How are these bad faith questions? If you are in a forest while trying to cast this spell, chances are there going to be Tiny creatures within 15 feet of the caster. If you are in the 5 feet deep of ocean water, floating on the surface, there are likely Tiny creatures all around. If you are in such an environment and you interpret Anti-Life Shell to be cancelled as soon as you move into another creature's space ("If you move so that the shell is forced to pass through the barrier"), then you effectively cannot move at all while this spell is up unless you want to have your 5th level spell cancelled.
Because, obviously, if they're not being tracked on the board, they aren't relevant to the effects, and no one tracks wildlife in the kind of detail you're describing.
Are you sure? Who is "nobody"? If you are in the Feywild or Chult or well, many places that are not dungeons or generic caves, you are dealing the high probability of an environment that is substantially alive. Just b/c some DMs like using a module or dungeon crawl that fails to account for any but the most combat-centric or NPC-questy environment does that mean that all or most DMs would ignore this kind of thing.
Let's take another, more "game-ified" example. Cleric PC named Appletup casts Anti-Life Shell to protect themselves from a PC Barbarian named Bropdoze for whatever reason is going full on rage against Appletup, throwing javelins and stones. (And Appletup's debuff spells that day did not work vs. Bropdoze's dump stat.) There are only two exits from the room, one to the East and one to the West. The West exit Bropdoze is very much trying to block. NPC scout named Codeflip, whom the party Wizard had made invisible earlier is returning from scouting via the exit on the East side. Appletup tries to flee with Anti-Life Shell on, bumps into still invisible Codeflip. So you're saying that this automatically cancels Anti-Life Shell, correct? Is this fair to the PC for running into an invisible ally? I'm using this example b/c Invisibility is pretty common spell or effect in this game. The chances of a PC with Anti-Life Shell on while bumping into invisible NPCs or enemies at some point is actually fairly probable if they make it past 10th level. What if the invisible creature were actively antagonistic to the person who cast Anti-Life Shell. Is it fair that an Invisible creature with a high Stealth (kinda common) automatically cancel's the PC's 5th level spell just by hiding in the path of a fleeing PC, no saving throw allowed?
Here's another two quick and easy ways to dispel the 5th level spell, Anti-Life Shell, following the strict intrepretation re: 3rd paragraph ("If you move so that an affected creature is forced to pass through the barrier, the spell ends.") For simplicity's sake, we will use Appletup and Codeflip from the previous example:
* Appletup casts ALShell. Codeflip is visible, is outside of effect of the spell, standing due East of Appletup. Enemy caster uses Suggestion on Appletup: "Move next to that Rogue ally of yours." Appletup fails saving throw. Appletup tries to move to Codeflip's side. Anti-Life Shell is canceled. No saving throw. Suggestion is a 2nd level spell.
* Appletup casts ALShell. An invisible Quasit stands due East of Appletup, in front of the room's only exit. Enemy Cleric moves to position on Western side of the room, opposite of the Quasit. Enemy Cleric casts Command: If Appletup fails his save, he must move away, the ALShell bumps into the invisible Quasit, so the ALShell drops immediately. No chance to save on their precious 5th level spell. Completely unavoidable. Command is a 1st level spell.
And that, Ladies and Germs, is how to get rid of a 5th level spell with either a 1st or 2nd level spell slot. See how wonderful strict interpretation of spells is?
Here's another two quick and easy ways to dispel the 5th level spell, Anti-Life Shell, following the strict intrepretation re: 3rd paragraph ("If you move so that an affected creature is forced to pass through the barrier, the spell ends.") For simplicity's sake, we will use Appletup and Codeflip from the previous example:
* Appletup casts ALShell. Codeflip is visible, is outside of effect of the spell, standing due East of Appletup. Enemy caster uses Suggestion on Appletup: "Move next to that Rogue ally of yours." Appletup fails saving throw. Appletup tries to move to Codeflip's side. Anti-Life Shell is canceled. No saving throw. Suggestion is a 2nd level spell.
