Starting at 2nd level, druids can use wildshape to turn into giant badgers. This is a Medium creature with a burrowing speed of 10 feet. Is there a definitive rule about whether the space the badger has burrowed through is definitely empty (making a tunnel), definitely filled (the dirt falls back to where it was, or the ice is turned into snow/slush behind you), or that it is up to interpretation?
The Monster Manual describes Burrowing as follows:
Burrow
A monster that has a burrowing speed can use that speed to move through sand, earth, mud, or ice. A monster can’t burrow through solid rock unless it has a special trait that allows it to do so.
I could imagine that whether or not you can create a tunnel behind you depends on the medium you are digging through. Sand and mud would probably not leave a tunnel. Earth and Ice are maybe.
On a related note, the purple worm has the following attribute:
Tunneler. The worm can burrow through solid rock at half its burrow speed and leaves a 10-foot-diameter tunnel in its wake.
Now just because one monster has an attribute doesn't mean another does/does not have a similar feature. But it does suggest that digging through rock or something else may NOT leave a tunnel, otherwise why would they say that? (Easy: because the worm is Gargantuan, or 20x20+, but this tunnel is only 10 feet, not 20 feet, in diameter).
I believe the point of the Purple Worm's trait is referring to solid rock. Looking at the basic Burrow trait, as you have quoted it, that second sentence says you can't use a burrow speed to move through solid rock (and by extension most likely metal, etc). The Purple Worm is allowed to tunnel through rock at half its speed. Other creatures can't do that. Leaving behind the tunnel is a coincidence in this case, because rock is.... well.... solid. The Purple Worm isn't so much digging, as it is drilling. Just like we do now-a-days with machines like the giant tunnel boring machine.
Back to the Druid problem (since Druids can't Wild Shape into a Purple Worm, and your tooltip broke on whatever creature, probably the Badger), I would argue that generally speaking no, you would not leave a tunnel, but in some situations you might. It would depend on the substance and the depth. The size of the tunnel would also depend on the size of the creature.
I do t think there would be a tunnel. If so, where would the dirt go? And how would it get there? A badger isn’t excavating a space and transporting the dirt out of the hole behind it. I’d say it’s just moving dirt from in front of it to in back of it. Maybe there’s a mound where it first went in, but if it tunnels, say 20 feet, there’s no way for the dirt at foot 15 to be remove from the area to create a tunnel. The purple worm, I suppose, is just eating the dirt.
I would probably just rule that an animal with a burrowing speed can create a tunnel in any earth that it can burrow through that also can support a tunnel. Real burrowing animals often leave a tunnel, and nothing in the description says either way.
I will also mention that creatures that don't disturb the earth as they travel through it have a feature called Earthglide.
My question is this: Does Burrow speed equal walking speed? A bulette's walking speed is 40ft. Its Burrowing speed is also 40ft. Can the Bulette start above ground, burrow 40ft and pop out next to a target to attack in the same round? There are many hem-haw articles about this ability, but fewer answers than the number of creatures who can do it.
Does burrow speed equal walking speed? No. It is burrow speed. A creature with a burrow speed can burrow a distance up to that speed in a round, so a bulette could burrow 40' in a round since its burrow speed is also 40'. If it did, it would not be able to do any more movement. Many creatures with different types of movement have different speeds for those movements. A creature with multiple movements can use any of them to complete it's movement. The rules describe a process that basically limits your movement during your turn to a total of your largest speed and limits your movement with other speeds as well.
What does this have to do with wildshaping into a creature with burrow speeds? Bulettes are monstrosities.
Does burrow speed equal walking speed? No. It is burrow speed.
Thanks... A PC with a walking speed of 30 can move that speed and then attack/cast a spell, whatever. Being unfamiliar with the burrow ability my question is if a creature (Badger, Druid, Bulette) with burrowing is above ground (regular dirt) at the start of its turn, can it burrow underground for its full speed and then pop back up in the same turn to attack/cast, etc? I only ask because I keep thinking that the act of digging through all that earth would take up its entire turn.
