Hi, as per the title (well I played back about 30 years ago or so).
Because I do not have the rule books, I am just working off the info in LMOP rules etc. I have a few questions, some of which I think I know the answer to but not 100% sure. Any help appreciated.
1- Prficiency Bonus. I have just now(after getting to near Wave Echo Cave) that players add the Proficiency bonus to attack rolls if they are proficient with that weapon.(Yes?)
2- Proficiency Bonus again. Is the Monsters PB already built in to its 'attack score' needed on a roll?
3- We are playing old skool sat round a table with only very occasional miniature usage....mostly old style imagination. So far, mainly because I havnt explained, players are mostly just 'attacking' (or healing)during their turn...and the monsters attack back. I understand there are reactions and things which can liven things up...but I am not sure on how they are used. I think players get 1 'reaction per turn'? I get it if a player says I ready myself for the goblins charge, he then gets to hit the goblin when it runs towards him to attack him...but what about general combat.
A- If a player hasnt had his turn yet, can a player 'react' if a goblin attacks him?
B- Can a player react..to attack...do they then lose their normal attack that turn too? I am overthinking it..do most groups just take it in turns to attack etc?
C- Opportunity attacks. If a player hits a goblin....then the goblin runs towards another player...the player can use his OPP.Attack to hit the goblin. Is that the case even if the player has already attacked?
4- The group Rogue, Halfling assassin. He seems to be able to Shoot(using assassinate if they havnt taken an action) then hide and shoot again from hidden next turn(with a stealth roll vs passive perception of the mob). Is this normal? I dont mind, just want to get my head round it to see we are playing it right.
5- Treasure. The group, having done a lot of LMOP so far...seem to have a lot of gold. Is this normal. How can I get them to 'lose/use' some....atm finding a bit of gold might end up seeming trivial?
6- Magic items/Potions. How does a player find a potion...and then find out what kind of potion it is and what it does?
Before diving into specific answers to these questions, let me point out that in addition to the information provided in the adventure, you and your players should also have access to the Basic Rules of the game for free. From the main page at D&D Beyond, hover over "Sources" and then click on Basic Rules. It's a long read if you've never read it, but you could pretty quickly at least become familiar with where to look up various topics.
1- Yes you add your proficiency bonus to your attack roll when you attack using a weapon with which you have proficiency, as well as when you attack with a spell.
2- Yes the attack roll bonus vs AC already factors it.
3- Certain special abilities, spells, and situations allow you to take a special action called a reaction. A reaction is an instant response to a trigger of some kind, which can occur on your turn or on someone else's. The opportunity attack is the most common type of reaction. When you take a reaction, you can't take another one until the start of your next turn. If the reaction interrupts another creature's turn, that creature can continue its turn right after the reaction.
A- Yes, provided the character can take actions, he can take reactions.
B- The ability or spell tells you the trigger to which you can take reaction. Some involve attacks, others movement etc..
C- Yes the reaction on this case would occur on the goblin's turn.
4- Yes it's normal tactic for a rogue. They heavily rely on their Sneak Attack to damage enemies.
5- It's treasure the adventure gives. They can spend it on weapons, armors, equipments, services, food, alcool etc...
6- The identify spell is the fastest way to reveal an item’s properties. Alternatively, a character can focus on one magic item during a short rest, while being in physical contact with the item. At the end of the rest, the character learns the item’s properties, as well as how to use them. Potions are an exception; a little taste is enough to tell the taster what the potion does.
1- Yes you add your proficiency bonus to your attack roll when you attack using a weapon with which you have proficiency, as well as when you attack with a spell.
2- Yes the attack roll bonus vs AC already factors it.
3- Certain special abilities, spells, and situations allow you to take a special action called a reaction. A reaction is an instant response to a trigger of some kind, which can occur on your turn or on someone else's. The opportunity attack is the most common type of reaction. When you take a reaction, you can't take another one until the start of your next turn. If the reaction interrupts another creature's turn, that creature can continue its turn right after the reaction.