* Appletup casts ALShell. An invisible Quasit stands due East of Appletup, in front of the room's only exit. Enemy Cleric moves to position on Western side of the room, opposite of the Quasit. Enemy Cleric casts Command: "Flee!" Since Command has no saving throw, Appletup must move away, the ALShell bumps into the invisible Quasit, so the ALShell drops immediately. Again, no chance to save. Completely unavoidable. Command is a 1st level spell.
And that, Ladies and Germs, is how to get rid of a 5th level spell with either a 1st or 2nd level spell slot. See how wonderful strict interpretation of spells is?
You can literally get rid of any Concentration spell with Tasha's Hideous Laughter, so the existence of more convoluted and less effective options that only work on this specific spell isn't really a case for anything.
Here's another two quick and easy ways to dispel the 5th level spell, Anti-Life Shell, following the strict intrepretation re: 3rd paragraph ("If you move so that an affected creature is forced to pass through the barrier, the spell ends.") For simplicity's sake, we will use Appletup and Codeflip from the previous example:
* Appletup casts ALShell. Codeflip is visible, is outside of effect of the spell, standing due East of Appletup. Enemy caster uses Suggestion on Appletup: "Move next to that Rogue ally of yours." Appletup fails saving throw. Appletup tries to move to Codeflip's side. Anti-Life Shell is canceled. No saving throw. Suggestion is a 2nd level spell.
* Appletup casts ALShell. An invisible Quasit stands due East of Appletup, in front of the room's only exit. Enemy Cleric moves to position on Western side of the room, opposite of the Quasit. Enemy Cleric casts Command: "Flee!" Since Command has no saving throw, Appletup must move away, the ALShell bumps into the invisible Quasit, so the ALShell drops immediately. Again, no chance to save. Completely unavoidable. Command is a 1st level spell.
And that, Ladies and Germs, is how to get rid of a 5th level spell with either a 1st or 2nd level spell slot. See how wonderful strict interpretation of spells is?
You can literally get rid of any Concentration spell with Tasha's Hideous Laughter, so the existence of more convoluted and less effective options that only work on this specific spell isn't really a case for anything.
Command spell is 1st level. Verbal component only.
I noticed that you did not respond re: Invisible creatures in general and how easy it is for a caster with Anti-Life Shell to bump into such a creature. So that doesn't even necessarily need to spend a spell resource since PoChain Warlocks get options for invisible familiars from level 3. Not to mention how often Evil spellcasters have an Imp or Quasit familiar. Also not to mention the dozen or more higher CR monsters who either have the Invisibility spell or are just innately invisible whenever they feel like it.
Tasha's is an okay spell. I agree that it works equally well on a variety of concentration spells. It does, however, have three peculiarities:
1) its range is only 30 feet, so the caster needs to be pretty close to the ALShell's caster (minimum 10th level) to even make it work;
2) it's also a Concentration spell; therefore if the potential caster has another important Concen-necessary spell up, it's not ideal;
3) only Bards and Wizards can pick up that spell. HOWEVER, none of the default stat blocks of NPC casters have the spell. Neither the default Bard, the default Illusionist, the default Evoker, the default Transmuter, nor the default Abjurer. (Go ahead and check the NPC stat blocks on DDB.) IOW, it's the kind of spell that D&D game designers don't like giving to DMs to use on players. As such it does not fit into the Monster vs. PC-type of game example that you were talking about in your claim that "nobody" runs their forests, oceans, or other natural environments with much verisimilitude. It's the kind of shallow worldbuilding that mainly cares about helping players feel heroic despite the game world they are playing in itself feel more shallow. The type of DM who homebrews their spell casters to pick up actually useful control spells to unleash on the party are actually more likely to put Tiny beasties and mushroom and plant creatures onto a natural terrain map than the kind of DM who likes to run store-bought modules as-is because they care to make their spellcasters act like intelligent people that make sense for that fictional world, rather than just punching bags for the PCs so players feel good about themselves. So you're not really helping your case here.
Looking over the class features for my Grave Domain cleric and saw that she will get access to this spell, and so have been reading up on how it's used, and I'm a bit confused with some of the wording, so I'm hoping I can get some clarification here.
Here is the wording of the spell:
A shimmering barrier extends out from you in a 10-foot radius and moves with you, remaining centered on you and hedging out creatures other than undead and constructs. The barrier lasts for the duration.
