Quick question: The Samurai's Strength before Death says when you drop to 0 HP you can use your reaction to immediatly take a turn. Does this give a new reaction, as normally you regain it at the start of your turn?
Since it doesn't say otherwise it follows the normal rules for reactions; you regain your one and only reaction at the start of your turn, if you use it before being reduced to 0 hit-points then you have no reaction left to trigger Strength before Death with.
Interestingly because Strength before Death grants you a full, immediate turn once triggered, you will actually regain your reaction immediately, but this will only be useful to you if you can either trigger the reaction on your own turn somehow (there aren't many ways to do that) or if you use second wind to heal so you don't fall unconscious at the end of the turn. So it would look something like:
Take your turn as normal, regaining your 1 reaction (if you used it).
Enemy reduces you to 0 hit-points.
Use your reaction to trigger Strength before Death.
Take your immediate bonus turn, regaining your 1 reaction.
Use Second Wind, don't go unconscious, have 1 reaction remaining OR aren't able to heal, fall unconscious at the end of the turn
Not sure if that clears it up? It's a potentially very useful ability; personally as DM I wouldn't require the reaction for it, as it's an 18th-level, single use per long rest ability so requiring the reaction to trigger it feels excessive, but Rules As Written it's a requirement.
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.
Since it doesn't say otherwise it follows the normal rules for reactions; you regain your one and only reaction at the start of your turn, if you use it before being reduced to 0 hit-points then you have no reaction left to trigger Strength before Death with.
Interesting because Strength before Death grants you a full, immediate turn once triggered, you will actually regain your reaction immediately, but this will only be useful to you if you can either trigger the reaction on your own turn somehow (there aren't many ways to do that) or if you use second wind to heal so you don't fall unconscious at the end of the turn. So it would look something like:
Take your turn as normal, regaining your 1 reaction (if you used it).
Enemy reduces you to 0 hit-points.
Use your reaction to trigger Strength before Death.
Take your immediate bonus turn, regaining your 1 reaction.
Use Second Wind, don't go unconscious, have 1 reaction remaining OR aren't able to heal, fall unconscious at the end of the turn
Not sure if that clears it up? It's a potentially very useful ability; personally as DM I wouldn't require the reaction for it, as it's an 18th-level, single use per long rest ability so requiring the reaction to trigger it feels excessive, but Rules As Written it's a requirement.
A fun and totally silly way of using your brand new reaction is being a Half Orc with the Orcish Fury feat. You drop to 0 hp you use your reaction to activate Strength before Death. You do your normal business with your bonus turn and at the end of that turn you activate Relentless Endurance to drop to 1 hp instead and use your reaction to take another swing at your enemy lol.
A fun and totally silly way of using your brand new reaction is being a Half Orc with the Orcish Fury feat. You drop to 0 hp you use your reaction to activate Strength before Death. You do your normal business with your bonus turn and at the end of that turn you activate Relentless Endurance to drop to 1 hp instead and use your reaction to take another swing at your enemy lol.
Hmm, it's a fun idea but this might require some DM agreement; both abilities are triggered by dropping to 0, so you can't trigger Relentless Endurance during the extra turn from Strength before Death, however since Relentless Endurance doesn't require your reaction I believe you can trigger both at the same time (when you first drop to 0).
This would mean that the ordering is up to your DM though; if they choose to resolve Relentless Endurance first then you won't have a reaction left to also trigger Orcish Fury. However the wording of Strength before Death does say you immediately take an extra turn, which suggests it must go first, in which case yeah, Relentless Endurance would trigger second, by which time you have regained your reaction and can also trigger Orcish Fury?
A lot of moving parts on that one, heh, but it definitely could work if your DM is happy with it. 😄
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.
