So I'm running a really high level one-shot, and one of my players has told me they plan on summoning 2 tarrasques just to see what happens. I plan on allowing it in theory, becuase our group is pretty casual. But I noted that the Gate Spell does not have a written size limit for what it could try to summon. I did see the gate is only 20 ft radius tho. Could someone summon something that is bigger than 20 ft through the gate?
If it were my game, I wouldn't allow it, but if you're okay with him doing it then go for it, I don't think there are any concrete rules saying it can't be done.
The description of a tarrasque says it is 50’ tall and 70’ long...based on the image I’d say it wouldn’t likely fit through the opening made by the gate spell.
the wording of the spell also strongly indicates you can only summon one creature per casting (“when you cast this spell” being the trigger for the singular summon)
but if you were the DM and allowed both of those things (the description also says that only one is believed to exist, but that shouldn’t limit you since it is deliberately ambiguous whether that is actually true), you also have to contend with the creatures actions...it is not under the command of the summoner and would very likely attack them or anyone else in the vicinity
tldr: it probably wouldnt work per RAW, but if you allow it the party probably has a heck of a fight on their hands
This sounds like the ultimate cock-fight. Gather every king and merchant in the land and get them all a flying carpet or skyship to watch the event with, and have them bet on which tarrasque they want to win. the party will make a killing!
For me the issue would be it's name. I thought of "Tarrasque" as more of a species name than the specific name of the creature (e.g "Bob the Tarrasque"), but I could easily see it the other way. Though if you are going to allow there to be two of them, then it leans more toward a species name than a specific name, I'd think.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
So I'm running a really high level one-shot, and one of my players has told me they plan on summoning 2 tarrasques just to see what happens. I plan on allowing it in theory, becuase our group is pretty casual. But I noted that the Gate Spell does not have a written size limit for what it could try to summon. I did see the gate is only 20 ft radius tho. Could someone summon something that is bigger than 20 ft through the gate?
If it were my game, I wouldn't allow it, but if you're okay with him doing it then go for it, I don't think there are any concrete rules saying it can't be done.
It's too big to fit and there's only one if you're not using spelljammer.
I have a weird sense of humor.
I also make maps.(That's a link)
The description of a tarrasque says it is 50’ tall and 70’ long...based on the image I’d say it wouldn’t likely fit through the opening made by the gate spell.
the wording of the spell also strongly indicates you can only summon one creature per casting (“when you cast this spell” being the trigger for the singular summon)
but if you were the DM and allowed both of those things (the description also says that only one is believed to exist, but that shouldn’t limit you since it is deliberately ambiguous whether that is actually true), you also have to contend with the creatures actions...it is not under the command of the summoner and would very likely attack them or anyone else in the vicinity
tldr: it probably wouldnt work per RAW, but if you allow it the party probably has a heck of a fight on their hands
This sounds like the ultimate cock-fight. Gather every king and merchant in the land and get them all a flying carpet or skyship to watch the event with, and have them bet on which tarrasque they want to win. the party will make a killing!
Make your Artificer work with any other class with 174 Multiclassing Feats for your Artificer Multiclass Character!
DM's Guild Releases on This Thread Or check them all out on DMs Guild!
DrivethruRPG Releases on This Thread - latest release: My Character is a Werewolf: balanced rules for Lycanthropy!
I have started discussing/reviewing 3rd party D&D content on Substack - stay tuned for semi-regular posts!
For me the issue would be it's name. I thought of "Tarrasque" as more of a species name than the specific name of the creature (e.g "Bob the Tarrasque"), but I could easily see it the other way. Though if you are going to allow there to be two of them, then it leans more toward a species name than a specific name, I'd think.