The barrier prevents an affected creature from passing or reaching through. An affected creature can cast spells or make attacks with ranged or reach weapons through the barrier.
If you move so that an affected creature is forced to pass through the barrier, the spell ends.
So, am I correct in thinking that, while the spell is active and you have the bubble around you, if you move it will push creatures aside, unless they are positioned in such a way as it would force them to pass through the bubble, such as if they backed against a wall?
yes it will push creatures aside, unless they are trapped against a wall (for example) and cannot be "hedged" out of the way, then they would break the bubble and the spell would end. Assuming your party are creatures and not constructs or undead, they would also be "hedged" out of the bubble when you cast it. It only protects the caster from (-10ft) melee attacks
Looking over the class features for my Grave Domain cleric and saw that she will get access to this spell, and so have been reading up on how it's used, and I'm a bit confused with some of the wording, so I'm hoping I can get some clarification here.
Here is the wording of the spell:
A shimmering barrier extends out from you in a 10-foot radius and moves with you, remaining centered on you and hedging out creatures other than undead and constructs. The barrier lasts for the duration.
The barrier prevents an affected creature from passing or reaching through. An affected creature can cast spells or make attacks with ranged or reach weapons through the barrier.
If you move so that an affected creature is forced to pass through the barrier, the spell ends.
So, am I correct in thinking that, while the spell is active and you have the bubble around you, if you move it will push creatures aside, unless they are positioned in such a way as it would force them to pass through the bubble, such as if they backed against a wall?
yes it will push creatures aside, unless they are trapped against a wall (for example) and cannot be "hedged" out of the way, then they would break the bubble and the spell would end. Assuming your party are creatures and not constructs or undead, they would also be "hedged" out of the bubble when you cast it. It only protects the caster from (-10ft) melee attacks
reading the words of the description and utilizing the understanding that there is an expectation of understanding that common English means what it says. If you move into a creature that can be moved, it gets "hedged" out, if you move into a creature that cannot be moved then it is forced through the barrier breaking the spell. That is what is says, that is what it does.
reading the words of the description and utilizing the understanding that there is an expectation of understanding that common English means what it says. If you move into a creature that can be moved, it gets "hedged" out, if you move into a creature that cannot be moved then it is forced through the barrier breaking the spell. That is what is says, that is what it does.
There’s no mechanical language for moving a creature, though. You’re trying to twist the semantics of the description to produce an effect that’s not anywhere in the actual language of how the spell interacts with the field.
i disagree, "hedging out" is the language that gives the mechanics to move a creature. I would agree that they should of used a clearer expression, but (to me) it's clear enough.
Hedge = barrier.
It gives no saving throw, so the effect works unless a creature is forced to break it because it cannot move away.
However, if you're the DM at your table, play it as you read it
1) It states that the barrier extends from you once cast, this implies that the barrier passes through all squares between you and 10' from you.
2) It states that during this, the barrier hedges out any (meaningful) living creatures aside from constructs and undead. Native language understanding of the phrase "hedges out" means "pushes out" or "keeps on one side [Usually of a barrier]".
3) Since the barrier is EXTENDING from the caster, creatures it encounters are HEDGED OUT (moved) as the barrier extends out to 10'.
4) after this, if the caster MOVES (generally defined in the rules as uses it's own movement -- see: no op attack from forced movement) a check is made to see if the bubble would pass over a creature.
5) here, things get a bit sticky...in my interpretation, this would be an attempt to force a creature through the barrier and the bubble would fail, but I could also see an argument made where the creatures continue to be 'hedged out' until they're pushed up against a wall or something. I do not think that, RAI, the writers intended for you to be a hamster ball that could push enemies around the battlefield with this, so I have opted for the former interpretation of point (5).
Any thoughts on this? but as far as I can see, everything is pushed out to 10' upon casting then the caster has to be really careful of how they move.
EDIT: Taking this a step further along the lines of "the spell does what it says". The spell says the barrier *extends* for 10 feet in every direction. This means there is a 10' thick barrier (similar to a 10' thick wall), not a 1 atom thin barrier that appears 10' from the caster. In these circumstances everything would get 'hedged out' of the barrier when it's cast and then a check for creatures would be triggered on the caster's use of movement.
