In a previous session I used command, pointing in a direction and saying crawl, dm allowed it so next turn the target dropped prone and crawled half it's movement speed in that direction. Is that allowed for the spell? Dm allowed it but if it's not I won't do it again
The only thing to consider is that a creature you command to crawl can stand up after it crawl even 5 feet. A Flee command will make it moves all it's speed, while a Crawl command will grant advantage on Opportunity Attacks.
There might be some room for debate around some of the niche circumstances that this may create, but for the most part I would agree that your use of a single spoken word as a command is reasonable. The openess of the spell description does require a DM's input if someone uses a word not listed as a typical command.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
“Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness, and many of our people need it sorely on these accounts. Broad, wholesome, charitable views of men and things cannot be acquired by vegetating in one little corner of the earth all one's lifetime.” - Mark Twain - Innocents Abroad
The only thing to consider is that a creature you command to crawl can stand up after it crawl even 5 feet.
That's cheesy and you know it. You'd feel cheated if this happened to you.
Your point about provoking attacks at advantage is fair though. I would probably make the target Disengage or something. Robbing the target of its action is demonstrably within the bounds of the spell.
The tricky thing with this spell is saying "yes, and" without accidentally opening Pandora's Box and creating a use-it-every-single-time best option that beats other spells.
The only thing to consider is that a creature you command to crawl can stand up after it crawl even 5 feet. A Flee command will make it moves all it's speed, while a Crawl command will grant advantage on Opportunity Attacks.
What makes you say they can crawl only 5 feet and stand up? If the Halt command in the spell description didn’t say “The target doesn't move and takes no actions.” Or it was a made up command by a player would you say the target doesn’t move but they can still attack with ranged weapons or spells?
I think the crawl command was fine and the DM played it right.
The only thing to consider is that a creature you command to crawl can stand up after it crawl even 5 feet. A Flee command will make it moves all it's speed, while a Crawl command will grant advantage on Opportunity Attacks.
What makes you say they can crawl only 5 feet and stand up? If the Halt command in the spell description didn’t say “The target doesn't move and takes no actions.” Or it was a made up command by a player would you say the target doesn’t move but they can still attack with ranged weapons or spells?
I think the crawl command was fine and the DM played it right.
Because after they crawled 5 feet they executed the command.
It's true that most command seem to use up your turn and action so to be on par with other command, it should probably be more like this;
Crawl. The target falls prone, crawl half its speed and then ends its turn.
The creature wouldn't be compelled to crawl in the direction that you point. It is only compelled to crawl.
I don't think this particular instance is broken or anything, but opening up hand gestures or additional forms of communication to circumvent the one-word limit of Command could be a dangerous precedent.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
In a previous session I used command, pointing in a direction and saying crawl, dm allowed it so next turn the target dropped prone and crawled half it's movement speed in that direction. Is that allowed for the spell? Dm allowed it but if it's not I won't do it again
Sounds like a reasonable command to me.
The only thing to consider is that a creature you command to crawl can stand up after it crawl even 5 feet. A Flee command will make it moves all it's speed, while a Crawl command will grant advantage on Opportunity Attacks.
There might be some room for debate around some of the niche circumstances that this may create, but for the most part I would agree that your use of a single spoken word as a command is reasonable. The openess of the spell description does require a DM's input if someone uses a word not listed as a typical command.
“Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness, and many of our people need it sorely on these accounts. Broad, wholesome, charitable views of men and things cannot be acquired by vegetating in one little corner of the earth all one's lifetime.” - Mark Twain - Innocents Abroad
That's cheesy and you know it. You'd feel cheated if this happened to you.
Your point about provoking attacks at advantage is fair though. I would probably make the target Disengage or something. Robbing the target of its action is demonstrably within the bounds of the spell.
The tricky thing with this spell is saying "yes, and" without accidentally opening Pandora's Box and creating a use-it-every-single-time best option that beats other spells.
What makes you say they can crawl only 5 feet and stand up? If the Halt command in the spell description didn’t say “The target doesn't move and takes no actions.” Or it was a made up command by a player would you say the target doesn’t move but they can still attack with ranged weapons or spells?
I think the crawl command was fine and the DM played it right.
EZD6 by DM Scotty
https://www.drivethrurpg.com/en/product/397599/EZD6-Core-Rulebook?
Because after they crawled 5 feet they executed the command.
It's true that most command seem to use up your turn and action so to be on par with other command, it should probably be more like this;
The creature wouldn't be compelled to crawl in the direction that you point. It is only compelled to crawl.
I don't think this particular instance is broken or anything, but opening up hand gestures or additional forms of communication to circumvent the one-word limit of Command could be a dangerous precedent.