So with D&D Beyond, multi-class cleric and paladin, when you gain harness divine power from both classes, it is listed twice on the character sheet. Are they separate abilities or would a player be able to use both of them for each time given?
If your Deity as a Cleric and Oath as a Paladin are different and don't conflict with each other, I would say they count separately. If both your classes are tied to the same Deity, they count as one instance of the ability.
That sounds very subjective. Paladins don't even necessarily get powers from deities anymore in 5e.
If your Deity as a Cleric and Oath as a Paladin are different and don't conflict with each other, I would say they count separately. If both your classes are tied to the same Deity, they count as one instance of the ability.
That sounds very subjective. Paladins don't even necessarily get powers from deities anymore in 5e.
So with D&D Beyond, multi-class cleric and paladin, when you gain harness divine power from both classes, it is listed twice on the character sheet. Are they separate abilities or would a player be able to use both of them for each time given?
They stack, since no rule says they don't. So if you're a Cleric 6/Paladin 7, you can use Channel Divinity for Harness Divine Power 4/long rest, and you have Channel Dvinity 2/rest from Cleric.
So with D&D Beyond, multi-class cleric and paladin, when you gain harness divine power from both classes, it is listed twice on the character sheet. Are they separate abilities or would a player be able to use both of them for each time given?
They are sepecate features both applying since the number of times you can use them differ respectively, just like your Channel Divinity.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
So with D&D Beyond, multi-class cleric and paladin, when you gain harness divine power from both classes, it is listed twice on the character sheet. Are they separate abilities or would a player be able to use both of them for each time given?
Hmm... Well you still only have 1 channel divinity per short rest (until cleric level 6/18). That much I'm sure of.
I don't see any multiclass guidance on it like channel divinity itself has, so I guess you get additional uses per long rest.
Often your Deity as a Cleric and Oath as a Paladin are different and don't conflict with each other, I would say they count separately.
That sounds very subjective. Paladins don't even necessarily get powers from deities anymore in 5e.
True, edited my post.
They stack, since no rule says they don't. So if you're a Cleric 6/Paladin 7, you can use Channel Divinity for Harness Divine Power 4/long rest, and you have Channel Dvinity 2/rest from Cleric.
They are sepecate features both applying since the number of times you can use them differ respectively, just like your Channel Divinity.