So, following my line of thinking, if my rogue used all his movement to get into melee range, he wouldn't be able to disengage at all then as a bonus action. Am I doing this right?
If a rogue used all of his movement to move within melee range of an opponent to make an attack, can he then move away from the opponent when using Disengage as a bonus action? I guess I'm wondering if using it as a bonus action give additional movement after the original allowed movement is used.
The rules only do what they say they do. Disengage only stops opportunity attacks against you when you move. It doesn't provide any extra movement. If you need more movement - you would need the Dash action.
If a rogue used all of his movement to move within melee range of an opponent to make an attack, can he then move away from the opponent when using Disengage as a bonus action? I guess I'm wondering if using it as a bonus action give additional movement after the original allowed movement is used.
The disengage action doesn't provide any additional movement, it just allows you to move out of reach of an enemy without provoking opportunity attacks.
Just to be very clear.
Disengage uses your action, but by itself doesn't grant any movement.
Once you choose disengage, your movement on that same turn allows you to move out of reach of an enemy without provoking opportunity attacks.
Thanks to all for the clarification. I think I understood that it worked this way, but I needed others to agree with me. Now I can tell my players it doesn't work the way they hoped it would. :)
Regarding the bonus action disengage that rogues get, remember that an off-hand attack is also a bonus action, so you can't run up to someone, make a two-weapon fighting attack, then disengage all in the same round (I kept messing this up with the first 5e rogue that I played).
You could use the Disengage and have a friend pull you along. Maybe?
If you use the disengage action, but fail to move out of the creatures space by the end of the turn, you are no longer considered to be disengaging. That being said, if someone grabs you on their turn and pulls you out of that square? That doesn’t trigger an attack of opportunity either.
Attacks of Opportunity do not occur on forced movement.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
So, following my line of thinking, if my rogue used all his movement to get into melee range, he wouldn't be able to disengage at all then as a bonus action. Am I doing this right?
He'd still be able to take the disengage action, he just wouldn't be able to benefit from it
Find my D&D Beyond articles here
The rules only do what they say they do. Disengage only stops opportunity attacks against you when you move. It doesn't provide any extra movement. If you need more movement - you would need the Dash action.
Mega Yahtzee Thread:
Highest 41: brocker2001 (#11,285).
Yahtzee of 2's: Emmber (#36,161).
Lowest 9: JoeltheWalrus (#312), Emmber (#12,505) and Dertinus (#20,953).
Just to be very clear.
Disengage uses your action, but by itself doesn't grant any movement.
Once you choose disengage, your movement on that same turn allows you to move out of reach of an enemy without provoking opportunity attacks.
Thanks to all for the clarification. I think I understood that it worked this way, but I needed others to agree with me. Now I can tell my players it doesn't work the way they hoped it would. :)
Ok. Can a rogue move part of his movement, attack, use disengage as his bonus action and move away with the remainder of his movement.
Yes.
Mega Yahtzee Thread:
Highest 41: brocker2001 (#11,285).
Yahtzee of 2's: Emmber (#36,161).
Lowest 9: JoeltheWalrus (#312), Emmber (#12,505) and Dertinus (#20,953).
Regarding the bonus action disengage that rogues get, remember that an off-hand attack is also a bonus action, so you can't run up to someone, make a two-weapon fighting attack, then disengage all in the same round (I kept messing this up with the first 5e rogue that I played).
You could use the Disengage and have a friend pull you along. Maybe?
"Sooner or later, your Players are going to smash your railroad into a sandbox."
-Vedexent
"real life is a super high CR."
-OboeLauren
"............anybody got any potatoes? We could drop a potato in each hole an' see which ones get viciously mauled by horrible monsters?"
-Ilyara Thundertale
If you use the disengage action, but fail to move out of the creatures space by the end of the turn, you are no longer considered to be disengaging. That being said, if someone grabs you on their turn and pulls you out of that square? That doesn’t trigger an attack of opportunity either.
Attacks of Opportunity do not occur on forced movement.