So I made a lvl 20 fighter and gave them some fancy stuff cause they are level 20 at level 4 i gave them magic initiate cleric and gave them inflict wounds. I gave them a ring of spell storing so they could have after some time and work 6 uses of Inflict wounds. I know the ring says it uses the level of the spell as it was put in the ring but if it is the same spell could it be combined with others in the ring to increase the level if you wanted for example going up to a 5th lvl inflict wounds or 5th lvl magic missile (I have 1 level in arcana domain cleric)? or would that be a DM case by case discretion?
Official Rules? Pretty sure you can't. Your the DM and you want them to be able to do it? Go ahead and allow it.
I don't really see a problem with it, and it shouldn't really break anything - since any possible result would have a valid "official" spell storing combination as well.
Ring of spell storing totals up the levels of the spells put into it, allowing a total of 5. You could have five castings of magic missile at first level, one casting at fifth level, or a casting at third level plus two other first level spells.
There are no rules for combining spells within a ring, or combining spells in general
A bit off topic, but keep in mind also that spells are the level of the spell slot used to cast them. This means that a level 9 hexblade casts shield as a level 5 spell since those are the only slots they have. In this case, a single casting of the shield spell will fill the ring up even though shield can be cast as a level 1 spell. If you don't have the slots, you can't cast it at that level.
Also as mentioned, there is no mechanism for combining spells cast into the ring. Each is discrete, cast at the level of the spell slot used for the casting, and stored in the ring. Combining them would be a house rule. In addition, allowing spells to combine would provide a method of up-converting low level spell slots into high level ones. A level 2 character only has level 1 slots but if they could be combined in a ring they would be able to cast spells at 5th level.
A bit off topic, but keep in mind also that spells are the level of the spell slot used to cast them. This means that a level 9 hexblade casts shield as a level 5 spell since those are the only slots they have. In this case, a single casting of the shield spell will fill the ring up even though shield can be cast as a level 1 spell. If you don't have the slots, you can't cast it at that level.
Agreed. I played a warlock who had a Ring of Spell Storing once and I had other spell casters fill it up for me since I could only put one spell in it myself. To me it’s a weak item for a warlock.
Thanks guys. I kinda figured that combining the levels of the spells would not be possible, but I thought it would be neat if you could up-cast spells using the ring as I can only cast Inflict Wounds once per long rest, so it would take a while to get it up to a 5th lvl casting.
Part of the issue is the rules are not designed for your personal weaknesses, but for the strength of the most powerful build.
I would point out that a Ring of Spell Storing needs to be attuned to USE the spell, not to load a spell. So you can get a buddy to load the spell with anything they can cast - or pay someone to do the same.
Note, this rule does not apply to all types of spell storing. Spell Gems for example, work the opposite way.
So I made a lvl 20 fighter and gave them some fancy stuff cause they are level 20 at level 4 i gave them magic initiate cleric and gave them inflict wounds. I gave them a ring of spell storing so they could have after some time and work 6 uses of Inflict wounds. I know the ring says it uses the level of the spell as it was put in the ring but if it is the same spell could it be combined with others in the ring to increase the level if you wanted for example going up to a 5th lvl inflict wounds or 5th lvl magic missile (I have 1 level in arcana domain cleric)? or would that be a DM case by case discretion?
Official Rules? Pretty sure you can't. Your the DM and you want them to be able to do it? Go ahead and allow it.
I don't really see a problem with it, and it shouldn't really break anything - since any possible result would have a valid "official" spell storing combination as well.
Ring of spell storing totals up the levels of the spells put into it, allowing a total of 5. You could have five castings of magic missile at first level, one casting at fifth level, or a casting at third level plus two other first level spells.
There are no rules for combining spells within a ring, or combining spells in general
Find my D&D Beyond articles here
.
Guide to the Five Factions (PWYW)
Deck of Decks
A bit off topic, but keep in mind also that spells are the level of the spell slot used to cast them. This means that a level 9 hexblade casts shield as a level 5 spell since those are the only slots they have. In this case, a single casting of the shield spell will fill the ring up even though shield can be cast as a level 1 spell. If you don't have the slots, you can't cast it at that level.
Also as mentioned, there is no mechanism for combining spells cast into the ring. Each is discrete, cast at the level of the spell slot used for the casting, and stored in the ring. Combining them would be a house rule. In addition, allowing spells to combine would provide a method of up-converting low level spell slots into high level ones. A level 2 character only has level 1 slots but if they could be combined in a ring they would be able to cast spells at 5th level.
Agreed. I played a warlock who had a Ring of Spell Storing once and I had other spell casters fill it up for me since I could only put one spell in it myself. To me it’s a weak item for a warlock.
Professional computer geek
Thanks guys. I kinda figured that combining the levels of the spells would not be possible, but I thought it would be neat if you could up-cast spells using the ring as I can only cast Inflict Wounds once per long rest, so it would take a while to get it up to a 5th lvl casting.
Part of the issue is the rules are not designed for your personal weaknesses, but for the strength of the most powerful build.
I would point out that a Ring of Spell Storing needs to be attuned to USE the spell, not to load a spell. So you can get a buddy to load the spell with anything they can cast - or pay someone to do the same.
Note, this rule does not apply to all types of spell storing. Spell Gems for example, work the opposite way.
I would ask another party member to fill it with spells instead of putting a spell that you can cast yourself into it.
Absorb Elements, Feather Fall, Shield, Faerie Fire, and Healing Word are 5 great 1st level spells that you can load into it that are useful even to high level characters.
Professional computer geek