What does "at will" mean, regarding things like Eldritch Invocations? I thought it mean "unlimited", but some are once per long or short rest. Then I noticed some Invocations say "you can use your action to...", while others say "at will"... does "at will" mean you can do so without using your action, bonus action, or reaction?
"At will" just means that you don't need to spend any limited resources other than time (action, bonus action, reaction, etc.). Typically used in features (like Fiendish Vigor and Spell Mastery) that let you cast leveled spells without spell slots.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
"Any society that would give up a little liberty to gain a little security will deserve neither and lose both" -- allegedly Benjamin Franklin
At will means unlimited. These features do not consume resources.
That was my first assumption (is it spelled out somewhere?), but then it was odd when some, but not all, specified "without using a spell slot", while others said "once you do this, you can't do it again until you finish a long rest". That's like AT&T's unlimited data plan, which is unlimited as long as you use less than 20GB in a month. It's not very "unlimited" if I can only do it once a day. (Not arguing it should be an unlimited number of times per day, nor that it should not use up your action... just trying to understand exactly what "at will" means in the context of the game rules.)
If you are referring to Chains of Carceri, which is the only Invocation where the instances "at will" and "long rest" appear, you can indeed cast hold monster limitlessly, but there is a restriction on the target. You can't target the same creature more than once per long rest.
If you are referring to Chains of Carceri, which is the only Invocation where the instances "at will" and "long rest" appear, you can indeed cast hold monster limitlessly, but there is a restriction on the target. You can't target the same creature more than once per long rest.
I was not referring to that invocation specifically (I had that cleared up recently... I'd missed the target clause), but you're right, of course. No invocation says "at will" but "must finish a short/long rest before using it again", except Chains of Carceri (which can be used repeatedly, just not on the same target between long rests).
Thanks! =)
Does that mean, though, that Book of Shadows cantrips can be cast w/o material components? (They're specified as being able to be cast "at will", but it doesn't mention "without material components".)
What does "at will" mean, regarding things like Eldritch Invocations? I thought it mean "unlimited", but some are once per long or short rest. Then I noticed some Invocations say "you can use your action to...", while others say "at will"... does "at will" mean you can do so without using your action, bonus action, or reaction?
At will means unlimited. These features do not consume resources.
"At will" just means that you don't need to spend any limited resources other than time (action, bonus action, reaction, etc.). Typically used in features (like Fiendish Vigor and Spell Mastery) that let you cast leveled spells without spell slots.
"Any society that would give up a little liberty to gain a little security will deserve neither and lose both" -- allegedly Benjamin Franklin
Tooltips (Help/aid)
If you are referring to Chains of Carceri, which is the only Invocation where the instances "at will" and "long rest" appear, you can indeed cast hold monster limitlessly, but there is a restriction on the target. You can't target the same creature more than once per long rest.
The components are always needed to cast a spell at will, unless otherwise specified.