You can also use your movement between actions, bonus actions, and reactions you take on your turn. See Breaking Up Your Move.
Sure, but Flurry of Blows is a single bonus action that allows multiple attacks. The rules do not explicitly allow moving within a single bonus action, only within an Attack action or between actions.
That said, that restriction seems pretty silly to me and I generally don't enforce it while I'm DMing.
Can a monk using Flurry of Blows hit one target, then move and use the second attack on a different target?
It would defeat the purpose ofmoving’ between flurries. That makes no sense. But what would be allowed is if 2 creatures were within reach, you could divide the 2, one each, without moving. Like an old Bruce Lee movie, with multiple attackers.
with 2024 rules you FOB, first, move, attack, move again, attack (if 5th level extra attack). Or combo it with hold action, waiting for x to go, move, attack.
but to move during FOB, would defeat the whole meaning of the bonus action.
You can also use your movement between actions, bonus actions, and reactions you take on your turn. See Breaking Up Your Move.
Sure, but Flurry of Blows is a single bonus action that allows multiple attacks. The rules do not explicitly allow moving within a single bonus action, only within an Attack action or between actions.
That said, that restriction seems pretty silly to me and I generally don't enforce it while I'm DMing.
I am aware. jl8e already answered that aspect, I was just completing the picture by adding that you can also move before and after actions during your turn.
I was researching information about the movement allowed between the Extra Attack and the bonus attacks granted by FoB when I came across this valuable insight. Thanks a lot.
I believe it's more fitting to incorporate here my research and the example at the end rather than initiating a new post.
Recently, I stumbled upon this Tweet from Jeremy Crawford (2018):
Question: Can a monk move between the hits of Flurry of Blows?
Answer: Whenever you take an action that includes more than one weapon attack, you can move between those attacks if you have enough movement to do so. This rule applies to bonus actions, which are a type of action, and to unarmed strikes, which are weapon attacks.
So, taking also into account this Tweet from him (2017): "Flurry of Blows happens after the Attack action, not after attacks within that action.", and including the Extra Attack feature, this could be a flow of actions:
Movement (optional)
1st attack in Attack action
Movement (optional)
2nd attack in Attack action
Movement (optional)
Spend 1 ki point and...
1st attack in FoB
Movement (optional)
2nd attack in FoB
Movement (optional)
I know the tweets are no longer considered official, but as far as I saw, those weren't included in Sage Advice (unfortunally)
This quote from the esteemed TarodNet includes references to Jeremy Crawford tweets from the 2014 thread that may be relevant for RAI.
Can a monk using Flurry of Blows hit one target, then move and use the second attack on a different target?
You don't have to hit the same target, but you aren't allowed to move between FoB attacks.
The rules permit moving between attacks, but only if they're part of the Attack Action. Since FoB is a bonus action, it does not have that special dispensation.
But your GM might allow it anyway if you ask.
You can also use your movement between actions, bonus actions, and reactions you take on your turn. See Breaking Up Your Move.
How to add Tooltips.
Sure, but Flurry of Blows is a single bonus action that allows multiple attacks. The rules do not explicitly allow moving within a single bonus action, only within an Attack action or between actions.
That said, that restriction seems pretty silly to me and I generally don't enforce it while I'm DMing.
pronouns: he/she/they
It would defeat the purpose ofmoving’ between flurries. That makes no sense. But what would be allowed is if 2 creatures were within reach, you could divide the 2, one each, without moving. Like an old Bruce Lee movie, with multiple attackers.
with 2024 rules you FOB, first, move, attack, move again, attack (if 5th level extra attack). Or combo it with hold action, waiting for x to go, move, attack.
but to move during FOB, would defeat the whole meaning of the bonus action.
I think you can move between FoB attacks. Not being able to would make the Drunken Master’s 17th level feature even harder to use
EZD6 by DM Scotty
https://www.drivethrurpg.com/en/product/397599/EZD6-Core-Rulebook?
Drunken Master's not been updated yet, and (without actually going and looking), I'm pretty sure that the movement rules changed in this regard.
I am aware. jl8e already answered that aspect, I was just completing the picture by adding that you can also move before and after actions during your turn.
This quote from the esteemed TarodNet includes references to Jeremy Crawford tweets from the 2014 thread that may be relevant for RAI.
How to add Tooltips.