At our most recent game session a wizard cast Animate Objects (1 action, requires concentration) then on the next round they wanted to cast Lightning Bolt (1 action, concentration not required). So the question was asked "does Animate Objects drop due to clause 1 of the Factors That Can Break Concentration list? (pg 203 PHB)
This says "Casting another spell that requires concetration. You lose concentration on a spell if you cast another spell that requires concentration. You can't concentrate on two spells at once." Lightning Bolt doesn't require concentration. So by this text you could do this.
But this situation would still be goverend by the action economy right? Wouldn't the "cast a spell" action be needed to maintain concentration on the Animate Objects spell.
If not then what would stop this from happening? Since Lightning Bolt also requires one "cast a spell" action the wizard can not perform 2 spells that require 1 action each during their turn.
I'd appreciate any clarifications you're willing to provide.
You do not need to do anything (like use your action) to maintain concentration. So the example you stated was correct. The wizard can cast animate object, then lightning bolt on their next turn.
And since the description of animate object says it takes a bonus action to command the animated objects, then the wizard can do that as well: cast lightning bolt, then use their bonus action to command the animated objects to do something.
What the wizard could not do, is cast another spell which requires concentration. For example, if they cast fly, the instant they begin casting it, animate object would drop. Though even then, since you can take your actions in any order, they could order the objects to do something as a bonus action, then cast fly, at which point animate objects would drop.
Wouldn't the "cast a spell" action be needed to maintain concentration on the Animate Objects spell.
The Cast a Spell action is for casting spells, not simply maintaining concentration on them. In your example, Animate Object was cast last round, so it has no impact on your action economy on subsequent rounds.
When you maintain concentration on a spell, you aren't re-casting it every round. You only cast it once, then it has a lingering effect as long as you keep concentrating.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Active characters:
Edoumiaond Willegume "Eddie" Podslee, Vegetanian scholar (College of Spirits bard) Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric) Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator (Assassin rogue) Peter "the Pied Piper" Hausler, human con artist/remover of vermin (Circle of the Shepherd druid) Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
Wouldn't the "cast a spell" action be needed to maintain concentration on the Animate Objects spell.
The Cast a Spell action is for casting spells, not simply maintaining concentration on them. In your example, Animate Object was cast last round, so it has no impact on your action economy on subsequent rounds.
When you maintain concentration on a spell, you aren't re-casting it every round. You only cast it once, then it has a lingering effect as long as you keep concentrating.
Anton is correct.
To take this a step further? Lets say you cast Animate Objects and tell it to defend a room from any who enters other than you. So on turn one, you cast a spell using an action. Turn two, you could potentially cast Spiritual Weapon, which is a Bonus Action and requires no concentration. Your animated objects have a command, so they will do that until either the spell ends or you lose concentration, and now you are casting a second spell which has an ongoing effect that does not require concentration. You could then cast Fire Bolt on that same 2nd turn while there are two spells going because only one of them has a concentration clause, and none of them state they go away when another spell is cast.
I think your misunderstanding, OP, is that maintaining concentration on a spell doesn't require an action unless the spell very specifically states it does
It was once described in a thread to think of concentration as something physical, to illustrate. If concentration is to hold your index finger touching your thumb with your left hand, what else can you do while still maintaining that? It's kind of automatic, so you don't need to use focused thought (Action) of even really think much about it (Bonus Action) so doing this, and maintaining concentration is overall pretty simple. You can cast spells, swing a weapon, move around, all kinds of stuff. If you cast a new concentration spell, however, you need to open the fingers, then reclasp, to set it in place, meaning you immediately lose the first concentration bit.
I find the imagery kind of helpful too in remembering when concentration checks might come due, lol. Big hit, falling down, etc.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Talk to your Players.Talk to your DM. If more people used this advice, there would be 24.74% fewer threads on Tactics, Rules and DM discussions.
Hello
At our most recent game session a wizard cast Animate Objects (1 action, requires concentration) then on the next round they wanted to cast Lightning Bolt (1 action, concentration not required). So the question was asked "does Animate Objects drop due to clause 1 of the Factors That Can Break Concentration list? (pg 203 PHB)
This says "Casting another spell that requires concetration. You lose concentration on a spell if you cast another spell that requires concentration. You can't concentrate on two spells at once." Lightning Bolt doesn't require concentration. So by this text you could do this.
But this situation would still be goverend by the action economy right? Wouldn't the "cast a spell" action be needed to maintain concentration on the Animate Objects spell.
If not then what would stop this from happening? Since Lightning Bolt also requires one "cast a spell" action the wizard can not perform 2 spells that require 1 action each during their turn.
I'd appreciate any clarifications you're willing to provide.
You do not need to do anything (like use your action) to maintain concentration. So the example you stated was correct. The wizard can cast animate object, then lightning bolt on their next turn.
And since the description of animate object says it takes a bonus action to command the animated objects, then the wizard can do that as well: cast lightning bolt, then use their bonus action to command the animated objects to do something.
What the wizard could not do, is cast another spell which requires concentration. For example, if they cast fly, the instant they begin casting it, animate object would drop. Though even then, since you can take your actions in any order, they could order the objects to do something as a bonus action, then cast fly, at which point animate objects would drop.
The Cast a Spell action is for casting spells, not simply maintaining concentration on them. In your example, Animate Object was cast last round, so it has no impact on your action economy on subsequent rounds.
When you maintain concentration on a spell, you aren't re-casting it every round. You only cast it once, then it has a lingering effect as long as you keep concentrating.
Active characters:
Edoumiaond Willegume "Eddie" Podslee, Vegetanian scholar (College of Spirits bard)
Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric)
Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator (Assassin rogue)
Peter "the Pied Piper" Hausler, human con artist/remover of vermin (Circle of the Shepherd druid)
Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
Anton is correct.
To take this a step further? Lets say you cast Animate Objects and tell it to defend a room from any who enters other than you. So on turn one, you cast a spell using an action. Turn two, you could potentially cast Spiritual Weapon, which is a Bonus Action and requires no concentration. Your animated objects have a command, so they will do that until either the spell ends or you lose concentration, and now you are casting a second spell which has an ongoing effect that does not require concentration. You could then cast Fire Bolt on that same 2nd turn while there are two spells going because only one of them has a concentration clause, and none of them state they go away when another spell is cast.
I think your misunderstanding, OP, is that maintaining concentration on a spell doesn't require an action unless the spell very specifically states it does
It was once described in a thread to think of concentration as something physical, to illustrate. If concentration is to hold your index finger touching your thumb with your left hand, what else can you do while still maintaining that? It's kind of automatic, so you don't need to use focused thought (Action) of even really think much about it (Bonus Action) so doing this, and maintaining concentration is overall pretty simple. You can cast spells, swing a weapon, move around, all kinds of stuff. If you cast a new concentration spell, however, you need to open the fingers, then reclasp, to set it in place, meaning you immediately lose the first concentration bit.
I find the imagery kind of helpful too in remembering when concentration checks might come due, lol. Big hit, falling down, etc.
Talk to your Players. Talk to your DM. If more people used this advice, there would be 24.74% fewer threads on Tactics, Rules and DM discussions.
thanks for the clarifications everyone.