so i play a eldritch knight/war cleric. I took find familiar (owl)
our dm has familiar take its turn with us and is using flanking rules. so is this a legit use of my turn?
I move into melee range of enemy, move owl to opposite to flank. i cast/attack with spirit weapon and use attack action(@lvl5 i get 2 attacks) All three attacks get advantage thanks to flanking rules then owl takes dodge action and flies away(no opportunity from fly-by) until my next turn owl is dodging so everything gets disadvantage against it. on my next turn i do it all again, getting 3 advantage attacks for free every turn until the owl dies....
your 2 attacks are with advantage due to flanking... the spiritual weapon is not alive and neither gets advantage from flanking or can provide it to anyone
That's not quite the rule. If you, the attacker, are flanking your target, and you're making a melee attack against that target, regardless of the origin point of that melee attack, you get advantage. It's one of the weird quirks of Spiritual Weapon. It's all about the position of the attacker, not the origin point of the attack. Another one is that, if you're at a distance from a prone target and you move the SW over to smack them, you have disadvantage on that attack. Odd. Or check this out: if you're restrained, your SW attacks have disadvantage.
Here's an initiative result though: If you move the SW around a corner to hit someone you can't see, you have disadvantage.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
so i play a eldritch knight/war cleric. I took find familiar (owl)
our dm has familiar take its turn with us and is using flanking rules. so is this a legit use of my turn?
I move into melee range of enemy, move owl to opposite to flank. i cast/attack with spirit weapon and use attack action(@lvl5 i get 2 attacks) All three attacks get advantage thanks to flanking rules then owl takes dodge action and flies away(no opportunity from fly-by) until my next turn owl is dodging so everything gets disadvantage against it. on my next turn i do it all again, getting 3 advantage attacks for free every turn until the owl dies....
is this correct or did i read something wrong?
That's not quite the rule. If you, the attacker, are flanking your target, and you're making a melee attack against that target, regardless of the origin point of that melee attack, you get advantage. It's one of the weird quirks of Spiritual Weapon. It's all about the position of the attacker, not the origin point of the attack. Another one is that, if you're at a distance from a prone target and you move the SW over to smack them, you have disadvantage on that attack. Odd. Or check this out: if you're restrained, your SW attacks have disadvantage.
Here's an initiative result though: If you move the SW around a corner to hit someone you can't see, you have disadvantage.