The relevant text is: "The spellcaster must have a hand free to access them, but it can be the same hand used to perform Somatic components, if any."
"To use a Component Pouch, you must have a hand free to reach into it, and to use a Spellcasting Focus, you must hold it unless its description says otherwise."
This gives us three options:
Regular spell components. You need a free hand, which you can use to grab your components and perform Somatic components.
Component Pouch. The same as regular spell components: you need a free hand, which can also be used for Somatic components.
Spellcasting Focus. One of your hands is occupied holding the Spellcasting Focus (unless its description says otherwise), so your other hand must be free to perform Somatic components.
So, from rules a spellcasting focus is used instead of a non-priced M component. And when you use the focus, you do the S components with it.
My question is: When can i use a spellcasting focus? only for spells with M component or for every spell, bypassing the S components?
You use a Spellcasting Focus only for spells with material components. If a spell has nothing but Somatic and/or Verbal components, then there's no use for it.
Spellcasting Focus
A Spellcasting Focus is an object that certain creatures can use in place of a spell’s Material components if those materials aren’t consumed by the spell and don’t have a cost specified. Some classes allow its members to use certain types of Spellcasting Focuses.
You cannot bypass the S components (except with the subtle spell metamagic). Technically, you only need to use the focus for M spells. I guess if you wanted to flavor your casting as shooting spells out of your wand or what have you even if they don’t have an M component, you could do that, but run it by your DM first.
An important note, if a spell has an M component with a gold piece value, the focus cannot substitute for those. You must acquire those components separately. Depending on the spell, they may or may not be consumed in the casting. The spell description explains if they are or not.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
So, from rules a spellcasting focus is used instead of a non-priced M component. And when you use the focus, you do the S components with it.
My question is: When can i use a spellcasting focus? only for spells with M component or for every spell, bypassing the S components?
The relevant text is: "The spellcaster must have a hand free to access them, but it can be the same hand used to perform Somatic components, if any."
"To use a Component Pouch, you must have a hand free to reach into it, and to use a Spellcasting Focus, you must hold it unless its description says otherwise."
This gives us three options:
You use a Spellcasting Focus only for spells with material components. If a spell has nothing but Somatic and/or Verbal components, then there's no use for it.
You cannot bypass the S components (except with the subtle spell metamagic).
Technically, you only need to use the focus for M spells. I guess if you wanted to flavor your casting as shooting spells out of your wand or what have you even if they don’t have an M component, you could do that, but run it by your DM first.
An important note, if a spell has an M component with a gold piece value, the focus cannot substitute for those. You must acquire those components separately. Depending on the spell, they may or may not be consumed in the casting. The spell description explains if they are or not.