But it doesn't matter that you can make a weapon attack with the casting of that particular cantrip, because 1) it is no longer one weapon attack only and 2) cast a spell is nowhere on that haste list. Again, we're dealing with a list of limited options and talking about one that isn't on that list.
That's not true. If you use your Haste Attack action to cast Booming Blade, then you used it to make exactly one weapon attack. It is one weapon attack only. At this point we're rehashing old ground, though.
So 1) casting a spell is a normal part of one weapon attack? 2) Cast a spell is on the list in haste?
It has been stated that an individual could bash the intent of the rules so that 1 is arguable by a certain style of rules reading (the "I get what I want" style-- though exactly how many steps removed from your action the attack is allowed to be has never been clarified). 2 though? As you say, "That's not true."
This is a limit to the number of weapon attacks you can make only. It is not a limit on anything else. The only limit this imposes is on Quantity.
One.
One, is the limit. The limit of? Weapon attacks. Only weapon attacks are limited, and they are limited to: One.
There are no other restrictions placed on this Attack Action.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
Ok. So you are saying that extra attack is absolutely precluded, because as you say, the quantity is limited such that Extra attack can never present itself as an option ("You can attack twice instead of once..."). Since the number of attacks is out of range on the quantity, nothing that Extra Attack provides can be used.
Ok. So you are saying that extra attack is absolutely precluded, because as you say, the quantity is limited such that Extra attack can never present itself as an option ("You can attack twice instead of once..."). Since the number of attacks is out of range on the quantity, nothing that Extra Attack provides can be used.
I'm glad we agree.
No. Please read Extra Attack.
Extra Attack becomes active referenced text: "whenever you take the Attack action on your turn"
Haste allows us to take an Attack action.
Matchy matchy.
Edit: If I were to parse Extra Attack through the lense of the Attack action granted by haste it would be something like:
You can attack twiceonly once, instead of once, whenever you take the Attack action on your turn. Moreover, you can cast one of your cantrips in place of one of those attacks.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
This is a limit to the number of weapon attacks you can make only. It is not a limit on anything else. The only limit this imposes is on Quantity.
One.
One, is the limit. The limit of? Weapon attacks. Only weapon attacks are limited, and they are limited to: One.
There are no other restrictions placed on this Attack Action.
And yet, by RAW, it's fixed into making a weapon attack as per Haste "... Until the spell ends, the target... gains an additional action on each of its turns. That action can be used only to take the Attack (one weapon attack only), Dash, Disengage, Hide, or Use an Object action." Haste enables an attack with one weapon. One attack - in an action that only lets you "take the Attack (one weapon attack only), Dash, Disengage, Hide, or Use an Object action."
With reference to attacks mentioned in the 6th-level Bladesinging feature specific permission is given that "you can cast one of your cantrips in place of one of those attacks". Haste can give you one attack. Which would you say is the other?
Ok. So you are saying that extra attack is absolutely precluded, because as you say, the quantity is limited such that Extra attack can never present itself as an option ("You can attack twice instead of once..."). Since the number of attacks is out of range on the quantity, nothing that Extra Attack provides can be used.
I'm glad we agree.
No. Please read Extra Attack.
Extra Attack becomes active referenced text: "whenever you take the Attack action on your turn"
Haste allows us to take an Attack action.
Matchy matchy.
Edit: If I were to parse Extra Attack through the lense of the Attack action granted by haste it would be something like:
You can attack twiceonly once, instead of once, whenever you take the Attack action on your turn. Moreover, you can cast one of your cantrips in place of one of those attacks.
"whenever you take the Attack action on your turn" is the condition in a bogof offer. As per "You can attack twice, instead of once, whenever you take the Attack action on your turn.
It basically says "You can get this result when you comply with this condition".
This is a limit to the number of weapon attacks you can make only. It is not a limit on anything else. The only limit this imposes is on Quantity.
One.
One, is the limit. The limit of? Weapon attacks. Only weapon attacks are limited, and they are limited to: One.
There are no other restrictions placed on this Attack Action.
And yet, by RAW, it's fixed into making a weapon attack as per Haste "... Until the spell ends, the target... gains an additional action on each of its turns.
