Previous editions (3.x, at least) had special rules for touch attacks and touch AC. Fifth Edition does not. If you're using a spell or ability that's actually described by official rules and it does not specify an attack roll or saving throw is involved then if you can reach it you can touch it. If it does specify a roll (such as the spell inflict wounds, for example) then you make the rolls instructed.
Commonplace actions that are not performed under some sort of duress normally wouldn't even call for a roll. Trying to do this as part of an attack in combat has special rules, but generally you just say you do it and it happens.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Canto alla vita alla sua bellezza ad ogni sua ferita ogni sua carezza!
I sing to life and to its tragic beauty To pain and to strife, but all that dances through me The rise and the fall, I've lived through it all!
This ring stores Spells cast into it, holding them until the attuned wearer uses them. The ring can store up to 5 levels worth of Spells at a time. When found, it contains 1d6 - 1 levels of stored Spells chosen by the DM.
Any creature can Cast a Spell of 1st through 5th Level into the ring by touching the ring as the spell is cast. The spell has no Effect, other than to be stored in the ring. If the ring can't hold the spell, the spell is expended without Effect. The level of the slot used to cast the spell determines how much space it uses.
While wearing this ring, you can cast any spell stored in it. The spell uses the slot level, spell save DC, spell Attack bonus, and Spellcasting ability of the original caster, but is otherwise treated as if you cast the spell. The spell cast from the ring is no longer stored in it, freeing up space.
I'm using it as a counter spell to touch a rival spellcaster and just expend it without Effect.
Oh, that's clever! But you're trying to use it like a Rod of Absorption and I'm not sure I would allow that. You're basically trying to make them use the ring, which is designed to be used willingly, against their will. For your cleverness I would probably allow it to work ... once. And then it would have an adverse effect on your ring.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Canto alla vita alla sua bellezza ad ogni sua ferita ogni sua carezza!
I sing to life and to its tragic beauty To pain and to strife, but all that dances through me The rise and the fall, I've lived through it all!
That'd be up to the DM how to handle it, but it's a lot more specifically targeted than just a simple "Touch" like you'd use for casting a touch spell, since you're effectively trying to cause the opponent to touch the ring with their hand, so it's a bit like a "called shot" as it were. The DM may well not allow it since the opponent isn't willingly touching the ring.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Helpful rewriter of Japanese->English translation and delver into software codebases (she/e/they)
I'm using it as a counter spell to touch a rival spellcaster and just expend it without Effect.
You are unlikely to be able to have a rival spellcaster cast a spell into your Ring of Spell Storing unless you were already touching it before as its not your turn. It might be otherwise possible if the spell has a longer casting time or if you took a Ready Action to perform the touch as a reaction before the spellcasting occured. In any case, i think it should require a roll of some sort, i would probably ask for an unarmed strike.
Also, the wording is "any creature canCast a Spell of 1st through 5th Level into the ring by touching the ring as the spell is cast." so the person you're trying to use it against will simply decide NOT to cast the spell into the ring.
It requires attunement, meaning it only works for one person and is impossible for another person to cast a spell into it even if they wanted to.
Additionally it isn't a black hole of magic that just sucks in any spell cast by someone in contact with it or the wearer would never be able to cast a spell normally without taking it off.
It requires attunement, meaning it only works for one person and is impossible for another person to cast a spell into it even if they wanted to.
Except that literally is its purpose: "Any creature can Cast a Spell of 1st through 5th Level into the ring by touching the ring as the spell is cast." That's the whole point, to give your martial fighter a spell or two. It technically RAW can't do these other things the person wants it to do (though a DM might allow it, as others have said), but it very much can have spells cast by someone other than the wearer stored in it.
It requires attunement, meaning it only works for one person and is impossible for another person to cast a spell into it even if they wanted to.
Except that literally is its purpose: "Any creature can Cast a Spell of 1st through 5th Level into the ring by touching the ring as the spell is cast." That's the whole point, to give your martial fighter a spell or two. It technically RAW can't do these other things the person wants it to do (though a DM might allow it, as others have said), but it very much can have spells cast by someone other than the wearer stored in it.
Yeah, the attunement is for casting any stored spells. It doesn't restrict who can store them. The description even emphasizes that:
This ring stores spells cast into it, holding them until the attuned wearer uses them.
Any creature can cast a spell of 1st through 5th level into the ring by touching the ring as the spell is cast.