A hedge does not move things, it blocks them. Also, you're assuming the bubble expands outwards rather than descending from above like those shields in Phantom Menace. And, again, most importantly, you're calling for a mechanical effect that is not described anywhere in the actual written description of the spell. There are spells that create barriers that move creatures in the affected area, like Wall of Stone or Ice. They all say something along the lines of "any creature in the affected space is moved to the nearest empty space". Which appears nowhere in this spell's effect. Ergo, per RAW, the spell does not have the ability to force movement, because it would expressly say so if it did in terms like those Wall spells.
Also, you're blatantly misusing the definition of "extends". It is expressly describing the radius of the spell, not creating a 10 ft thick barrier.
A hedge does not move things, it blocks them. Also, you're assuming the bubble expands outwards rather than descending from above like those shields in Phantom Menace. And, again, most importantly, you're calling for a mechanical effect that is not described anywhere in the actual written description of the spell. There are spells that create barriers that move creatures in the affected area, like Wall of Stone or Ice. They all say something along the lines of "any creature in the affected space is moved to the nearest empty space". Which appears nowhere in this spell's effect. Ergo, per RAW, the spell does not have the ability to force movement, because it would expressly say so if it did in terms like those Wall spells.
Also, you're blatantly misusing the definition of "extends". It is expressly describing the radius of the spell, not creating a 10 ft thick barrier.
the barrier blocks instead of hedges? Idk that that meaningfully changes how the spell works.
“ A shimmering barrier extends out from you in a 10-foot radius and moves with you, remaining centered on you and BLOCKING out creatures other than undead and constructs. The barrier lasts for the duration. The barrier prevents an affected creature from passing or reaching through. An affected creature can cast spells or make attacks with ranged or reach weapons through the barrier. If you move so that an affected creature is forced to pass through the barrier, the spell ends.”
Let’s use the same language with people instead of a spell. Let’s say you’re walking and a group of people move with you and “hedge” out other people while they move to keep up with you. I’d imagine they would contribute to do so until they couldn’t “hedge” out people, perhaps if walking down a narrow hall with walls present?
If this spell included the language “any creature in the affected space is moved to the nearest empty space" it wouldn’t end you moved such that a creature is forced to pass through the barrier.
All of these posts, and no one has pointed out the obvious: FORCED
As in, the creature has nowhere else that it can go, other than through the barrier (such as being against a wall).
There is no wording for if a creature is -touching- the barrier, or if the barrier hits them. (Yes, it's badly worded) but the inclusion of 'forced' implies that there can be instances where creatures aren't being forced through.
Alright finally clarification from the forgotten realms fandom:
Antilife Shell
The area protected by this spell was a 10 ft (3 m) radius hemisphere centered on the caster and lasted almost two hours at a minimum (longer for higher level casters).[4][5][6][9] For the older version called anti-animal shell, the force field prevented entry of creatures that were at least partially animal. This included all humanoids, beasts, magical beasts, giants, vermin, and hybrids like cambions.[5][6][9] The newer version added more lifeforms such as aberrations, dragons, fey, monstrous humanoids, oozes, plants, and shapechangers to this list.[4] Creatures that were unaffected by this spell included aerial servants, imps, quasits, constructs (like golems), elementals, outsiders, or undead.[4][5][6][9] (See the Monster Manual for an explanation of creature types.) Like most abjuration spells, this one could not be used offensively to push a warded creature. Any such attempt resulted in the collapsing of the force field.[4][5][6][9] With the Second Sundering magic system lasting for a hour the caster had a 10 foot barrier to hedge living creature. The spell would end ifthe caster moved so that a creature would have to pass the barrier.[10]
So the shell only is to prevent/block/hedge creatures from entering. Whether or not the term "hedging out creatures" (blocking out) means pushing them out on initial cast, is up to the DM and all rules are just there as guidelines. As stated in the DMG introduction segment.
