Take a boat and cast sharp water underneath. Do you thing you could use it as a land ship. 100% sure I’m not the first to think of it just need to know. Thoughts?
I would say no. Firstly you can only affect a 5ft cube so the boat would need to be smaller than any of those specified in the PHB. And also, the options that lets you make a shape (or similar) that stays doesn't allow you to move them and the one that do allow you to move it is instantaneous so it won't allow for more than moving once.
Funny thing about boats in water is when the water underneath them moves, so does the boat.
Especially since you can shape water with the cantrip, just angle the water to be flowing slightly in the direction you want the boat to move.
Not necessarily. Observation of ships, boats, surfers, and people in wave pools demonstrates that just because the water is moving, it doesn't force object on it to move in the same direction.
Of course relating D&D to real physics is...problematical.
As a GM, I'd rule that just the water moves, not the boat. Everybody can be different in their game.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
"Sooner or later, your Players are going to smash your railroad into a sandbox."
-Vedexent
"real life is a super high CR."
-OboeLauren
"............anybody got any potatoes? We could drop a potato in each hole an' see which ones get viciously mauled by horrible monsters?"
I think commenters are forgetting the second point under Shape Water's effects:
You cause the water to form into simple shapes and animate at your direction. This change lasts for 1 hour.
Having the water just be a square that fits around the center of the boat and keeps moving forward, or even 4 balls of water balancing the center of a small boat/canoe seems reasonable. Its not that different from 4 people carrying it, 2 to each side on the center. Even making a simple wheel and axel of Ice and then animating it could be possible.
I would rule it can only go walking speed, and can only work with the smallest boat size possible. And there would be the same weight limit as the boat itself can handle.
It would be like a less effective and more difficult version of Tenser's floating disc, that could be used situationally.
Take a boat and cast sharp water underneath. Do you thing you could use it as a land ship. 100% sure I’m not the first to think of it just need to know. Thoughts?
You could use Shape Water on water under a small row boat to instantaneously move it up to 5 feet, after which the cube would break apart when water flow away on the ground in a splash. After that, there would be no area of water that you can see within range and that fits within a 5-foot cube to cast it again and move your row boat.
But it makes for a spectacuar parking when ship grounding!
Take a boat and cast sharp water underneath. Do you thing you could use it as a land ship. 100% sure I’m not the first to think of it just need to know. Thoughts?
You could use Shape Water on water under a small row boat to instantaneously move it up to 5 feet, after which the cube would break apart when water flow away on the ground in a splash. After that, there would be no area of water that you can see within range and that fits within a 5-foot cube to cast it again and move your row boat.
But it makes for a spectacuar parking when ship grounding!
What about the other bullet under shape water that allows you to hold the water in simple shapes and animate it for an hour?
Take a boat and cast sharp water underneath. Do you thing you could use it as a land ship. 100% sure I’m not the first to think of it just need to know. Thoughts?
You could use Shape Water on water under a small row boat to instantaneously move it up to 5 feet, after which the cube would break apart when water flow away on the ground in a splash. After that, there would be no area of water that you can see within range and that fits within a 5-foot cube to cast it again and move your row boat.
But it makes for a spectacuar parking when ship grounding!
What about the other bullet under shape water that allows you to hold the water in simple shapes and animate it for an hour?
How i read it, you can't shape an area of water and than move it since you're now manipulating an area of water in two ways rather than one.
Take a boat and cast sharp water underneath. Do you thing you could use it as a land ship. 100% sure I’m not the first to think of it just need to know. Thoughts?
You could use Shape Water on water under a small row boat to instantaneously move it up to 5 feet, after which the cube would break apart when water flow away on the ground in a splash. After that, there would be no area of water that you can see within range and that fits within a 5-foot cube to cast it again and move your row boat.
But it makes for a spectacuar parking when ship grounding!
What about the other bullet under shape water that allows you to hold the water in simple shapes and animate it for an hour?
How i read it, you can't shape an area of water and than move it since you're now manipulating an area of water in two ways rather than one.