What does this have to do with wildshaping into a creature with burrow speeds? Bulettes are monstrosities.
Yea, thanks.... I named the creature because it has a burrowing speed and therefore seemed relevant to the conversation.
Does burrow speed equal walking speed? No. It is burrow speed.
Thanks... A PC with a walking speed of 30 can move that speed and then attack/cast a spell, whatever. Being unfamiliar with the burrow ability my question is if a creature (Badger, Druid, Bulette) with burrowing is above ground (regular dirt) at the start of its turn, can it burrow underground for its full speed and then pop back up in the same turn to attack/cast, etc? I only ask because I keep thinking that the act of digging through all that earth would take up its entire turn.
Yes. They can burrow underground then attack freely Creatures with different move speeds: burrow, climb, fly, swim, I’d throw pounce in there, there may be others, can move that way at that speed, then perform their action: attack, cast, dodge, etc. as normal. The movement type just gives them options for how to use their move on their turn, walking on the ground, burrowing under it, flying over it and so on. Different movement types can be very powerful when used correctly. The burrower can go underground, move it’s 40 feet past the tanks (without drawing opportunity attacks since its underground and has full cover) then pop up in back of everyone and take its attack on the squishier PCs in back. Similar to how something with a fly speed could go over everyone’s head and land behind. Whether or not it’s intelligent enough to know to do that is a different question, but it can.
The things called speeds are listed in the MM, mostly because they have more different modes of locomotion than PCs. But the rules on how they can use those modes come from the movement and positioning section of the combat basic rules-- you can use any of your movements as long as you have speed left for that movement mode for that turn, even burrowning. There is no "pounce" movement defined in the game, though monsters can jump. If they have a pounce action then that action's description will tell you how it works.
i think it depends if it has a Tuneler trait like a ankheg or if it excavate the material dug out of the hole, otherwise its simply moved behind the creature leasing no tunnel as explained in Sage Advice compendium
Can a creature that burrows grapple a target and drag them into the ground by burrowing? No. A burrowing creature can drag another creature with them only if they have the ability to leave a tunnel. For example, a purple worm has the Tunneler trait, so it can drag a grappled creature into a tunnel it creates when burrowing. Conversely, an earth elemental can’t drag a creature into the ground with it.
If they have multiple movement types, they can use any of them at will with the caveat that you cant exceed their individual maximum values after a the distance traveled is exceeded, so in the hypothetical situation with missmatched movement speed types you have to break apart your movement.
An example of this would be the Dhampir race on a former Triton. It would have a walk speed and climb speed of 35, and a swim speed of 30, so if you were to try and swim, you can move 30' with no penalty due to your swim speed, but then the remaining 5 speed you have walking would have to be used with the penalties of difficult terrain, thus only 2.5 more feet.
Another example would be anyone under a fly spell... if they had a ring of swimming. They could swim out to sea 40', then fly another 20'... though why you'd not just fly the whole way? Maybe you need to swim down an underwater tunnel, then fly away? You could not however fly 20' then swim 40' and the first 20' of the swim distance was used up flying... you'd have to fly 20' then swim just 20'. You would be free however to fly an aditional 20', for 20 fly -> 20 swim -> 20 fly.
A large array of critters that burrow into the earth and have tunnels don't excavate all that dirt. They typically excavate a large amount in the beginning and then as they burrow and build their tunnels, they compact the earth as they go deeper and deeper, excavating when the need arrises. Often popping up somewhere to excavate that necessary dirt they could not compact into the sides of the tunnels and then resuming the construction of their tunnels.