"The D&D rules help you and the other players have a good time, but the rules aren’t in charge. You’re the DM, and you are in charge of the game. That said, your goal isn’t to slaughter the adventurers but to create a campaign world that revolves around their actions and decisions, and to keep your players coming back for more! If you’re lucky, the events of your campaign will echo in the memories of your players long after the final game session is concluded."
Therefore let the DM/GM decide after all this is just a game, its meant to have fun, not some outlandish absurd court case on whether or not a spell or feat does or does not do!
Hey if a player is using their imagination and flavors it correctly why not let them have fun as long as they are not taking way any fun or ruining the fun of the other players let it be, why must we argue over something when the core concept is "imagination" "Storytelling" not some "Ace Attorney" at law game.
The way I read this, is affected creatures, which only happen to the creatures that are touched when the shell is created cannot pass unless the spell ends. Am I wrong?
Are you sure? Who is "nobody"? If you are in the Feywild or Chult or well, many places that are not dungeons or generic caves, you are dealing the high probability of an environment that is substantially alive. Just b/c some DMs like using a module or dungeon crawl that fails to account for any but the most combat-centric or NPC-questy environment does that mean that all or most DMs would ignore this kind of thing.
Let's take another, more "game-ified" example. Cleric PC named Appletup casts Anti-Life Shell to protect themselves from a PC Barbarian named Bropdoze for whatever reason is going full on rage against Appletup, throwing javelins and stones. (And Appletup's debuff spells that day did not work vs. Bropdoze's dump stat.) There are only two exits from the room, one to the East and one to the West. The West exit Bropdoze is very much trying to block. NPC scout named Codeflip, whom the party Wizard had made invisible earlier is returning from scouting via the exit on the East side. Appletup tries to flee with Anti-Life Shell on, bumps into still invisible Codeflip. So you're saying that this automatically cancels Anti-Life Shell, correct? Is this fair to the PC for running into an invisible ally? I'm using this example b/c Invisibility is pretty common spell or effect in this game. The chances of a PC with Anti-Life Shell on while bumping into invisible NPCs or enemies at some point is actually fairly probable if they make it past 10th level. What if the invisible creature were actively antagonistic to the person who cast Anti-Life Shell. Is it fair that an Invisible creature with a high Stealth (kinda common) automatically cancel's the PC's 5th level spell just by hiding in the path of a fleeing PC, no saving throw allowed?
Here's another two quick and easy ways to dispel the 5th level spell, Anti-Life Shell, following the strict intrepretation re: 3rd paragraph ("If you move so that an affected creature is forced to pass through the barrier, the spell ends.") For simplicity's sake, we will use Appletup and Codeflip from the previous example:
* Appletup casts ALShell. Codeflip is visible, is outside of effect of the spell, standing due East of Appletup. Enemy caster uses Suggestion on Appletup: "Move next to that Rogue ally of yours." Appletup fails saving throw. Appletup tries to move to Codeflip's side. Anti-Life Shell is canceled. No saving throw. Suggestion is a 2nd level spell.
* Appletup casts ALShell. An invisible Quasit stands due East of Appletup, in front of the room's only exit. Enemy Cleric moves to position on Western side of the room, opposite of the Quasit. Enemy Cleric casts Command: If Appletup fails his save, he must move away, the ALShell bumps into the invisible Quasit, so the ALShell drops immediately. No chance to save on their precious 5th level spell. Completely unavoidable. Command is a 1st level spell.
And that, Ladies and Germs, is how to get rid of a 5th level spell with either a 1st or 2nd level spell slot. See how wonderful strict interpretation of spells is?
You can literally get rid of any Concentration spell with Tasha's Hideous Laughter, so the existence of more convoluted and less effective options that only work on this specific spell isn't really a case for anything.
Command spell is 1st level. Verbal component only.
I noticed that you did not respond re: Invisible creatures in general and how easy it is for a caster with Anti-Life Shell to bump into such a creature. So that doesn't even necessarily need to spend a spell resource since PoChain Warlocks get options for invisible familiars from level 3. Not to mention how often Evil spellcasters have an Imp or Quasit familiar. Also not to mention the dozen or more higher CR monsters who either have the Invisibility spell or are just innately invisible whenever they feel like it.
