In the Cleric rules for preparing and casting spells:
You prepare the list of cleric spells that are available for you to cast, choosing from the cleric spell list. When you do so, choose a number of cleric spells equal to your Wisdom modifier + your cleric level (minimum of one spell). The spells must be of a level for which you have spell slots.
Does this mean that a level 1 cleric multiclassed with level 2 wizard, who has level 2 spell slots according to the multiclassing table, can prepare level 2 cleric spells?
In the Cleric rules for preparing and casting spells:
You prepare the list of cleric spells that are available for you to cast, choosing from the cleric spell list. When you do so, choose a number of cleric spells equal to your Wisdom modifier + your cleric level (minimum of one spell). The spells must be of a level for which you have spell slots.
Does this mean that a level 1 cleric multiclassed with level 2 wizard, who has level 2 spell slots according to the multiclassing table, can prepare level 2 cleric spells?
The section on multiclassing has specific details for spellcasting (https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/phb/customization-options#Spellcasting) here's the most relevant part answering your question. The short answer is that you can only prepare level 1 cleric spells, but you *can* upcast them with a level 2 slot.
Spells Known and Prepared. You determine what spells you know and can prepare for each class individually, as if you were a single-classed member of that class. If you are a ranger 4/wizard 3, for example, you know three 1st-level ranger spells based on your levels in the ranger class. As 3rd-level wizard, you know three wizard cantrips, and your spellbook contains ten wizard spells, two of which (the two you gained when you reached 3rd level as a wizard) can be 2nd-level spells. If your Intelligence is 16, you can prepare six wizard spells from your spellbook.
Each spell you know and prepare is associated with one of your classes, and you use the spellcasting ability of that class when you cast the spell. Similarly, a spellcasting focus, such as a holy symbol, can be used only for the spells from the class associated with that focus.
If a cantrip of yours increases in power at higher levels, the increase is based on your character level, not your level in a particular class.
Yeah, if you started as Wizard and multiclassed into Cleric, PeteInCary, you also gain proficiency in light & medium armor and shields! Multiclassing into Wizard gives no additional proficiencies though. Edit: Note that you don't get ALL the proficiencies that you would get as a Level 1 character, like save proficiencies - you need the Resilient feat for that.
Spells known is not Spells prepared is not spells Slots.
Multi-classing helps you with extra Spells Known and extra Spells prepared. It does not directly affect spell slots, unless you are a Warlock because the warlock spell slots stack with the others.
Spells known is not Spells prepared is not spells Slots.
Multi-classing helps you with extra Spells Known and extra Spells prepared. It does not directly affect spell slots, unless you are a Warlock because the warlock spell slots stack with the others.
I feel like the way this is worded could lead to confusion, so to clarify:
Not really relevant to this thread, but knowing and preparing spells are different, but both basically come down to "what spells are available to cast". Spell slots is completely different being "how many spells of each level can be cast." Specific spell availability vs spell level resource.
When multiclassing, the individual class's known/prepared spell availability add together. But their spell slot resources don't add together and are instead replaced by the multiclassing spell slot chart. But warlock slots do add separately instead of combining under the chart.
And just to reiterate the answer to the thread's question, spells known and prepared only consider the level of spell slots the non-multiclassed class should have, not the slots they have from multiclassing.
Maybe it's too obvious, but let me point it out anyways...
When you make the character here on DnDbeyond, it will automatically limit the spell preparation to what is accessible for that character, using all relevant rules.
In the Cleric rules for preparing and casting spells:
You prepare the list of cleric spells that are available for you to cast, choosing from the cleric spell list. When you do so, choose a number of cleric spells equal to your Wisdom modifier + your cleric level (minimum of one spell). The spells must be of a level for which you have spell slots.
Does this mean that a level 1 cleric multiclassed with level 2 wizard, who has level 2 spell slots according to the multiclassing table, can prepare level 2 cleric spells?
The section on multiclassing has specific details for spellcasting (https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/phb/customization-options#Spellcasting) here's the most relevant part answering your question. The short answer is that you can only prepare level 1 cleric spells, but you *can* upcast them with a level 2 slot.
Ah perfect thanks for the quick and excellent answer boonkansan !!!
Variations of these questions get asked all the time.
You'd be surprised how many players multiclass without realizing there is half a chapter dedicated to rules about multiclassing.
Yeah, if you started as Wizard and multiclassed into Cleric, PeteInCary, you also gain proficiency in light & medium armor and shields! Multiclassing into Wizard gives no additional proficiencies though. Edit: Note that you don't get ALL the proficiencies that you would get as a Level 1 character, like save proficiencies - you need the Resilient feat for that.
Spells known is not Spells prepared is not spells Slots.
Multi-classing helps you with extra Spells Known and extra Spells prepared. It does not directly affect spell slots, unless you are a Warlock because the warlock spell slots stack with the others.
I feel like the way this is worded could lead to confusion, so to clarify:
Not really relevant to this thread, but knowing and preparing spells are different, but both basically come down to "what spells are available to cast". Spell slots is completely different being "how many spells of each level can be cast." Specific spell availability vs spell level resource.
When multiclassing, the individual class's known/prepared spell availability add together. But their spell slot resources don't add together and are instead replaced by the multiclassing spell slot chart. But warlock slots do add separately instead of combining under the chart.
And just to reiterate the answer to the thread's question, spells known and prepared only consider the level of spell slots the non-multiclassed class should have, not the slots they have from multiclassing.
Thanks for the clarification. I did word that weirdly.
Maybe it's too obvious, but let me point it out anyways...
When you make the character here on DnDbeyond, it will automatically limit the spell preparation to what is accessible for that character, using all relevant rules.
More Interesting Lock Picking Rules