I stumbled upon this thread while also asking myself this exaxt same question. To me, the read is a bit ambigous. But here are my own two cents:
Since you regain your reaction at the start of your next turn and this reaction gives you a full new turn, I'd say it would give you a new reaction. My main reasoning is that it states "[...] you can immediately take an extra turn.". That means as soon as you use this reaction, you start your next turn. And for a Level 18 feature, I'd say not being able to use your reaction, an already highly limited action in combat, would highly lessen it. A wizard can cast a spell, that with DM approval, could turn them into a god, one level earlier. To me, getting another reaction is absolutely in line, powerwise.
What made me question this, is how it would work with stuff like relentless endurance and orcish fury. Its really powerful, but not too OP. You could trigger relentless endurance as soon as you get your new turn, that feature alone doesn't require anything. But could you delay dropping to 1 hitpoint and hitting as a reaction? Or would you need to use your reaction to get strength before death, then immediately use relentless endurance and then get your reaction to then hit someone? If so, it would be one hell of a combo for a last stand, befitting an half-orc. As a DM I'd allow it, but I do think there is a case to be made that it would work RAW.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Quick question: The Samurai's Strength before Death says when you drop to 0 HP you can use your reaction to immediatly take a turn. Does this give a new reaction, as normally you regain it at the start of your turn?
Olloray Dim - Limbo's Pit
Gunther Korroden - Nightmares in the Mist
Since it doesn't say otherwise it follows the normal rules for reactions; you regain your one and only reaction at the start of your turn, if you use it before being reduced to 0 hit-points then you have no reaction left to trigger Strength before Death with.
Interestingly because Strength before Death grants you a full, immediate turn once triggered, you will actually regain your reaction immediately, but this will only be useful to you if you can either trigger the reaction on your own turn somehow (there aren't many ways to do that) or if you use second wind to heal so you don't fall unconscious at the end of the turn. So it would look something like:
Not sure if that clears it up? It's a potentially very useful ability; personally as DM I wouldn't require the reaction for it, as it's an 18th-level, single use per long rest ability so requiring the reaction to trigger it feels excessive, but Rules As Written it's a requirement.
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.
A fun and totally silly way of using your brand new reaction is being a Half Orc with the Orcish Fury feat. You drop to 0 hp you use your reaction to activate Strength before Death. You do your normal business with your bonus turn and at the end of that turn you activate Relentless Endurance to drop to 1 hp instead and use your reaction to take another swing at your enemy lol.
Hmm, it's a fun idea but this might require some DM agreement; both abilities are triggered by dropping to 0, so you can't trigger Relentless Endurance during the extra turn from Strength before Death, however since Relentless Endurance doesn't require your reaction I believe you can trigger both at the same time (when you first drop to 0).
This would mean that the ordering is up to your DM though; if they choose to resolve Relentless Endurance first then you won't have a reaction left to also trigger Orcish Fury. However the wording of Strength before Death does say you immediately take an extra turn, which suggests it must go first, in which case yeah, Relentless Endurance would trigger second, by which time you have regained your reaction and can also trigger Orcish Fury?
A lot of moving parts on that one, heh, but it definitely could work if your DM is happy with it. 😄
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.
I stumbled upon this thread while also asking myself this exaxt same question. To me, the read is a bit ambigous. But here are my own two cents:
Since you regain your reaction at the start of your next turn and this reaction gives you a full new turn, I'd say it would give you a new reaction. My main reasoning is that it states "[...] you can immediately take an extra turn.". That means as soon as you use this reaction, you start your next turn. And for a Level 18 feature, I'd say not being able to use your reaction, an already highly limited action in combat, would highly lessen it. A wizard can cast a spell, that with DM approval, could turn them into a god, one level earlier. To me, getting another reaction is absolutely in line, powerwise.
What made me question this, is how it would work with stuff like relentless endurance and orcish fury. Its really powerful, but not too OP. You could trigger relentless endurance as soon as you get your new turn, that feature alone doesn't require anything. But could you delay dropping to 1 hitpoint and hitting as a reaction? Or would you need to use your reaction to get strength before death, then immediately use relentless endurance and then get your reaction to then hit someone? If so, it would be one hell of a combo for a last stand, befitting an half-orc. As a DM I'd allow it, but I do think there is a case to be made that it would work RAW.