A- Yes, provided the character can take actions, he can take reactions.
B- The ability or spell tells you the trigger to which you can take reaction. Some involve attacks, others movement etc..
C- Yes the reaction on this case would occur on the goblin's turn.
4- Yes it's normal tactic for a rogue. They heavily rely on their Sneak Attack to damage enemies.
5- It's treasure the adventure gives. They can spend it on weapons, armors, equipments, services, food, alcool etc...
6- The identify spell is the fastest way to reveal an item’s properties. Alternatively, a character can focus on one magic item during a short rest, while being in physical contact with the item. At the end of the rest, the character learns the item’s properties, as well as how to use them. Potions are an exception; a little taste is enough to tell the taster what the potion does.
Thanks for that.
One thing I still cant get my tiny mind round-
B- So for a player to react...to say a goblin running at him to hit him- Can a player only react if he 'readies' himself in his turn or is it automatic? AND if the player reacts to attack...can the player still attack as normal in his turn...or is his turn taken up readying himself?
Example-
Frank the warrior enters combat with a goblin at the far side of the room. Frank goes first with ini. Frank readies himself. Goblin charges....frank interupts him with an opportunity attack. Then the goblin hits back.
What if the goblin goes first in initiative? Goblin charges Frank. Frank can opportunity attack? or does he wait his turn (sorry, so lost, so many rules for a new GM ;])
Looking for a practical example which probably helps my mind haha
If a character on his turn take the Ready action to attack when a goblin comes within range, he will be able to take a reaction and attack it if such trigger occur, most likely on the goblin's turn. On the character's next turn, he could use the Attack action.
If the goblin acts before in the initiative, he could move to the character and attack him and the character, on its turn, could attack it, but not as a reaction to the goblin doing so.
Opportunity Attack normally triggers when a hostile creature that you can see moves out of your reach
If a character on his turn take the Ready action to attack when a goblin comes within range, he will be able to take a reaction and attack it if such trigger occur, most likely on the goblin's turn. On the character's next turn, he could use the Attack action.
If the goblin acts before in the initiative, he could move to the character and attack him and the character, on its turn, could attack it, but not as a reaction to the goblin doing so.
Opportunity Attack normally triggers when a hostile creature that you can see moves out of your reach
Thank you.
Last one.
If a player hits a goblin. Then the goblin hits the player and runs away......can the player do an Opportunity attack on the running goblin...even if the player has already had his turn and attacked?
If the goblin does what you've just described and the player has not yet used his Reaction then yes, he can take an Opportunity attack against the goblin.
But, keep in mind that the goblin possesses a special ability that allows him to take the Disengage action as a Bonus Action. If this happens, then the player character would be unable to attempt an opportunity attack as per the rules of the Disengage action.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Hi, as per the title (well I played back about 30 years ago or so).
Because I do not have the rule books, I am just working off the info in LMOP rules etc. I have a few questions, some of which I think I know the answer to but not 100% sure. Any help appreciated.
1- Prficiency Bonus. I have just now(after getting to near Wave Echo Cave) that players add the Proficiency bonus to attack rolls if they are proficient with that weapon.(Yes?)
2- Proficiency Bonus again. Is the Monsters PB already built in to its 'attack score' needed on a roll?
3- We are playing old skool sat round a table with only very occasional miniature usage....mostly old style imagination. So far, mainly because I havnt explained, players are mostly just 'attacking' (or healing)during their turn...and the monsters attack back. I understand there are reactions and things which can liven things up...but I am not sure on how they are used. I think players get 1 'reaction per turn'? I get it if a player says I ready myself for the goblins charge, he then gets to hit the goblin when it runs towards him to attack him...but what about general combat.
A- If a player hasnt had his turn yet, can a player 'react' if a goblin attacks him?
B- Can a player react..to attack...do they then lose their normal attack that turn too? I am overthinking it..do most groups just take it in turns to attack etc?