There is no such restriction. You've invented it.
That action can be used only to take the Attack (one weapon attack only), Dash, Disengage, Hide, or Use an Object action."
The Attack action is one of the allowed actions.
Haste enables an attack with one weapon.
No, it allows an Attack action, but with a limit to the Quantity of weapon attacks you can make with it.
One attack - in an action that only lets you "take the Attack (one weapon attack only), Dash, Disengage, Hide, or Use an Object action."
Yes, you can take the Attack action so long as that Attack action doesn't exceed the numerical limit of weapon attacks of One.
With reference to attacks mentioned in the 6th-level Bladesinging feature specific permission is given that "you can cast one of your cantrips in place of one of those attacks".
Yep. You can replace an attack for a cantrip. You are correct.
Haste can give you one attack.
Action. It gives you one Attack action.
Which would you say is the other?
Haste gives you an Attack action with a limit to the number of a weapon attacks being one. Bladesinger Extra Attack feature normally allows 2 attacks instead of one, but because of the limit that perk is overwritten. However, the ability to sub in cantrips for attacks is still valid, so you can. And, when doing so, you do not exceed the numerical limit on number of weapon attacks Haste restricts you to so it is valid.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
This is a limit to the number of weapon attacks you can make only. It is not a limit on anything else. The only limit this imposes is on Quantity.
One.
One, is the limit. The limit of? Weapon attacks. Only weapon attacks are limited, and they are limited to: One.
There are no other restrictions placed on this Attack Action.
And yet, by RAW, it's fixed into making a weapon attack as per Haste "... Until the spell ends, the target... gains an additional action on each of its turns.
And yet, by RAW, it's fixed into making a weapon attack as per Haste "... Until the spell ends, the target... gains an additional action on each of its turns. That action can be used only to take the Attack (one weapon attack only), Dash, Disengage, Hide, or Use an Object action." Haste enables an attack with one weapon. One attack - in an action that only lets you "take the Attack (one weapon attack only), Dash, Disengage, Hide, or Use an Object action." ...
This is a limit to the number of weapon attacks you can make only. It is not a limit on anything else. The only limit this imposes is on Quantity.
One.
One, is the limit. The limit of? Weapon attacks. Only weapon attacks are limited, and they are limited to: One.
There are no other restrictions placed on this Attack Action.
And yet, by RAW, it's fixed into making a weapon attack as per Haste "... Until the spell ends, the target... gains an additional action on each of its turns.
And yet, by RAW, it's fixed into making a weapon attack as per Haste "... Until the spell ends, the target... gains an additional action on each of its turns. That action can be used only to take the Attack (one weapon attack only), Dash, Disengage, Hide, or Use an Object action." Haste enables an attack with one weapon. One attack - in an action that only lets you "take the Attack (one weapon attack only), Dash, Disengage, Hide, or Use an Object action." ...
There is such a restriction. You deleted it.
I didn't delete it. I broke it down line by line and replied to each line. I'm not doing so again you either understand or don't by this point.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
hunter's mark does extra damage when you hit a creature with a weapon attack. Does this spell trigger when you hit someone with booming blade?
Yes. Yes it does. Because booming blade is a weapon attack. One such weapon attack.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
This is a limit to the number of weapon attacks you can make only. It is not a limit on anything else. The only limit this imposes is on Quantity.
One.
One, is the limit. The limit of? Weapon attacks. Only weapon attacks are limited, and they are limited to: One.
There are no other restrictions placed on this Attack Action.
And yet, by RAW, it's fixed into making a weapon attack as per Haste "... Until the spell ends, the target... gains an additional action on each of its turns.
And yet, by RAW, it's fixed into making a weapon attack as per Haste "... Until the spell ends, the target... gains an additional action on each of its turns. That action can be used only to take the Attack (one weapon attack only), Dash, Disengage, Hide, or Use an Object action." Haste enables an attack with one weapon. One attack - in an action that only lets you "take the Attack (one weapon attack only), Dash, Disengage, Hide, or Use an Object action." ...
There is such a restriction. You deleted it.
