So I’m in a group using the flanking rules and I showed my DM where the pub says opportunity attacks happen when leaving reach and he said thanks and ok the. The next session I circles a foe to flank with another PC and he said the foe got an opportunity attack on me. The only game he played in is with a DM that’s been doing this wrong. That DM is in our game and he said he’s been doing it wrong but this guy keeps changing it. That’s what really frustrates me. I don’t care what you decide just pick something and stick with it so I know how to play. I’m also a rules guy so specifically disregarding a rule with no reason other than you’ve been doing it that way (incorrectly as that DM admitted) in another game is a little frustrating too. What are y’all’s thoughts? I asked him to clear it up and tell me how we’ll be playing it and he won’t just make a decision. He says, “let me think about it and look at it” then never decides.
So I’m in a group using the flanking rules and I showed my DM where the pub says opportunity attacks happen when leaving reach and he said thanks and ok the. The next session I circles a foe to flank with another PC and he said the foe got an opportunity attack on me. The only game he played in is with a DM that’s been doing this wrong. That DM is in our game and he said he’s been doing it wrong but this guy keeps changing it. That’s what really frustrates me. I don’t care what you decide just pick something and stick with it so I know how to play. I’m also a rules guy so specifically disregarding a rule with no reason other than you’ve been doing it that way (incorrectly as that DM admitted) in another game is a little frustrating too. What are y’all’s thoughts? I asked him to clear it up and tell me how we’ll be playing it and he won’t just make a decision. He says, “let me think about it and look at it” then never decides.
Movement within a creature's reach does not provoke opportunity attacks; that's a concept from previous editions, not 5e. In 5e, opportunity attacks are provoked (via movement) when you move out of the creature's reach. I.e., moving within a creature's 5-ft (presumed) reach does not provoke an attack, but moving from outside of the creature's reach (moving from 5'-10') does provoke an attack.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
While that is correct the DM can make any house rule they like. If half way though a campaign it is brough to the attention that they have been applying oopportunity attacks incorrectly (RAW) then it is quite within the rights of the DM to say that he thinks it best if they continue to play the way everyone knows even if it is diffent to what is in the book.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
So I’m in a group using the flanking rules and I showed my DM where the pub says opportunity attacks happen when leaving reach and he said thanks and ok the. The next session I circles a foe to flank with another PC and he said the foe got an opportunity attack on me. The only game he played in is with a DM that’s been doing this wrong. That DM is in our game and he said he’s been doing it wrong but this guy keeps changing it. That’s what really frustrates me. I don’t care what you decide just pick something and stick with it so I know how to play. I’m also a rules guy so specifically disregarding a rule with no reason other than you’ve been doing it that way (incorrectly as that DM admitted) in another game is a little frustrating too. What are y’all’s thoughts? I asked him to clear it up and tell me how we’ll be playing it and he won’t just make a decision. He says, “let me think about it and look at it” then never decides.
Movement within a creature's reach does not provoke opportunity attacks; that's a concept from previous editions, not 5e. In 5e, opportunity attacks are provoked (via movement) when you move out of the creature's reach. I.e., moving within a creature's 5-ft (presumed) reach does not provoke an attack, but moving from outside of the creature's reach (moving from 5'-10') does provoke an attack.
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
While that is correct the DM can make any house rule they like. If half way though a campaign it is brough to the attention that they have been applying oopportunity attacks incorrectly (RAW) then it is quite within the rights of the DM to say that he thinks it best if they continue to play the way everyone knows even if it is diffent to what is in the book.