When you cast Spirit Guardians, the rules as written say they "flit around you to a distance of 15 feet for the duration," and it's clear from everything I've seen that if you move they move with you. If you teleport during the duration, by casting something like Misty Step, (1) do the Spirit Guardians come with you? And if so, (2) do they damage creatures in the area that you teleport to?
actually, my question (2) is answered here: "Creating the area of effect on the creature or moving it onto the creature doesn’t count." But I'm still curious about (1).
The Spirit Guardians travel with you when teleporting. They're described as "Spirits", but functionally it's a spell effect attached to your Self that simply appears in the form of Spirits, since they can't be targeted or otherwise treated as independent creatures.
awesome, thanks! that all makes sense, just wanted to make sure a teleport wouldn't interrupt it because it's such a clutch spell with a long duration.
The spell area is centered on you, so if you move (or teleport) they move with you. The spells description says that creatures makes the saving throw against damage "when they enter the area for the first time on a turn or start their turn there. The rule you found has been incorporated into the Sage Advice Compendium in the below section so it is considered an "official" ruling on the spell:
They would, however, immediately be affected by the halving of their speed, as that is not tied to the saving throw or the section talking about entry into or starting turns in the area, and is a "constant" of just being in the area of effect.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
When you cast Spirit Guardians, the rules as written say they "flit around you to a distance of 15 feet for the duration," and it's clear from everything I've seen that if you move they move with you. If you teleport during the duration, by casting something like Misty Step, (1) do the Spirit Guardians come with you? And if so, (2) do they damage creatures in the area that you teleport to?
actually, my question (2) is answered here: "Creating the area of effect on the creature or moving it onto the creature doesn’t count." But I'm still curious about (1).
The Spirit Guardians travel with you when teleporting. They're described as "Spirits", but functionally it's a spell effect attached to your Self that simply appears in the form of Spirits, since they can't be targeted or otherwise treated as independent creatures.
Watch Crits for Breakfast, an adults-only RP-Heavy Roll20 Livestream at twitch.tv/afterdisbooty
And now you too can play with the amazing art and assets we use in Roll20 for our campaign at Hazel's Emporium
awesome, thanks! that all makes sense, just wanted to make sure a teleport wouldn't interrupt it because it's such a clutch spell with a long duration.
The spell area is centered on you, so if you move (or teleport) they move with you. The spells description says that creatures makes the saving throw against damage "when they enter the area for the first time on a turn or start their turn there. The rule you found has been incorporated into the Sage Advice Compendium in the below section so it is considered an "official" ruling on the spell:
https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/sac/sage-advice-compendium#Spellcasting
They would, however, immediately be affected by the halving of their speed, as that is not tied to the saving throw or the section talking about entry into or starting turns in the area, and is a "constant" of just being in the area of effect.