I didn't delete it. I broke it down line by line and replied to each line. I'm not doing so again you either understand or don't by this point.
RAW, Haste says "... Until the spell ends, the target... gains an additional action on each of its turns. That action can be used only to take the Attack (one weapon attack only), Dash, Disengage, Hide, or Use an Object action." Haste enables an attack with one weapon. One attack - in an action that only lets you "take the Attack (one weapon attack only), Dash, Disengage, Hide, or Use an Object action." ...
What you're trying to do is to take a blade singer feature (that allows changing one of two attacks to a cantrip) to try to also apply it to the one additional action enabled by haste even though haste precludes the use of the additional action to cast a spell.
"whenever you take the Attack action on your turn" is the condition in a bogof offer. As per "You can attack twice, instead of once, whenever you take the Attack action on your turn.
It basically says "You can get this result when you comply with this condition".
As far as I see it, that's the intent of the rule.
Does it really matter whether you can replace the Haste-given action or not? You're still limited to one cantrip per turn anyway. So even with your three attacks, you can't replace more then one of them with a cantrip as per the feature which specifies as such (emphasis mine):
You can attack twice, instead of once, whenever you take the Attack action on your turn. Moreover, you can cast one of your cantrips in place of one of those attacks.
The feature does not say "you can cast a cantrip instead of each attack" nor does it say "you can replace each attack with a cantrip". It says you can cast ONE cantrip in place of ONE of those attacks. Whether you Haste or not and how many attacks you can actually make is irrelevant. The same thing would happen if you multiclassed Bladesinger/Fighter to get a 3rd attack from the Fighter's extra attack. You still wouldn't be able to replace more then one attack with a cantrip.
This feature (or haste) really needs Sage Advice though.
Does it really matter whether you can replace the Haste-given action or not? You're still limited to one cantrip per turn anyway. So even with your three attacks, you can't replace more then one of them with a cantrip as per the feature which specifies as such (emphasis mine):
You can attack twice, instead of once, whenever you take the Attack action on your turn. Moreover, you can cast one of your cantrips in place of one of those attacks.
The feature does not say "you can cast a cantrip instead of each attack" nor does it say "you can replace each attack with a cantrip". It says you can cast ONE cantrip in place of ONE of those attacks. Whether you Haste or not and how many attacks you can actually make is irrelevant. The same thing would happen if you multiclassed Bladesinger/Fighter to get a 3rd attack from the Fighter's extra attack. You still wouldn't be able to replace more then one attack with a cantrip.
This feature (or haste) really needs Sage Advice though.
There is no restriction on number of cantrips you can cast in a round. Bladesinger lets you replace attacks for cantrips whenever you take the attack action. So, you could swap one in ever attack action.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
Does it really matter whether you can replace the Haste-given action or not? You're still limited to one cantrip per turn anyway. So even with your three attacks, you can't replace more then one of them with a cantrip as per the feature which specifies as such (emphasis mine):
You can attack twice, instead of once, whenever you take the Attack action on your turn. Moreover, you can cast one of your cantrips in place of one of those attacks.
The feature does not say "you can cast a cantrip instead of each attack" nor does it say "you can replace each attack with a cantrip". It says you can cast ONE cantrip in place of ONE of those attacks. Whether you Haste or not and how many attacks you can actually make is irrelevant. The same thing would happen if you multiclassed Bladesinger/Fighter to get a 3rd attack from the Fighter's extra attack. You still wouldn't be able to replace more then one attack with a cantrip.
This feature (or haste) really needs Sage Advice though.
There is no restriction on number of cantrips you can cast in a round. Bladesinger lets you replace attacks for cantrips whenever you take the attack action. So, you could swap one in ever attack action.
Depending on a potential definition of "those attacks", you may be limited to one cantrip as per the feature text "..., you can cast one of your cantrips in place of one of those attacks."
Does it really matter whether you can replace the Haste-given action or not? You're still limited to one cantrip per turn anyway. So even with your three attacks, you can't replace more then one of them with a cantrip as per the feature which specifies as such (emphasis mine):
You can attack twice, instead of once, whenever you take the Attack action on your turn. Moreover, you can cast one of your cantrips in place of one of those attacks.
