i have looked all over and cant get an answer to this question. Does an eldritch cannon (artificer) Make a save vs spells? For example Fireball allows creatures to make a save does the cannon make a save or just take full dmg from the spell? or is it a exception?
Since it's a magical object does it make the save or not?
Also the Eldritch Protector does gain the Temporary Hitpoints from itself if activated and at higher lvl ( lvl 15) all Cannons emit a 10 ft radius magical field that grant 1/2 cover wich adds a +2 to AC and Dex saves.
"At 3rd level, you learn how to create a magical cannon. Using woodcarver’s tools or smith’s tools, you can take an action to magically create a Small or Tiny eldritch cannon in an unoccupied space on a horizontal surface within 5 feet of you. A Small eldritch cannon occupies its space, and a Tiny one can be held in one hand.
Once you create a cannon, you can’t do so again until you finish a long rest or until you expend a spell slot of 1st level or higher. You can have only one cannon at a time and can’t create one while your cannon is present.
The cannon is a magical object. Regardless of size, the cannon has an AC of 18 and a number of hit points equal to five times your artificer level. It is immune to poison damage, psychic damage, and all conditions. If it is forced to make an ability check or a saving throw, treat all its ability scores as 10 (+0). If the mending spell is cast on it, it regains 2d6 hit points. It disappears if it is reduced to 0 hit points or after 1 hour. You can dismiss it early as an action.
When you create the cannon, you determine its appearance and whether it has legs. You also decide which type it is, choosing from the options on the Eldritch Cannons table. On each of your turns, you can take a bonus action to cause the cannon to activate if you are within 60 feet of it. As part of the same bonus action, you can direct the cannon to walk or climb up to 15 feet to an unoccupied space, provided it has legs."
The part you need to look at is in the Artificer Class features. I have highlighted it in red here. The cannon will need to roll saves if it is in the area of any area of effect spell. Including Fireball.
It is rare I comment (this is my first time) but is this right? The EC must use the 10 ability score if it is forced to make a saving throw. However, for fireball only ‘creatures’ are so forced. The cannon is not a creature it is a magical object.
The relevant information is here, in the third paragraph for the feature.
The cannon is a magical object. Regardless of size, the cannon has an AC of 18 and a number of hit points equal to five times your artificer level. It is immune to poison damage and psychic damage. If it is forced to make an ability check or a saving throw, treat all its ability scores as 10 (+0). If the mending spell is cast on it, it regains 2d6 hit points. It disappears if it is reduced to 0 hit points or after 1 hour. You can dismiss it early as an action.
As a magical object, the eldritch canon is governed by the rules for interacting with objects. Spells which don't say they affect objects won't affect the object, so something like fireball will only affect it if its flammable and unattended (i.e. not being held by the Artificer). Objects automatically fail Strength and Dexterity saving throws, and are immune to effects that require other saves. They're also immune to poison and psychic damage.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
i have looked all over and cant get an answer to this question. Does an eldritch cannon (artificer) Make a save vs spells? For example Fireball allows creatures to make a save does the cannon make a save or just take full dmg from the spell? or is it a exception?
Since it's a magical object does it make the save or not?
Here you go. So if saving against a Fireball, you would roll the D20 and add (+0) to the result.
Also the Eldritch Protector does gain the Temporary Hitpoints from itself if activated and at higher lvl ( lvl 15) all Cannons emit a 10 ft radius magical field that grant 1/2 cover wich adds a +2 to AC and Dex saves.
Eldritch Cannon
"At 3rd level, you learn how to create a magical cannon. Using woodcarver’s tools or smith’s tools, you can take an action to magically create a Small or Tiny eldritch cannon in an unoccupied space on a horizontal surface within 5 feet of you. A Small eldritch cannon occupies its space, and a Tiny one can be held in one hand.
Once you create a cannon, you can’t do so again until you finish a long rest or until you expend a spell slot of 1st level or higher. You can have only one cannon at a time and can’t create one while your cannon is present.
The cannon is a magical object. Regardless of size, the cannon has an AC of 18 and a number of hit points equal to five times your artificer level. It is immune to poison damage, psychic damage, and all conditions. If it is forced to make an ability check or a saving throw, treat all its ability scores as 10 (+0). If the mending spell is cast on it, it regains 2d6 hit points. It disappears if it is reduced to 0 hit points or after 1 hour. You can dismiss it early as an action.
When you create the cannon, you determine its appearance and whether it has legs. You also decide which type it is, choosing from the options on the Eldritch Cannons table. On each of your turns, you can take a bonus action to cause the cannon to activate if you are within 60 feet of it. As part of the same bonus action, you can direct the cannon to walk or climb up to 15 feet to an unoccupied space, provided it has legs."
The part you need to look at is in the Artificer Class features. I have highlighted it in red here. The cannon will need to roll saves if it is in the area of any area of effect spell. Including Fireball.
It is rare I comment (this is my first time) but is this right? The EC must use the 10 ability score if it is forced to make a saving throw. However, for fireball only ‘creatures’ are so forced. The cannon is not a creature it is a magical object.
The relevant information is here, in the third paragraph for the feature.
As a magical object, the eldritch canon is governed by the rules for interacting with objects. Spells which don't say they affect objects won't affect the object, so something like fireball will only affect it if its flammable and unattended (i.e. not being held by the Artificer). Objects automatically fail Strength and Dexterity saving throws, and are immune to effects that require other saves. They're also immune to poison and psychic damage.