The timing is pretty cut and dry. "When you attack with this bite and hit a creature that isn’t a Construct or an Undead, you can empower yourself[.]"
The only puzzling thing is whether you get to see your damage roll before you decide. But you definitely don't spend the use if you miss.
Interesting question. It only says “when you attack” with your bite. The team who writes this stuff need to do a better job covering all bases, and at least try not to leave room for ambiguity.
When you attack and hit. Which is similar to for example paladins divine smite that says "when you hit a creature..." I'd rule that you get to see if you hit but you not how much damage you roll.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
When you attack and hit. Which is similar to for example paladins divine smite that says "when you hit a creature..." I'd rule that you get to see if you hit but you not how much damage you roll.