The feature does not say "you can cast a cantrip instead of each attack" nor does it say "you can replace each attack with a cantrip". It says you can cast ONE cantrip in place of ONE of those attacks. Whether you Haste or not and how many attacks you can actually make is irrelevant. The same thing would happen if you multiclassed Bladesinger/Fighter to get a 3rd attack from the Fighter's extra attack. You still wouldn't be able to replace more then one attack with a cantrip.
This feature (or haste) really needs Sage Advice though.
There is no restriction on number of cantrips you can cast in a round. Bladesinger lets you replace attacks for cantrips whenever you take the attack action. So, you could swap one in ever attack action.
Where does it say this? The feature seems pretty specific where it says you can cast one of your cantrips in place of one of those attacks. In fact, a quick search around the interwebz and this very site seems to have many people agree with me that RAW, Bladesingers cannot use more than one cantrip per turn when using Extra Attack based on the wording of the feature. Can you provide a source or explain why a Bladesinger could replace all their attacks with cantrips? Cause I definitely don't see it and couldn't find any Sage Advice about it anywhere.
Does it really matter whether you can replace the Haste-given action or not? You're still limited to one cantrip per turn anyway. So even with your three attacks, you can't replace more then one of them with a cantrip as per the feature which specifies as such (emphasis mine):
You can attack twice, instead of once, whenever you take the Attack action on your turn. Moreover, you can cast one of your cantrips in place of one of those attacks.
The feature does not say "you can cast a cantrip instead of each attack" nor does it say "you can replace each attack with a cantrip". It says you can cast ONE cantrip in place of ONE of those attacks. Whether you Haste or not and how many attacks you can actually make is irrelevant. The same thing would happen if you multiclassed Bladesinger/Fighter to get a 3rd attack from the Fighter's extra attack. You still wouldn't be able to replace more then one attack with a cantrip.
This feature (or haste) really needs Sage Advice though.
There is no restriction on number of cantrips you can cast in a round. Bladesinger lets you replace attacks for cantrips whenever you take the attack action. So, you could swap one in ever attack action.
Where does it say this? The feature seems pretty specific where it says you can cast one of your cantrips in place of one of those attacks. In fact, a quick search around the interwebz and this very site seems to have many people agree with me that RAW, Bladesingers cannot use more than one cantrip per turn when using Extra Attack based on the wording of the feature. Can you provide a source or explain why a Bladesinger could replace all their attacks with cantrips? Cause I definitely don't see it and couldn't find any Sage Advice about it anywhere.
I didn't say what you're now asking me to prove. Reread what you're replying to.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
Does it really matter whether you can replace the Haste-given action or not? You're still limited to one cantrip per turn anyway. So even with your three attacks, you can't replace more then one of them with a cantrip as per the feature which specifies as such (emphasis mine):
You can attack twice, instead of once, whenever you take the Attack action on your turn. Moreover, you can cast one of your cantrips in place of one of those attacks.
The feature does not say "you can cast a cantrip instead of each attack" nor does it say "you can replace each attack with a cantrip". It says you can cast ONE cantrip in place of ONE of those attacks. Whether you Haste or not and how many attacks you can actually make is irrelevant. The same thing would happen if you multiclassed Bladesinger/Fighter to get a 3rd attack from the Fighter's extra attack. You still wouldn't be able to replace more then one attack with a cantrip.
This feature (or haste) really needs Sage Advice though.
There is no restriction on number of cantrips you can cast in a round. Bladesinger lets you replace attacks for cantrips whenever you take the attack action. So, you could swap one in ever attack action.
Depending on a potential definition of "those attacks", you may be limited to one cantrip as per the feature text "..., you can cast one of your cantrips in place of one of those attacks."
Yeah, obviously, every time you take the attack action.
If you're taking several attack actions you can do it once each time.
Unless you think a Bladesinger can only ever do it once in his entire career or something. It is once per attack action. Because "whenever you take the attack action" is the activating/referencing text of the ability.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
Does it really matter whether you can replace the Haste-given action or not? You're still limited to one cantrip per turn anyway. So even with your three attacks, you can't replace more then one of them with a cantrip as per the feature which specifies as such (emphasis mine):
You can attack twice, instead of once, whenever you take the Attack action on your turn. Moreover, you can cast one of your cantrips in place of one of those attacks.