As for game play, I would first discuss it with your GM, bringing up the various critters that dig massive amounts of tunnels. If I were the GM, I would just say it's up to you BUT, if you want to have a tunnel, then you have to spend the extra time reinforcing the walls. Thus, cutting down how fast and deep you can go dramatically. Perhaps instead of burrow 20 feet, if you want a workable, structurally usable tunnel, it will be reduced to 5 feet.
Starting at 2nd level, druids can use wildshape to turn into giant badgers. This is a Medium creature with a burrowing speed of 10 feet. Is there a definitive rule about whether the space the badger has burrowed through is definitely empty (making a tunnel), definitely filled (the dirt falls back to where it was, or the ice is turned into snow/slush behind you), or that it is up to interpretation?
The Monster Manual describes Burrowing as follows:
https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/mm/introduction#Speed
I could imagine that whether or not you can create a tunnel behind you depends on the medium you are digging through. Sand and mud would probably not leave a tunnel. Earth and Ice are maybe.
On a related note, the purple worm has the following attribute:
Now just because one monster has an attribute doesn't mean another does/does not have a similar feature. But it does suggest that digging through rock or something else may NOT leave a tunnel, otherwise why would they say that? (Easy: because the worm is Gargantuan, or 20x20+, but this tunnel is only 10 feet, not 20 feet, in diameter).
I believe the point of the Purple Worm's trait is referring to solid rock. Looking at the basic Burrow trait, as you have quoted it, that second sentence says you can't use a burrow speed to move through solid rock (and by extension most likely metal, etc). The Purple Worm is allowed to tunnel through rock at half its speed. Other creatures can't do that. Leaving behind the tunnel is a coincidence in this case, because rock is.... well.... solid. The Purple Worm isn't so much digging, as it is drilling. Just like we do now-a-days with machines like the giant tunnel boring machine.
Back to the Druid problem (since Druids can't Wild Shape into a Purple Worm, and your tooltip broke on whatever creature, probably the Badger), I would argue that generally speaking no, you would not leave a tunnel, but in some situations you might. It would depend on the substance and the depth. The size of the tunnel would also depend on the size of the creature.
I do t think there would be a tunnel. If so, where would the dirt go? And how would it get there? A badger isn’t excavating a space and transporting the dirt out of the hole behind it. I’d say it’s just moving dirt from in front of it to in back of it. Maybe there’s a mound where it first went in, but if it tunnels, say 20 feet, there’s no way for the dirt at foot 15 to be remove from the area to create a tunnel.
The purple worm, I suppose, is just eating the dirt.
I would probably just rule that an animal with a burrowing speed can create a tunnel in any earth that it can burrow through that also can support a tunnel. Real burrowing animals often leave a tunnel, and nothing in the description says either way.
I will also mention that creatures that don't disturb the earth as they travel through it have a feature called Earthglide.
My question is this: Does Burrow speed equal walking speed? A bulette's walking speed is 40ft. Its Burrowing speed is also 40ft. Can the Bulette start above ground, burrow 40ft and pop out next to a target to attack in the same round? There are many hem-haw articles about this ability, but fewer answers than the number of creatures who can do it.
Thank you,
Evan
Does burrow speed equal walking speed? No. It is burrow speed. A creature with a burrow speed can burrow a distance up to that speed in a round, so a bulette could burrow 40' in a round since its burrow speed is also 40'. If it did, it would not be able to do any more movement. Many creatures with different types of movement have different speeds for those movements. A creature with multiple movements can use any of them to complete it's movement. The rules describe a process that basically limits your movement during your turn to a total of your largest speed and limits your movement with other speeds as well.
What does this have to do with wildshaping into a creature with burrow speeds? Bulettes are monstrosities.
Does burrow speed equal walking speed? No. It is burrow speed.
Thanks... A PC with a walking speed of 30 can move that speed and then attack/cast a spell, whatever. Being unfamiliar with the burrow ability my question is if a creature (Badger, Druid, Bulette) with burrowing is above ground (regular dirt) at the start of its turn, can it burrow underground for its full speed and then pop back up in the same turn to attack/cast, etc? I only ask because I keep thinking that the act of digging through all that earth would take up its entire turn.
