I agree. Some of the flavor text for the Druid even says they use Oak and Yew for making their foci, which are both excellent woods for a quarterstaff. I've always allowed it anyway because of the Improvised Weapons rules, but it's good to know it's specifically called out.
Wait, if the snake head attacks, it would bite someone to deal poison damage, if Shillelagh makes it 1d8 Bludgeoning damage, then you would probably attack with the other end of the staff to gain Shillelagh's benefits, so no poison damage, because the snake head does piercing damage.
In short, you aren't attacking with the actual staff part of the weapon. You're attacking with snake head.
You're still making an attack roll with the staff, though, so you'd still use your Wisdom on the attack roll with the snake bite. You wouldn't get any extra damage to the snake bite or poison, though.
Correct. Once Shillelagh is applied to it you can attack either with the snake head or do a normal staff attack. Both will use your spellcasting ability (wisdom) on the attack roll, but the snake bite will not get any extra damage, it remains 1d6 piercing + 3d6 poison.
EDIT: so the damage stays the same, but you attack with your spellcasting ability??
Yes, that is correct. Shillelagh changes the weapon damage die, and that altered die only applies to direct melee attacks with the weapon. That usually means it applies to whatever attack you're making (like with the Attack action), but not to abilities that specify what the damage is.
I.e., the Conjure Barrage does require you use a ranged weapon or piece of ammunition, but using a Crossbow, Heavy doesn't change the damage die of the spell to d10s.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
I see your point and I even concede the idea, you probably do keep using d6s (since everyone else is telling me that I’m wrong).
But your example is completely unrelated because nothing in the spell conjure barrage says it changes the weapon die. You cannot build an argument by analogy with non-analogous situations.
I see your point and I even concede the idea, you probably do keep using d6s (since everyone else is telling me that I’m wrong).
But your example is completely unrelated because nothing in the spell conjure barrage says it changes the weapon die. You cannot build an argument by analogy with non-analogous situations.
That was exactly my point: abilities/spells don't change the damage die--from what's listed--unless it specifically says it uses your weapon's damage die. Sorry if I worded that poorly.
Maybe Booming Blade would be a better comparison. One spell directs you to:
Make a melee attack (with a weapon) against a target within range
On a hit, the target suffers the effects of that attack
Actual melee weapon attack using your weapon's statistics
Shillelagh applies--a Club would deal the increased weapon die (d8) from the spell effect
Target becomes subject to the spell effects
Possibility of (depending on your level) immediate and/or delayed Thunder damage
This damage always uses a d8 as the damage die as that is the spell effect regardless of Shillelagh
I.e. if the spell/ability specifies a specific damage die (general)--and doesn't specify that it uses the weapon's damage (specific)--that's what you use.
Again, apologies if I'm being unclear. I think we're on the same page Wolf.
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
You can use your spellcasting ability on the attack modifier.
I agree. Some of the flavor text for the Druid even says they use Oak and Yew for making their foci, which are both excellent woods for a quarterstaff. I've always allowed it anyway because of the Improvised Weapons rules, but it's good to know it's specifically called out.
Wait, if the snake head attacks, it would bite someone to deal poison damage, if Shillelagh makes it 1d8 Bludgeoning damage, then you would probably attack with the other end of the staff to gain Shillelagh's benefits, so no poison damage, because the snake head does piercing damage.
In short, you aren't attacking with the actual staff part of the weapon. You're attacking with snake head.
D&D is a game for nerds... so I guess I'm one :p
You're still making an attack roll with the staff, though, so you'd still use your Wisdom on the attack roll with the snake bite. You wouldn't get any extra damage to the snake bite or poison, though.
ahhhh that makes more sense
EDIT: so the damage stays the same, but you attack with your spellcasting ability??
D&D is a game for nerds... so I guess I'm one :p
Correct. Once Shillelagh is applied to it you can attack either with the snake head or do a normal staff attack. Both will use your spellcasting ability (wisdom) on the attack roll, but the snake bite will not get any extra damage, it remains 1d6 piercing + 3d6 poison.
Yes, that is correct. Shillelagh changes the weapon damage die, and that altered die only applies to direct melee attacks with the weapon. That usually means it applies to whatever attack you're making (like with the Attack action), but not to abilities that specify what the damage is.
I.e., the Conjure Barrage does require you use a ranged weapon or piece of ammunition, but using a Crossbow, Heavy doesn't change the damage die of the spell to d10s.
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
I see your point and I even concede the idea, you probably do keep using d6s (since everyone else is telling me that I’m wrong).
But your example is completely unrelated because nothing in the spell conjure barrage says it changes the weapon die. You cannot build an argument by analogy with non-analogous situations.
That was exactly my point: abilities/spells don't change the damage die--from what's listed--unless it specifically says it uses your weapon's damage die. Sorry if I worded that poorly.
Maybe Booming Blade would be a better comparison. One spell directs you to:
I.e. if the spell/ability specifies a specific damage die (general)--and doesn't specify that it uses the weapon's damage (specific)--that's what you use.
Again, apologies if I'm being unclear. I think we're on the same page Wolf.
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
Just got the DMG, the wikia to the staff of adder is wrong, there is no +2 bonus to attack/damage rolls or AC.
srry this is late, but the wikia WAS wrong
D&D is a game for nerds... so I guess I'm one :p