Kobold recommends throwing multiple javelins on your turn using Extra Attack when doing so puts your melee-only opponents in a tough spot. I was under the impression that you could only interact with one object for free per turn (often referred to by players but not the book as an interaction). But then I remembered a part of the Ammunition property in PHB Chapter 5 that says, "Drawing the ammunition from a quiver, case, or other container is part of the attack." Obviously, javelins aren't ammunition weapons. But the rule about "interactions" in Chapter 9 says, "...you could draw your weapon as part of the same action you use to attack."
I don't think anyone rules that an interaction is required to draw an arrow (since the bow doesn't have the loading property), but I've always thought that drawing a weapon as part of throwing it did require an interaction because it was mentioned in the rule about interactions. Which is the case?
A javelin is a simple melee weapon with the thrown property. By the rules of two-weapon fighting that apply to everyone, if make an attack with a light melee weapon as your action, you can make a bonus action attack with a light melee weapon in your other hand, and throwing the weapon counts for that purpose.
Note, however, that javelins are not light weapons, which means you'd need to have the Dual Wielder feat to throw both javelins.
In any case, the rules you were talking about have to do with ranged weapons with the ammunition property, and the javelin is a different beast. You would need to use an interaction to draw a javelin if you weren't already wielding it. If you already had two javelins wielded... I guess you can throw them both for the Extra Attack? But only if you had the Dual Wield feat. And then you'd be done with attacking since you'd be out of weapons.
True. So if you start with 1 in each hand, you can throw both of those and draw and throw 1 more (leaving you empty handed). Dual wielder will let you draw 1 more, for 4 attacks or 3 and a weapon in hand.
Or you can take the thrown weapon fighting style and can draw a thrown weapon with each attack.
Yea the Thrown Weapon Fighting Style works a lot better than Dual Wielder (allows a shield and allows more weapons drawn).
You can draw a weapon that has the thrown property as part of the attack you make with the weapon. In addition, when you hit with a ranged attack using a thrown weapon, you gain a +2 bonus to the damage roll.
I think the other posts have covered most of the rules questions here well (thrown vs ammunition, etc.). I've noticed a few youtube channels that make these rules-adjacent ruling type videos, and I don't watch them anymore because of that.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I saw this video by Pack Tactics about optimization for Strength martials: https://youtu.be/XieAl-L3DOs
Kobold recommends throwing multiple javelins on your turn using Extra Attack when doing so puts your melee-only opponents in a tough spot. I was under the impression that you could only interact with one object for free per turn (often referred to by players but not the book as an interaction). But then I remembered a part of the Ammunition property in PHB Chapter 5 that says, "Drawing the ammunition from a quiver, case, or other container is part of the attack." Obviously, javelins aren't ammunition weapons. But the rule about "interactions" in Chapter 9 says, "...you could draw your weapon as part of the same action you use to attack."
I don't think anyone rules that an interaction is required to draw an arrow (since the bow doesn't have the loading property), but I've always thought that drawing a weapon as part of throwing it did require an interaction because it was mentioned in the rule about interactions. Which is the case?
A javelin is a simple melee weapon with the thrown property. By the rules of two-weapon fighting that apply to everyone, if make an attack with a light melee weapon as your action, you can make a bonus action attack with a light melee weapon in your other hand, and throwing the weapon counts for that purpose.
Note, however, that javelins are not light weapons, which means you'd need to have the Dual Wielder feat to throw both javelins.
In any case, the rules you were talking about have to do with ranged weapons with the ammunition property, and the javelin is a different beast. You would need to use an interaction to draw a javelin if you weren't already wielding it. If you already had two javelins wielded... I guess you can throw them both for the Extra Attack? But only if you had the Dual Wield feat. And then you'd be done with attacking since you'd be out of weapons.
Helpful rewriter of Japanese->English translation and delver into software codebases (she/e/they)
True. So if you start with 1 in each hand, you can throw both of those and draw and throw 1 more (leaving you empty handed). Dual wielder will let you draw 1 more, for 4 attacks or 3 and a weapon in hand.
Or you can take the thrown weapon fighting style and can draw a thrown weapon with each attack.
Yea the Thrown Weapon Fighting Style works a lot better than Dual Wielder (allows a shield and allows more weapons drawn).
Throwing javelins doesn't work well with Extra Attack unless you have the Thrown Weapon Fighting Style. It was specifically designed for that.
I think the other posts have covered most of the rules questions here well (thrown vs ammunition, etc.). I've noticed a few youtube channels that make these rules-adjacent ruling type videos, and I don't watch them anymore because of that.