Then you aren’t reading the spell effects. You can have any 2 continuous effects active and can endlessly apply the noncontinuous effects without voiding the continuing effects.
Shape water does not create water, it only modifies it (for example by making it flow in a certain direction). And it affects only 5 feet. I don't know how you want to use the cantrip to move a boat. In any case, you would need to be able to create water, enough water, for the boat to float. I wouldn't let you do that with that cantrip, since it doesn't make sense physically, and the cantrip doesn't do that. But I would allow it with other resources that make sense.
Then you aren’t reading the spell effects. You can have any 2 continuous effects active and can endlessly apply the noncontinuous effects without voiding the continuing effects.
"If you cast this spell multiple times, you can have no more than two of its non-instantaneous effects active at a time, and you can dismiss such an effect as an action."
It never mention active on the same area of water so i assume it's still limited to one but i could be wrong.
EDIT The more i read it, the more i think it can work. Since "You manipulate it in one of the following ways:" is only true at the moment of casting it, which mean recasting it always manipulate it in only one way at a time.
If you cast the cantrip enough times to shape and make the ice boat, then you have the ice boat.
Now once you have an ice boat you cast the cantrip to shape an area of water underneath the ice boat.
Both the freezing and shaping options last for an hour. As per RAW you only have 2 of the hour long castings active at a time.
Now cast the cantrip over and over using the instantaneous version of the cantrip to move the water underneath the boat.
This is all according to RAW.
And now you have a ice boat that can move 5 feet per round.
This is all accomplished with 1 caster using 1 cantrip.
Add more casters and more cantrips and the fleet is about to launch.
I don't you can cause the water to form into a boat, freeze it and also shape water into a cube underneath that you will move repeatedly as it makes more than 2 non-instantaneous effects active at a time. And if you don't shape the water into a cube to move over, water will just break loose in a splash.
If you cast the cantrip enough times to shape and make the ice boat, then you have the ice boat.
Now once you have an ice boat you cast the cantrip to shape an area of water underneath the ice boat.
Both the freezing and shaping options last for an hour. As per RAW you only have 2 of the hour long castings active at a time.
Now cast the cantrip over and over using the instantaneous version of the cantrip to move the water underneath the boat.
This is all according to RAW.
And now you have a ice boat that can move 5 feet per round.
This is all accomplished with 1 caster using 1 cantrip.
Add more casters and more cantrips and the fleet is about to launch.
I don't you can cause the water to form into a boat, freeze it and also shape water into a cube underneath that you will move repeatedly as it makes more than 2 non-instantaneous effects active at a time. And if you don't shape the water into a cube to move over, water will just break loose in a splash.
Once you freeze the boat, you no longer need the effect holding its shape. Its frozen, it holds its own shape.
So from there, you can have freezing and the shaped water under the boat as the continuous effects.
As for the 10 foot ice boat... once the 2 shapes are merged and frozen into ice, it is now one continuous shape, moving one part will move the other without tearing it apart. Plus you're not really moving either of those parts, you're moving the water underneath the ice boat.
The spell only does what it says it does. Even if they are connected, once you cast the spell only half of the 10 foot section would move. It would not pull the other half along.
On the plus side, you don't need water underneath.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
"Sooner or later, your Players are going to smash your railroad into a sandbox."
-Vedexent
"real life is a super high CR."
-OboeLauren
"............anybody got any potatoes? We could drop a potato in each hole an' see which ones get viciously mauled by horrible monsters?"
-Ilyara Thundertale
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Take a boat and cast sharp water underneath. Do you thing you could use it as a land ship. 100% sure I’m not the first to think of it just need to know. Thoughts?
You mean Shape Water?
I would say no. Firstly you can only affect a 5ft cube so the boat would need to be smaller than any of those specified in the PHB. And also, the options that lets you make a shape (or similar) that stays doesn't allow you to move them and the one that do allow you to move it is instantaneous so it won't allow for more than moving once.
Because it’s fun and also I feel like water can be sharp.
