until recently I thought that a Barbarian regains all his uses of Rage that he spent, when he finishes a long rest. E. g. you are a level 3 Barb, you have three uses of Rage. You spent two uses during adventuring, your party takes a long rest and you get those two uses back, so you're at three again.
But, the ability states the following: "Once you have raged the number of times shown for your barbarian leveI in the Rages column of the Barbarian table, you must finish a long rest before you can rage again."
Does that mean, that I have to use up all my available uses of Rage before I regain any?
The reason why I am confused about that (something that seemed all so clear to me for the longest time), is the wording. If you compare it to other abilites, like the Druid's Wild Shape (where it very clearly states that "You regain expended uses when you finish a short ar long rest.") you (or atleast I) really wonder why they didn't go with a similiar wording, if it was meant to be the same mechanics-wise.
I didn't find anything helpful on the internet, on sites like sage advice for example. Maybe you can help me?
When you long rest, you regain all expended uses. You don't have to use all your rages. If your DM rules otherwise, rage right before you go to sleep for 1 round.
Yeah, but where does it say that? Doesn't it make you wonder why they used a different wording for that? They are so consistent with the way they describe abilities and game mechanics, but for some reason not there?
They are not consistent about wording much at all... They use words which actually mean one thing, but then mechanically describe/rule it quite differently...
The rule books have multiple authors and don’t use a highly formalized (or consistent) rules language, relying instead on the reader to use common sense in arbitrating how things work.
I don’t think the rules need to written like program code, but a bit more editorial consistency would be appreciated.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Hello guys,
until recently I thought that a Barbarian regains all his uses of Rage that he spent, when he finishes a long rest. E. g. you are a level 3 Barb, you have three uses of Rage. You spent two uses during adventuring, your party takes a long rest and you get those two uses back, so you're at three again.
But, the ability states the following: "Once you have raged the number of times shown for your barbarian leveI in the Rages column of the Barbarian table, you must finish a long rest before you can rage again."
Does that mean, that I have to use up all my available uses of Rage before I regain any?
The reason why I am confused about that (something that seemed all so clear to me for the longest time), is the wording. If you compare it to other abilites, like the Druid's Wild Shape (where it very clearly states that "You regain expended uses when you finish a short ar long rest.") you (or atleast I) really wonder why they didn't go with a similiar wording, if it was meant to be the same mechanics-wise.
I didn't find anything helpful on the internet, on sites like sage advice for example. Maybe you can help me?
Cheers
Max
When you long rest, you regain all expended uses. You don't have to use all your rages. If your DM rules otherwise, rage right before you go to sleep for 1 round.
Yeah, but where does it say that? Doesn't it make you wonder why they used a different wording for that? They are so consistent with the way they describe abilities and game mechanics, but for some reason not there?
They are not consistent about wording much at all... They use words which actually mean one thing, but then mechanically describe/rule it quite differently...
The rule books have multiple authors and don’t use a highly formalized (or consistent) rules language, relying instead on the reader to use common sense in arbitrating how things work.
I don’t think the rules need to written like program code, but a bit more editorial consistency would be appreciated.