Now, I'm not sure as a DM I'd let someone wearing the ring do what OP wanted to do with it -- I mean, how could you ever cast identify on one if it just sucked up every spell cast when touching it? For that matter, how could the wearer cast anything at all? -- but maaaaaybe in the exact right circumstances I'd let it work, i.e. someone's coming after you with an inflict wounds or other touch spell and you make a Sleight of Hand check to get them to touch the ring specifically and not just your hand
But just, like, shut down a fireball or something? Nah
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock) Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric) Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue) Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
I could see this working, but it would likely require a Deception roll. As the RAI is clearly that the spell-to-be-stored must be put there intentionally, you would need to convince the enemy spellcaster that the aforementioned Ring is a not a Ring of Spell Storing. In fact, it's probably better to disguise it somehow so that it does not look like a ring, then either fool the rival spellcaster into some kind of contest or convince them that casting their spell on your "definitely-not-a-ring-i-swear" object is actually necessary to save something they deem precious. IOW, you probably want a party member with high Charisma and Deception skill to try this trick in order to have a decent chance at pulling this off.
You are intimately aware of how the Ring of Spell Storing works.
If the creature would be unwilling to let you reach out and hold their hand, then you'll need to make an unarmed attack roll to touch it. This will cost you an action, just as it would if you wanted to grab hold of their hood (a grapple), or slap them in the face (an unarmed attack).
Since there is no need for them to maintain contact, on a successful hit, the creature has the option of using their reaction to end the contact.
Assuming the creature allows the contact, you need to use another action to cast a spell into the wring. This could be a Bonus Action, or you could generate another action using Action Surge, or they might not move their hand away, enabling you to do it on your next turn.
Assuming all of the above takes place, counterspell is then stored in the ring, assuming it has enough empty slots.
The creature attuned to the ring can now cast counterspell from the ring.
It says you cast the spell into the ring. Most spells require a “target” creature, object, point in space. If the enemy caster is targeting a PC they are not casting it into the ring no matter if they are touching it or not.
If the caster chooses to target the ring fine, if not you can’t force them to cast into the ring.
It says you cast the spell into the ring. Most spells require a “target” creature, object, point in space. If the enemy caster is targeting a PC they are not casting it into the ring no matter if they are touching it or not.
If the caster chooses to target the ring fine, if not you can’t force them to cast into the ring.
At least that’s my take on it.
Yeah, it's not a Rod of Absorption and really shouldn't be allowed to function as one.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Find your own truth, choose your enemies carefully, and never deal with a dragon.
"Canon" is what's factual to D&D lore. "Cannon" is what you're going to be shot with if you keep getting the word wrong.
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
my character just wants to reach out and touch another creature what would i roll and what action would i use if any?
Previous editions (3.x, at least) had special rules for touch attacks and touch AC. Fifth Edition does not. If you're using a spell or ability that's actually described by official rules and it does not specify an attack roll or saving throw is involved then if you can reach it you can touch it. If it does specify a roll (such as the spell inflict wounds, for example) then you make the rolls instructed.
Commonplace actions that are not performed under some sort of duress normally wouldn't even call for a roll. Trying to do this as part of an attack in combat has special rules, but generally you just say you do it and it happens.
Canto alla vita
alla sua bellezza
ad ogni sua ferita
ogni sua carezza!
I sing to life and to its tragic beauty
To pain and to strife, but all that dances through me
The rise and the fall, I've lived through it all!
im trying to touch someone with a ring of spell storing,
Ring of Spell Storing
This ring stores Spells cast into it, holding them until the attuned wearer uses them. The ring can store up to 5 levels worth of Spells at a time. When found, it contains 1d6 - 1 levels of stored Spells chosen by the DM.
Any creature can Cast a Spell of 1st through 5th Level into the ring by touching the ring as the spell is cast. The spell has no Effect, other than to be stored in the ring. If the ring can't hold the spell, the spell is expended without Effect. The level of the slot used to cast the spell determines how much space it uses.
While wearing this ring, you can cast any spell stored in it. The spell uses the slot level, spell save DC, spell Attack bonus, and Spellcasting ability of the original caster, but is otherwise treated as if you cast the spell. The spell cast from the ring is no longer stored in it, freeing up space.
I'm using it as a counter spell to touch a rival spellcaster and just expend it without Effect.