C- Opportunity attacks. If a player hits a goblin....then the goblin runs towards another player...the player can use his OPP.Attack to hit the goblin. Is that the case even if the player has already attacked?
4- The group Rogue, Halfling assassin. He seems to be able to Shoot(using assassinate if they havnt taken an action) then hide and shoot again from hidden next turn(with a stealth roll vs passive perception of the mob). Is this normal? I dont mind, just want to get my head round it to see we are playing it right.
5- Treasure. The group, having done a lot of LMOP so far...seem to have a lot of gold. Is this normal. How can I get them to 'lose/use' some....atm finding a bit of gold might end up seeming trivial?
6- Magic items/Potions. How does a player find a potion...and then find out what kind of potion it is and what it does?
Thanks all, any help appreciated.
Before diving into specific answers to these questions, let me point out that in addition to the information provided in the adventure, you and your players should also have access to the Basic Rules of the game for free. From the main page at D&D Beyond, hover over "Sources" and then click on Basic Rules. It's a long read if you've never read it, but you could pretty quickly at least become familiar with where to look up various topics.
1- Yes you add your proficiency bonus to your attack roll when you attack using a weapon with which you have proficiency, as well as when you attack with a spell.
2- Yes the attack roll bonus vs AC already factors it.
3- Certain special abilities, spells, and situations allow you to take a special action called a reaction. A reaction is an instant response to a trigger of some kind, which can occur on your turn or on someone else's. The opportunity attack is the most common type of reaction. When you take a reaction, you can't take another one until the start of your next turn. If the reaction interrupts another creature's turn, that creature can continue its turn right after the reaction.
A- Yes, provided the character can take actions, he can take reactions.
B- The ability or spell tells you the trigger to which you can take reaction. Some involve attacks, others movement etc..
C- Yes the reaction on this case would occur on the goblin's turn.
4- Yes it's normal tactic for a rogue. They heavily rely on their Sneak Attack to damage enemies.
5- It's treasure the adventure gives. They can spend it on weapons, armors, equipments, services, food, alcool etc...
6- The identify spell is the fastest way to reveal an item’s properties. Alternatively, a character can focus on one magic item during a short rest, while being in physical contact with the item. At the end of the rest, the character learns the item’s properties, as well as how to use them. Potions are an exception; a little taste is enough to tell the taster what the potion does.
Thanks for that.
One thing I still cant get my tiny mind round-
B- So for a player to react...to say a goblin running at him to hit him- Can a player only react if he 'readies' himself in his turn or is it automatic? AND if the player reacts to attack...can the player still attack as normal in his turn...or is his turn taken up readying himself?
Example-
Frank the warrior enters combat with a goblin at the far side of the room. Frank goes first with ini. Frank readies himself. Goblin charges....frank interupts him with an opportunity attack. Then the goblin hits back.
What if the goblin goes first in initiative? Goblin charges Frank. Frank can opportunity attack? or does he wait his turn (sorry, so lost, so many rules for a new GM ;])
Looking for a practical example which probably helps my mind haha
If a character on his turn take the Ready action to attack when a goblin comes within range, he will be able to take a reaction and attack it if such trigger occur, most likely on the goblin's turn. On the character's next turn, he could use the Attack action.
If the goblin acts before in the initiative, he could move to the character and attack him and the character, on its turn, could attack it, but not as a reaction to the goblin doing so.
Opportunity Attack normally triggers when a hostile creature that you can see moves out of your reach
Thank you.
Last one.
If a player hits a goblin. Then the goblin hits the player and runs away......can the player do an Opportunity attack on the running goblin...even if the player has already had his turn and attacked?
If the goblin does what you've just described and the player has not yet used his Reaction then yes, he can take an Opportunity attack against the goblin.
But, keep in mind that the goblin possesses a special ability that allows him to take the Disengage action as a Bonus Action. If this happens, then the player character would be unable to attempt an opportunity attack as per the rules of the Disengage action.