Tasha's is an okay spell. I agree that it works equally well on a variety of concentration spells. It does, however, have three peculiarities:
1) its range is only 30 feet, so the caster needs to be pretty close to the ALShell's caster (minimum 10th level) to even make it work;
2) it's also a Concentration spell; therefore if the potential caster has another important Concen-necessary spell up, it's not ideal;
3) only Bards and Wizards can pick up that spell. HOWEVER, none of the default stat blocks of NPC casters have the spell. Neither the default Bard, the default Illusionist, the default Evoker, the default Transmuter, nor the default Abjurer. (Go ahead and check the NPC stat blocks on DDB.) IOW, it's the kind of spell that D&D game designers don't like giving to DMs to use on players. As such it does not fit into the Monster vs. PC-type of game example that you were talking about in your claim that "nobody" runs their forests, oceans, or other natural environments with much verisimilitude. It's the kind of shallow worldbuilding that mainly cares about helping players feel heroic despite the game world they are playing in itself feel more shallow. The type of DM who homebrews their spell casters to pick up actually useful control spells to unleash on the party are actually more likely to put Tiny beasties and mushroom and plant creatures onto a natural terrain map than the kind of DM who likes to run store-bought modules as-is because they care to make their spellcasters act like intelligent people that make sense for that fictional world, rather than just punching bags for the PCs so players feel good about themselves. So you're not really helping your case here.
yes it will push creatures aside, unless they are trapped against a wall (for example) and cannot be "hedged" out of the way, then they would break the bubble and the spell would end. Assuming your party are creatures and not constructs or undead, they would also be "hedged" out of the bubble when you cast it. It only protects the caster from (-10ft) melee attacks
Source?
reading the words of the description and utilizing the understanding that there is an expectation of understanding that common English means what it says. If you move into a creature that can be moved, it gets "hedged" out, if you move into a creature that cannot be moved then it is forced through the barrier breaking the spell. That is what is says, that is what it does.
There’s no mechanical language for moving a creature, though. You’re trying to twist the semantics of the description to produce an effect that’s not anywhere in the actual language of how the spell interacts with the field.
i disagree, "hedging out" is the language that gives the mechanics to move a creature. I would agree that they should of used a clearer expression, but (to me) it's clear enough.
Hedge = barrier.
It gives no saving throw, so the effect works unless a creature is forced to break it because it cannot move away.
However, if you're the DM at your table, play it as you read it
I'm with imalius on this one (mostly).
1) It states that the barrier extends from you once cast, this implies that the barrier passes through all squares between you and 10' from you.
2) It states that during this, the barrier hedges out any (meaningful) living creatures aside from constructs and undead. Native language understanding of the phrase "hedges out" means "pushes out" or "keeps on one side [Usually of a barrier]".
3) Since the barrier is EXTENDING from the caster, creatures it encounters are HEDGED OUT (moved) as the barrier extends out to 10'.
4) after this, if the caster MOVES (generally defined in the rules as uses it's own movement -- see: no op attack from forced movement) a check is made to see if the bubble would pass over a creature.
5) here, things get a bit sticky...in my interpretation, this would be an attempt to force a creature through the barrier and the bubble would fail, but I could also see an argument made where the creatures continue to be 'hedged out' until they're pushed up against a wall or something. I do not think that, RAI, the writers intended for you to be a hamster ball that could push enemies around the battlefield with this, so I have opted for the former interpretation of point (5).
Any thoughts on this? but as far as I can see, everything is pushed out to 10' upon casting then the caster has to be really careful of how they move.
EDIT: Taking this a step further along the lines of "the spell does what it says". The spell says the barrier *extends* for 10 feet in every direction. This means there is a 10' thick barrier (similar to a 10' thick wall), not a 1 atom thin barrier that appears 10' from the caster. In these circumstances everything would get 'hedged out' of the barrier when it's cast and then a check for creatures would be triggered on the caster's use of movement.
