but I would say that the Spindle of Fate can cause a successful save to turn into a failed one, but can not override the auto-success from Legendary Resistance.
To me it sounds like the Simultaneous Effects rule applies, meaning whoever's turn it is gets to decide what order those things happen in. In which case, yes, it can be chained, potentially causing a creature to use up multiple Legendary Resistances to succeed on one save.
I am probably slightly biased since I hate Legendary Resistance as a mechanic in general, so take that with a grain of salt.
I would say that a legendary resistance save is not a roll and thus is not subject to the Spindle. Dragon rolls, saves, Spindle makes the roll fail, legendary resistance makes the save succeed.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
How does Twist of Fate (from the legendary magic item Spindle of Fate) interact with Legendary Resistance?
Is there a priority order for these effects?
Can Legendary Resistance trigger after Twist of Fate (or vice versa)?
If both trigger on the same saving throw:
Are these effects limited to one use per saving throw? Can they create a chain (e.g., success → failure → success → failure → success) if multiple Spindles of Fate (and reactions) or Legendary Resistance exist?
Does this qualify as Simultaneous Effects (PHB)?
If so, whoever's turn it is, let that player decides which of the effects happens first?
It's a bit of a judgement call for the DM, but I would say that the Spindle of Fate can cause a successful save to turn into a failed one, but can not override the auto-success from Legendary Resistance.
To me it sounds like the Simultaneous Effects rule applies, meaning whoever's turn it is gets to decide what order those things happen in. In which case, yes, it can be chained, potentially causing a creature to use up multiple Legendary Resistances to succeed on one save.
I am probably slightly biased since I hate Legendary Resistance as a mechanic in general, so take that with a grain of salt.
pronouns: he/she/they
I would say that a legendary resistance save is not a roll and thus is not subject to the Spindle. Dragon rolls, saves, Spindle makes the roll fail, legendary resistance makes the save succeed.