As the attack action now consists of both a weapon attack and a spell is the casting time still an action and how does this interact with spells that take a bonus action.
For example
A bladingsinger attacks the enemy champion with his rapier, with his extra attack he casts shocking grasp.
He rolls badly however and the shocking grasp misses.
To get away from the enemy without drawing the opportunity attack can he cast misty step?
Casting misty step using a bonus action so as per the rules he "can’t cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action." the spell description says shocking grasp is a cantip with a casting time of one action but our bladesinger only used part of an action to cast it so does that mean the casting time was not a (whole) action?
The extra attack feature still uses your action to cast a spell with a casting time of 1 action, but it is now cast as part of the attack action, which yes is confusing, but I haven't noticed anything that cares about this distinction.
As the attack action now consists of both a weapon attack and a spell is the casting time still an action and how does this interact with spells that take a bonus action.
For example
A bladingsinger attacks the enemy champion with his rapier, with his extra attack he casts shocking grasp.
He rolls badly however and the shocking grasp misses.
To get away from the enemy without drawing the opportunity attack can he cast misty step?
Casting misty step using a bonus action so as per the rules he "can’t cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action." the spell description says shocking grasp is a cantip with a casting time of one action but our bladesinger only used part of an action to cast it so does that mean the casting time was not a (whole) action?
There are no partial actions, and it doesn't matter that during the attack action, a cantrip with a casting time of one action is cast. It all was part of the action.
So yes, casting Misty Step is allowed, as all the conditions for casting a bonus action spell has been met.
I agree with the above. Shocking Grasp is still a cantrip with a casting time of one action. So it qualifies for the bonus action casting rule even though it is cast as part of an attack action rather than a cast a spell action. The special rules for bladesinger don't change the rules for the cantrip, they just let the bladesinger do something unusual compared to other casters - in this case casting a cantrip requiring and action and make an attack at the same time.
I've been thinking this over specifically with the bladesinger in mind:
What about a spell like green flame blade? It's a spell, but it's also a melee weapon attack. The spell doesn't consume the weapon, so the weapon can be used more than once. Would one count this as an attack (thus eligible for an extra attack), or the casting of a spell? If the former, because it's still a melee attack, could it be used twice in the same turn (i.e. as an attack and an extra attack)?
I've been thinking this over specifically with the bladesinger in mind:
What about a spell like green flame blade? It's a spell, but it's also a melee weapon attack. The spell doesn't consume the weapon, so the weapon can be used more than once. Would one count this as an attack (thus eligible for an extra attack), or the casting of a spell? If the former, because it's still a melee attack, could it be used twice in the same turn (i.e. as an attack and an extra attack)?
It is a spell. The action you normally use for Green Flame Blade is the Cast A Spell Action, not the Attack Action. The spell does involve an attack (a melee weapon attack) but since it is not the Attack Action it is not a situation where Extra Attack applies.
If you use the Attack Action as a Bladesinger (lvl 6) you are able to make one normal weapon attack and also cast one cantrip. You can't cast two cantrips.
I've been thinking this over specifically with the bladesinger in mind:
What about a spell like green flame blade? It's a spell, but it's also a melee weapon attack. The spell doesn't consume the weapon, so the weapon can be used more than once. Would one count this as an attack (thus eligible for an extra attack), or the casting of a spell? If the former, because it's still a melee attack, could it be used twice in the same turn (i.e. as an attack and an extra attack)?
What Correon said. BB/GFB are spells that make an attack, but spells use the cast a spell action regardless. Extra attack only applies to the attack action.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
As the attack action now consists of both a weapon attack and a spell is the casting time still an action and how does this interact with spells that take a bonus action.
For example
Casting misty step using a bonus action so as per the rules he "can’t cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action." the spell description says shocking grasp is a cantip with a casting time of one action but our bladesinger only used part of an action to cast it so does that mean the casting time was not a (whole) action?
It is still 1 action... Mostly.
The extra attack feature still uses your action to cast a spell with a casting time of 1 action, but it is now cast as part of the attack action, which yes is confusing, but I haven't noticed anything that cares about this distinction.
There are no partial actions, and it doesn't matter that during the attack action, a cantrip with a casting time of one action is cast. It all was part of the action.
So yes, casting Misty Step is allowed, as all the conditions for casting a bonus action spell has been met.
I agree with the above. Shocking Grasp is still a cantrip with a casting time of one action. So it qualifies for the bonus action casting rule even though it is cast as part of an attack action rather than a cast a spell action. The special rules for bladesinger don't change the rules for the cantrip, they just let the bladesinger do something unusual compared to other casters - in this case casting a cantrip requiring and action and make an attack at the same time.
I've been thinking this over specifically with the bladesinger in mind:
What about a spell like green flame blade? It's a spell, but it's also a melee weapon attack. The spell doesn't consume the weapon, so the weapon can be used more than once. Would one count this as an attack (thus eligible for an extra attack), or the casting of a spell? If the former, because it's still a melee attack, could it be used twice in the same turn (i.e. as an attack and an extra attack)?
It is a spell. The action you normally use for Green Flame Blade is the Cast A Spell Action, not the Attack Action. The spell does involve an attack (a melee weapon attack) but since it is not the Attack Action it is not a situation where Extra Attack applies.
If you use the Attack Action as a Bladesinger (lvl 6) you are able to make one normal weapon attack and also cast one cantrip. You can't cast two cantrips.
What Correon said. BB/GFB are spells that make an attack, but spells use the cast a spell action regardless. Extra attack only applies to the attack action.