The feature does not say "you can cast a cantrip instead of each attack" nor does it say "you can replace each attack with a cantrip". It says you can cast ONE cantrip in place of ONE of those attacks. Whether you Haste or not and how many attacks you can actually make is irrelevant. The same thing would happen if you multiclassed Bladesinger/Fighter to get a 3rd attack from the Fighter's extra attack. You still wouldn't be able to replace more then one attack with a cantrip.
This feature (or haste) really needs Sage Advice though.
There is no restriction on number of cantrips you can cast in a round. Bladesinger lets you replace attacks for cantrips whenever you take the attack action. So, you could swap one in ever attack action.
Depending on a potential definition of "those attacks", you may be limited to one cantrip as per the feature text "..., you can cast one of your cantrips in place of one of those attacks."
Yeah, obviously, every time you take the attack action.
If you're taking several attack actions you can do it once each time.
Unless you think a Bladesinger can only ever do it once in his entire career or something. It is once per attack action. Because "whenever you take the attack action" is the activating/referencing text of the ability.
The 6th-level Bladesinging feature says "You can attack twice, instead of once, whenever you take the Attack action on your turn. Moreover, you can cast one of your cantrips in place of one of those attacks."
The word "those" relates to a plural. The word "attacks" is a plural.
If you want the "additional action" from haste to account for one of these attacks, which is/are the other/s?
"whenever you take the Attack action on your turn" is the condition in a bogof offer. As per "You can attack twice, instead of once, whenever you take the Attack action on your turn.
It basically says "You can get this result when you comply with this condition".
RAW, Haste says "... Until the spell ends, the target... gains an additional action on each of its turns. That action can be used only to take the Attack (one weapon attack only), Dash, Disengage, Hide, or Use an Object action." Haste enables an attack with one weapon. One attack - in an action that only lets you "take the Attack (one weapon attack only), Dash, Disengage, Hide, or Use an Object action." ...
What you're trying to do is to take a blade singer feature (that allows changing one of two attacks to a cantrip) to try to also apply it to the one additional action enabled by haste even though haste precludes the use of the additional action to cast a spell.
What you're trying to do with it is far from obvious.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Haste let you use
Attack action (1 weapon attack only)
NOT
Attack action (cast a cantrip)
So 1) casting a spell is a normal part of one weapon attack? 2) Cast a spell is on the list in haste?
It has been stated that an individual could bash the intent of the rules so that 1 is arguable by a certain style of rules reading (the "I get what I want" style-- though exactly how many steps removed from your action the attack is allowed to be has never been clarified). 2 though? As you say, "That's not true."(One Weapon Attack Only)
This is a limit to the number of weapon attacks you can make only. It is not a limit on anything else. The only limit this imposes is on Quantity.
One.
One, is the limit. The limit of? Weapon attacks. Only weapon attacks are limited, and they are limited to: One.
There are no other restrictions placed on this Attack Action.
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
Ok. So you are saying that extra attack is absolutely precluded, because as you say, the quantity is limited such that Extra attack can never present itself as an option ("You can attack twice instead of once..."). Since the number of attacks is out of range on the quantity, nothing that Extra Attack provides can be used.
I'm glad we agree.
No. Please read Extra Attack.
Extra Attack becomes active referenced text: "whenever you take the Attack action on your turn"
Haste allows us to take an Attack action.
Matchy matchy.
Edit: If I were to parse Extra Attack through the lense of the Attack action granted by haste it would be something like:
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
So Extra attack applies? I thought you just said you couldn't make more than one attack.
And yet, by RAW, it's fixed into making a weapon attack as per Haste "... Until the spell ends, the target... gains an additional action on each of its turns. That action can be used only to take the Attack (one weapon attack only), Dash, Disengage, Hide, or Use an Object action." Haste enables an attack with one weapon. One attack - in an action that only lets you "take the Attack (one weapon attack only), Dash, Disengage, Hide, or Use an Object action."
