The description of Beguiling Twist reads "In addition, whenever you or a creature you can see within 120 feet of you succeeds on a saving throw to avoid or end the Charmed or Frightened condition, you can take a Reaction to force a different creature you can see within 120 feet of yourself to make a Wisdom save against your spell save DC. On a failed save, the target is Charmed or Frightened (your choice) for 1 minute."
My question is this: if you use this feature to "ricochet" the charmed or frightened to another creature, are they charmed or frightened by you OR is the condition still attached to the original caster? For example, if a bard casts charm person and you transfer that condition to another creature, when the spell ends does the creature identify the bard as the caster who charmed it, or you as the source? And does the caster realize that you've changed their target?
I love the idea of a caster trying to charm someone, only to have the ranger bounce that spell and make one of their allies frightened of them instead.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
"...at worst if he fails, at least fails while daring greatly, so that his place shall never be with those cold and timid souls who neither know victory nor defeat."
You, the Ranger, are the source of the Charmed or Frightened condition now, so it's applied in reference to you, not the original source.
As for whether the original caster knows that happened or not — generally you know if a spell (or whatever) that you cast fails to do whatever it's supposed to do, so they'd know that the original target of their charm/frighten effect wasn't affected. But I don't think there's any strong guidance in the rules on whether they know that it got "twisted" like this. If I were DMing I think it would come down to whether they were familiar with this sort of fey magic or not.
I guess that makes sense but I think it would be more interesting if you were able to just change the target of the spell without becoming the source of the charmed or frightened condition. Someone tries to charm you and now instead one of their allies is frightened of them. Or someone tries to charm you, you transfer that charm to one of their allies and then when the spell ends they know they were charmed by that person and are suspicious.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
"...at worst if he fails, at least fails while daring greatly, so that his place shall never be with those cold and timid souls who neither know victory nor defeat."
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
The description of Beguiling Twist reads "In addition, whenever you or a creature you can see within 120 feet of you succeeds on a saving throw to avoid or end the Charmed or Frightened condition, you can take a Reaction to force a different creature you can see within 120 feet of yourself to make a Wisdom save against your spell save DC. On a failed save, the target is Charmed or Frightened (your choice) for 1 minute."
My question is this: if you use this feature to "ricochet" the charmed or frightened to another creature, are they charmed or frightened by you OR is the condition still attached to the original caster? For example, if a bard casts charm person and you transfer that condition to another creature, when the spell ends does the creature identify the bard as the caster who charmed it, or you as the source? And does the caster realize that you've changed their target?
I love the idea of a caster trying to charm someone, only to have the ranger bounce that spell and make one of their allies frightened of them instead.
"...at worst if he fails, at least fails while daring greatly, so that his place shall never be with those cold and timid souls who neither know victory nor defeat."
You, the Ranger, are the source of the Charmed or Frightened condition now, so it's applied in reference to you, not the original source.
As for whether the original caster knows that happened or not — generally you know if a spell (or whatever) that you cast fails to do whatever it's supposed to do, so they'd know that the original target of their charm/frighten effect wasn't affected. But I don't think there's any strong guidance in the rules on whether they know that it got "twisted" like this. If I were DMing I think it would come down to whether they were familiar with this sort of fey magic or not.
pronouns: he/she/they
I guess that makes sense but I think it would be more interesting if you were able to just change the target of the spell without becoming the source of the charmed or frightened condition. Someone tries to charm you and now instead one of their allies is frightened of them. Or someone tries to charm you, you transfer that charm to one of their allies and then when the spell ends they know they were charmed by that person and are suspicious.
"...at worst if he fails, at least fails while daring greatly, so that his place shall never be with those cold and timid souls who neither know victory nor defeat."