I get that. Mostly I was trying to see how to use cantrips to make a vehicle of some type.
Ok that was an awesome response!!!!
The boat would not move, just the water.
"Sooner or later, your Players are going to smash your railroad into a sandbox."
-Vedexent
"real life is a super high CR."
-OboeLauren
"............anybody got any potatoes? We could drop a potato in each hole an' see which ones get viciously mauled by horrible monsters?"
-Ilyara Thundertale
I wouldn't allow it with a cantrip.
Not necessarily. Observation of ships, boats, surfers, and people in wave pools demonstrates that just because the water is moving, it doesn't force object on it to move in the same direction.
Of course relating D&D to real physics is...problematical.
As a GM, I'd rule that just the water moves, not the boat. Everybody can be different in their game.
"Sooner or later, your Players are going to smash your railroad into a sandbox."
-Vedexent
"real life is a super high CR."
-OboeLauren
"............anybody got any potatoes? We could drop a potato in each hole an' see which ones get viciously mauled by horrible monsters?"
-Ilyara Thundertale
I think commenters are forgetting the second point under Shape Water's effects:
You cause the water to form into simple shapes and animate at your direction. This change lasts for 1 hour.
Having the water just be a square that fits around the center of the boat and keeps moving forward, or even 4 balls of water balancing the center of a small boat/canoe seems reasonable. Its not that different from 4 people carrying it, 2 to each side on the center. Even making a simple wheel and axel of Ice and then animating it could be possible.
I would rule it can only go walking speed, and can only work with the smallest boat size possible. And there would be the same weight limit as the boat itself can handle.
It would be like a less effective and more difficult version of Tenser's floating disc, that could be used situationally.
What if the water is shaped into cylinders and frozen, then animated to spin while the boat sits on top?
You could use Shape Water on water under a small row boat to instantaneously move it up to 5 feet, after which the cube would break apart when water flow away on the ground in a splash. After that, there would be no area of water that you can see within range and that fits within a 5-foot cube to cast it again and move your row boat.
But it makes for a spectacuar parking when ship grounding!
What about the other bullet under shape water that allows you to hold the water in simple shapes and animate it for an hour?
How i read it, you can't shape an area of water and than move it since you're now manipulating an area of water in two ways rather than one.
Then you aren’t reading the spell effects. You can have any 2 continuous effects active and can endlessly apply the noncontinuous effects without voiding the continuing effects.
Shape water does not create water, it only modifies it (for example by making it flow in a certain direction). And it affects only 5 feet. I don't know how you want to use the cantrip to move a boat. In any case, you would need to be able to create water, enough water, for the boat to float. I wouldn't let you do that with that cantrip, since it doesn't make sense physically, and the cantrip doesn't do that. But I would allow it with other resources that make sense.
"If you cast this spell multiple times, you can have no more than two of its non-instantaneous effects active at a time, and you can dismiss such an effect as an action."
It never mention active on the same area of water so i assume it's still limited to one but i could be wrong.
EDIT The more i read it, the more i think it can work. Since "You manipulate it in one of the following ways:" is only true at the moment of casting it, which mean recasting it always manipulate it in only one way at a time.
I don't you can cause the water to form into a boat, freeze it and also shape water into a cube underneath that you will move repeatedly as it makes more than 2 non-instantaneous effects active at a time. And if you don't shape the water into a cube to move over, water will just break loose in a splash.
Once you freeze the boat, you no longer need the effect holding its shape. Its frozen, it holds its own shape.
So from there, you can have freezing and the shaped water under the boat as the continuous effects.
Oh yeah it's very true. No not even needing a real boat loll
The spell only does what it says it does. Even if they are connected, once you cast the spell only half of the 10 foot section would move. It would not pull the other half along.
On the plus side, you don't need water underneath.
"Sooner or later, your Players are going to smash your railroad into a sandbox."
-Vedexent
"real life is a super high CR."
-OboeLauren
"............anybody got any potatoes? We could drop a potato in each hole an' see which ones get viciously mauled by horrible monsters?"
-Ilyara Thundertale