What does this have to do with wildshaping into a creature with burrow speeds? Bulettes are monstrosities.
Yea, thanks.... I named the creature because it has a burrowing speed and therefore seemed relevant to the conversation.
Evan
Yes. They can burrow underground then attack freely Creatures with different move speeds: burrow, climb, fly, swim, I’d throw pounce in there, there may be others, can move that way at that speed, then perform their action: attack, cast, dodge, etc. as normal. The movement type just gives them options for how to use their move on their turn, walking on the ground, burrowing under it, flying over it and so on.
Different movement types can be very powerful when used correctly. The burrower can go underground, move it’s 40 feet past the tanks (without drawing opportunity attacks since its underground and has full cover) then pop up in back of everyone and take its attack on the squishier PCs in back. Similar to how something with a fly speed could go over everyone’s head and land behind. Whether or not it’s intelligent enough to know to do that is a different question, but it can.
The things called speeds are listed in the MM, mostly because they have more different modes of locomotion than PCs. But the rules on how they can use those modes come from the movement and positioning section of the combat basic rules-- you can use any of your movements as long as you have speed left for that movement mode for that turn, even burrowning. There is no "pounce" movement defined in the game, though monsters can jump. If they have a pounce action then that action's description will tell you how it works.
If you want to make tunnels you go cave badger, same stats accept 15 ft burrow and tunneling,
i think it depends if it has a Tuneler trait like a ankheg or if it excavate the material dug out of the hole, otherwise its simply moved behind the creature leasing no tunnel as explained in Sage Advice compendium
Giant Badger therefore leaves no tunnel behind when they move using their burrow speed.
So in 5E the animals we know that make tunnels and hole lair underground do so by excavating the material like anyone else would i guess
As to the question about walk and burrow speeds:
If they have multiple movement types, they can use any of them at will with the caveat that you cant exceed their individual maximum values after a the distance traveled is exceeded, so in the hypothetical situation with missmatched movement speed types you have to break apart your movement.
An example of this would be the Dhampir race on a former Triton.
It would have a walk speed and climb speed of 35, and a swim speed of 30, so if you were to try and swim, you can move 30' with no penalty due to your swim speed, but then the remaining 5 speed you have walking would have to be used with the penalties of difficult terrain, thus only 2.5 more feet.
Another example would be anyone under a fly spell... if they had a ring of swimming. They could swim out to sea 40', then fly another 20'... though why you'd not just fly the whole way? Maybe you need to swim down an underwater tunnel, then fly away? You could not however fly 20' then swim 40' and the first 20' of the swim distance was used up flying... you'd have to fly 20' then swim just 20'. You would be free however to fly an aditional 20', for 20 fly -> 20 swim -> 20 fly.
A large array of critters that burrow into the earth and have tunnels don't excavate all that dirt. They typically excavate a large amount in the beginning and then as they burrow and build their tunnels, they compact the earth as they go deeper and deeper, excavating when the need arrises. Often popping up somewhere to excavate that necessary dirt they could not compact into the sides of the tunnels and then resuming the construction of their tunnels.
As for game play, I would first discuss it with your GM, bringing up the various critters that dig massive amounts of tunnels. If I were the GM, I would just say it's up to you BUT, if you want to have a tunnel, then you have to spend the extra time reinforcing the walls. Thus, cutting down how fast and deep you can go dramatically. Perhaps instead of burrow 20 feet, if you want a workable, structurally usable tunnel, it will be reduced to 5 feet.
a purple worm is about 10 ft in diameter, the gargantuan tag comes from its length
The Purple Worm has no diameter size in it's description, it leaves a 10-foot-diameter tunnel in its wake.
It's gargantuan size and described as massive burrowing monster compressing and expanding its body so it's diameter could be larger than that.