Oh, that's clever! But you're trying to use it like a Rod of Absorption and I'm not sure I would allow that. You're basically trying to make them use the ring, which is designed to be used willingly, against their will. For your cleverness I would probably allow it to work ... once. And then it would have an adverse effect on your ring.
Canto alla vita
alla sua bellezza
ad ogni sua ferita
ogni sua carezza!
I sing to life and to its tragic beauty
To pain and to strife, but all that dances through me
The rise and the fall, I've lived through it all!
If they are an enemy and this is combat I would have you make a Grapple attempt: https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/basic-rules/combat#Grappling
Canto alla vita
alla sua bellezza
ad ogni sua ferita
ogni sua carezza!
I sing to life and to its tragic beauty
To pain and to strife, but all that dances through me
The rise and the fall, I've lived through it all!
That'd be up to the DM how to handle it, but it's a lot more specifically targeted than just a simple "Touch" like you'd use for casting a touch spell, since you're effectively trying to cause the opponent to touch the ring with their hand, so it's a bit like a "called shot" as it were. The DM may well not allow it since the opponent isn't willingly touching the ring.
Helpful rewriter of Japanese->English translation and delver into software codebases (she/e/they)
You are unlikely to be able to have a rival spellcaster cast a spell into your Ring of Spell Storing unless you were already touching it before as its not your turn. It might be otherwise possible if the spell has a longer casting time or if you took a Ready Action to perform the touch as a reaction before the spellcasting occured. In any case, i think it should require a roll of some sort, i would probably ask for an unarmed strike.
Also, the wording is "any creature can Cast a Spell of 1st through 5th Level into the ring by touching the ring as the spell is cast." so the person you're trying to use it against will simply decide NOT to cast the spell into the ring.
That's not how a Ring of Spell Storing works.
It requires attunement, meaning it only works for one person and is impossible for another person to cast a spell into it even if they wanted to.
Additionally it isn't a black hole of magic that just sucks in any spell cast by someone in contact with it or the wearer would never be able to cast a spell normally without taking it off.
Except that literally is its purpose: "Any creature can Cast a Spell of 1st through 5th Level into the ring by touching the ring as the spell is cast." That's the whole point, to give your martial fighter a spell or two. It technically RAW can't do these other things the person wants it to do (though a DM might allow it, as others have said), but it very much can have spells cast by someone other than the wearer stored in it.
Birgit | Shifter | Sorcerer | Dragonlords
Shayone | Hobgoblin | Sorcerer | Netherdeep
Yeah, the attunement is for casting any stored spells. It doesn't restrict who can store them. The description even emphasizes that:
Now, I'm not sure as a DM I'd let someone wearing the ring do what OP wanted to do with it -- I mean, how could you ever cast identify on one if it just sucked up every spell cast when touching it? For that matter, how could the wearer cast anything at all? -- but maaaaaybe in the exact right circumstances I'd let it work, i.e. someone's coming after you with an inflict wounds or other touch spell and you make a Sleight of Hand check to get them to touch the ring specifically and not just your hand
But just, like, shut down a fireball or something? Nah
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock)
Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric)
Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue)
Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
Its not a rod of absorption.
So I would rule that the caster would have to willingly touch the ring and just the ring. He must direct the spell into the ring.
I could see this working, but it would likely require a Deception roll. As the RAI is clearly that the spell-to-be-stored must be put there intentionally, you would need to convince the enemy spellcaster that the aforementioned Ring is a not a Ring of Spell Storing. In fact, it's probably better to disguise it somehow so that it does not look like a ring, then either fool the rival spellcaster into some kind of contest or convince them that casting their spell on your "definitely-not-a-ring-i-swear" object is actually necessary to save something they deem precious. IOW, you probably want a party member with high Charisma and Deception skill to try this trick in order to have a decent chance at pulling this off.
I'd require the following:
It says you cast the spell into the ring. Most spells require a “target” creature, object, point in space. If the enemy caster is targeting a PC they are not casting it into the ring no matter if they are touching it or not.
If the caster chooses to target the ring fine, if not you can’t force them to cast into the ring.
At least that’s my take on it.
EZD6 by DM Scotty
https://www.drivethrurpg.com/en/product/397599/EZD6-Core-Rulebook?
Yeah, it's not a Rod of Absorption and really shouldn't be allowed to function as one.
Find your own truth, choose your enemies carefully, and never deal with a dragon.
"Canon" is what's factual to D&D lore. "Cannon" is what you're going to be shot with if you keep getting the word wrong.