With reference to attacks mentioned in the 6th-level Bladesinging feature specific permission is given that "you can cast one of your cantrips in place of one of those attacks". Haste can give you one attack. Which would you say is the other?
"whenever you take the Attack action on your turn" is the condition in a bogof offer. As per "You can attack twice, instead of once, whenever you take the Attack action on your turn.
It basically says "You can get this result when you comply with this condition".
There is no such restriction. You've invented it.
The Attack action is one of the allowed actions.
No, it allows an Attack action, but with a limit to the Quantity of weapon attacks you can make with it.
Yes, you can take the Attack action so long as that Attack action doesn't exceed the numerical limit of weapon attacks of One.
Yep. You can replace an attack for a cantrip. You are correct.
Action. It gives you one Attack action.
Haste gives you an Attack action with a limit to the number of a weapon attacks being one. Bladesinger Extra Attack feature normally allows 2 attacks instead of one, but because of the limit that perk is overwritten. However, the ability to sub in cantrips for attacks is still valid, so you can. And, when doing so, you do not exceed the numerical limit on number of weapon attacks Haste restricts you to so it is valid.
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
There is such a restriction. You deleted it.
I didn't delete it. I broke it down line by line and replied to each line. I'm not doing so again you either understand or don't by this point.
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
hunter's mark does extra damage when you hit a creature with a weapon attack. Does this spell trigger when you hit someone with booming blade?
Yes. Yes it does. Because booming blade is a weapon attack. One such weapon attack.
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
RAW, Haste says "... Until the spell ends, the target... gains an additional action on each of its turns. That action can be used only to take the Attack (one weapon attack only), Dash, Disengage, Hide, or Use an Object action." Haste enables an attack with one weapon. One attack - in an action that only lets you "take the Attack (one weapon attack only), Dash, Disengage, Hide, or Use an Object action." ...
What you're trying to do is to take a blade singer feature (that allows changing one of two attacks to a cantrip) to try to also apply it to the one additional action enabled by haste even though haste precludes the use of the additional action to cast a spell.
As far as I see it, that's the intent of the rule.
Does it really matter whether you can replace the Haste-given action or not? You're still limited to one cantrip per turn anyway. So even with your three attacks, you can't replace more then one of them with a cantrip as per the feature which specifies as such (emphasis mine):
You can attack twice, instead of once, whenever you take the Attack action on your turn. Moreover, you can cast one of your cantrips in place of one of those attacks.
The feature does not say "you can cast a cantrip instead of each attack" nor does it say "you can replace each attack with a cantrip". It says you can cast ONE cantrip in place of ONE of those attacks. Whether you Haste or not and how many attacks you can actually make is irrelevant. The same thing would happen if you multiclassed Bladesinger/Fighter to get a 3rd attack from the Fighter's extra attack. You still wouldn't be able to replace more then one attack with a cantrip.
This feature (or haste) really needs Sage Advice though.
There is no restriction on number of cantrips you can cast in a round. Bladesinger lets you replace attacks for cantrips whenever you take the attack action. So, you could swap one in ever attack action.
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
Depending on a potential definition of "those attacks", you may be limited to one cantrip as per the feature text "..., you can cast one of your cantrips in place of one of those attacks."
Where does it say this? The feature seems pretty specific where it says you can cast one of your cantrips in place of one of those attacks. In fact, a quick search around the interwebz and this very site seems to have many people agree with me that RAW, Bladesingers cannot use more than one cantrip per turn when using Extra Attack based on the wording of the feature. Can you provide a source or explain why a Bladesinger could replace all their attacks with cantrips? Cause I definitely don't see it and couldn't find any Sage Advice about it anywhere.
I didn't say what you're now asking me to prove. Reread what you're replying to.
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
Yeah, obviously, every time you take the attack action.
If you're taking several attack actions you can do it once each time.
Unless you think a Bladesinger can only ever do it once in his entire career or something. It is once per attack action. Because "whenever you take the attack action" is the activating/referencing text of the ability.
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
No, as it applies to "one of those attacks".
The intent of the rule is certainly obvious.
That's the intent of the rule, obviously.
What you're trying to do with it is far from obvious.