A hedge does not move things, it blocks them. Also, you're assuming the bubble expands outwards rather than descending from above like those shields in Phantom Menace. And, again, most importantly, you're calling for a mechanical effect that is not described anywhere in the actual written description of the spell. There are spells that create barriers that move creatures in the affected area, like Wall of Stone or Ice. They all say something along the lines of "any creature in the affected space is moved to the nearest empty space". Which appears nowhere in this spell's effect. Ergo, per RAW, the spell does not have the ability to force movement, because it would expressly say so if it did in terms like those Wall spells.
Also, you're blatantly misusing the definition of "extends". It is expressly describing the radius of the spell, not creating a 10 ft thick barrier.
the barrier blocks instead of hedges? Idk that that meaningfully changes how the spell works.
“ A shimmering barrier extends out from you in a 10-foot radius and moves with you, remaining centered on you and BLOCKING out creatures other than undead and constructs. The barrier lasts for the duration.
The barrier prevents an affected creature from passing or reaching through. An affected creature can cast spells or make attacks with ranged or reach weapons through the barrier.
If you move so that an affected creature is forced to pass through the barrier, the spell ends.”
Let’s use the same language with people instead of a spell. Let’s say you’re walking and a group of people move with you and “hedge” out other people while they move to keep up with you. I’d imagine they would contribute to do so until they couldn’t “hedge” out people, perhaps if walking down a narrow hall with walls present?
If this spell included the language “any creature in the affected space is moved to the nearest empty space" it wouldn’t end you moved such that a creature is forced to pass through the barrier.
All of these posts, and no one has pointed out the obvious: FORCED
As in, the creature has nowhere else that it can go, other than through the barrier (such as being against a wall).
There is no wording for if a creature is -touching- the barrier, or if the barrier hits them. (Yes, it's badly worded) but the inclusion of 'forced' implies that there can be instances where creatures aren't being forced through.
Alright finally clarification from the forgotten realms fandom:
Antilife Shell
The area protected by this spell was a 10 ft (3 m) radius hemisphere centered on the caster and lasted almost two hours at a minimum (longer for higher level casters).[4][5][6][9] For the older version called anti-animal shell, the force field prevented entry of creatures that were at least partially animal. This included all humanoids, beasts, magical beasts, giants, vermin, and hybrids like cambions.[5][6][9] The newer version added more lifeforms such as aberrations, dragons, fey, monstrous humanoids, oozes, plants, and shapechangers to this list.[4] Creatures that were unaffected by this spell included aerial servants, imps, quasits, constructs (like golems), elementals, outsiders, or undead.[4][5][6][9] (See the Monster Manual for an explanation of creature types.)
Like most abjuration spells, this one could not be used offensively to push a warded creature. Any such attempt resulted in the collapsing of the force field.[4][5][6][9]
With the Second Sundering magic system lasting for a hour the caster had a 10 foot barrier to hedge living creature. The spell would end if the caster moved so that a creature would have to pass the barrier.[10]
So the shell only is to prevent/block/hedge creatures from entering. Whether or not the term "hedging out creatures" (blocking out) means pushing them out on initial cast, is up to the DM and all rules are just there as guidelines. As stated in the DMG introduction segment.
"The D&D rules help you and the other players have a good time, but the rules aren’t in charge. You’re the DM, and you are in charge of the game. That said, your goal isn’t to slaughter the adventurers but to create a campaign world that revolves around their actions and decisions, and to keep your players coming back for more! If you’re lucky, the events of your campaign will echo in the memories of your players long after the final game session is concluded."
Therefore let the DM/GM decide after all this is just a game, its meant to have fun, not some outlandish absurd court case on whether or not a spell or feat does or does not do!
Hey if a player is using their imagination and flavors it correctly why not let them have fun as long as they are not taking way any fun or ruining the fun of the other players let it be, why must we argue over something when the core concept is "imagination" "Storytelling" not some "Ace Attorney" at law game.
i came here because i was confused as to what the "affected creatures" are. the language is very strange.
The way I read this, is affected creatures, which only happen to the creatures that are touched when the shell is created cannot pass unless the spell ends. Am I wrong?
As far as I can tell from the description is that affected creatures are any except undead and constructs.
EZD6 by DM Scotty
https://www.drivethrurpg.com/en/product/397599/EZD6-Core-Rulebook?