I'm curious if the Gate spell is compatible with Tiny Hut.
It states that "Spells and other magical effects can’t extend through the dome or be cast through it."
If you're inside the tiny hut and cast the Gate spell to a position inside the hut, then it's not extending through it, but the other gate (which is not the target of the spell) is outside, does it work?
Yes, you can cast gate inside tiny hut. You and the side of the gate on your plane need to be inside the hut, but the gate spell will work, i.e. the other end will open on another plane. In general, it takes very particular language tiny hut lacks to prevent plane shifting.
I am not entirely sure you can Gate throught it, spells and other magical effects cannot extend through the hut or be cast through it. Clearly the intent of the wording is prevent anyone not inside at the beginning from entering it, and I definitely would NOT let someone Misty step into the Hut. If it stops teleportation, then it should stop a Gate. On the other hand, a Gate is a high level spell and an argument can be made that it is too powerful for a Tiny Hut to block.
The other possibility is that the Gate works for people already inside, but only lets the 'approved' people in, while letting anyone leave.
In my opinion, this is an unclear area, and you should ask your DM. They could reasonably rule either way.
If you compare with Imprisonment, the game seems to assume that teleportation or planar travel is different than passing through something.
Burial. The target is entombed far beneath the earth in a sphere of magical force that is just large enough to contain the target. Nothing can pass through the sphere, nor can any creature teleport or use planar travel to get into or out of it.
I am not entirely sure you can Gate throught it, spells and other magical effects cannot extend through the hut or be cast through it. Clearly the intent of the wording is prevent anyone not inside at the beginning from entering it, and I definitely would NOT let someone Misty step into the Hut. If it stops teleportation, then it should stop a Gate. On the other hand, a Gate is a high level spell and an argument can be made that it is too powerful for a Tiny Hut to block.
The other possibility is that the Gate works for people already inside, but only lets the 'approved' people in, while letting anyone leave.
In my opinion, this is an unclear area, and you should ask your DM. They could reasonably rule either way.
The Gate spell must be getting cast on a different plane, so there is no concept of being "outside" the hut or "inside" the hut as far as that other plane is concerned.
I am not entirely sure you can Gate throught it, spells and other magical effects cannot extend through the hut or be cast through it. Clearly the intent of the wording is prevent anyone not inside at the beginning from entering it, and I definitely would NOT let someone Misty step into the Hut. If it stops teleportation, then it should stop a Gate. On the other hand, a Gate is a high level spell and an argument can be made that it is too powerful for a Tiny Hut to block.
The other possibility is that the Gate works for people already inside, but only lets the 'approved' people in, while letting anyone leave.
In my opinion, this is an unclear area, and you should ask your DM. They could reasonably rule either way.
The Gate spell must be getting cast on a different plane, so there is no concept of being "outside" the hut or "inside" the hut as far as that other plane is concerned.
Not unless you can find some RAW that confirms that. Except where stated, the rules of game conform to standard physics. And in standard physics, moving to another plane means moving inside/outside of the building you are in.
You have a radically different concept of plane than I have, and in my opinion, are heavily house ruling. Go read the book Flatland by Edwin Abbott.
The word 'plane' is supposed to represent moving in another dimension than the standard four we are familiar with. (Up/Down, North/South, West/East and Past/Future). In other words, think of the Flatland 'plane' from Edwin Abbott's book. Another 'plane' on top of it can only be reached by moving UP (or down), a dimension that people on the Flatland plane do not know about and cannot even see.
In effect, there is no real difference between moving up/down and moving to another 'plane' Which means that YES, moving to another plane is moving in to/out of the Hut.
I am not entirely sure you can Gate throught it, spells and other magical effects cannot extend through the hut or be cast through it.
While a creature outside the hut certainly couldn't cast a gate into it, if you're inside the hut I see no reason why you couldn't create a gate there.
If you think about what the gate spell is doing, it's conjuring the gate itself, in the same way you might conjure woodland beings within the hut, if you were so inclined. That the gate connects to another location is irrelevant, because that location is on another plane of existence entirely, so that location neither exists "inside" nor "outside" the hut, so there can never be any passing through of the hut's boundary.
This differs for example from dimension door which, though it is arguably cast upon the caster (and optional companion) only so not "through" the hut, the effect would enable the caster (and companion) to pass through the boundary to point inside (as you only need to be able to visualise it) so can be argued that the effect "extends through the dome" in which case it is prevented.
Preventing planar travel is what spells like private sanctum are for.
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I'm curious if the Gate spell is compatible with Tiny Hut.
It states that "Spells and other magical effects can’t extend through the dome or be cast through it."
If you're inside the tiny hut and cast the Gate spell to a position inside the hut, then it's not extending through it, but the other gate (which is not the target of the spell) is outside, does it work?
Make your Artificer work with any other class with 174 Multiclassing Feats for your Artificer Multiclass Character!
DM's Guild Releases on This Thread Or check them all out on DMs Guild!
DrivethruRPG Releases on This Thread - latest release: My Character is a Werewolf: balanced rules for Lycanthropy!
I have started discussing/reviewing 3rd party D&D content on Substack - stay tuned for semi-regular posts!
Yes, you can cast gate inside tiny hut. You and the side of the gate on your plane need to be inside the hut, but the gate spell will work, i.e. the other end will open on another plane. In general, it takes very particular language tiny hut lacks to prevent plane shifting.
I agree with quindraco and don't think planeshifting via a gate count as a magical effect extending through the dome of a tiny hut in itself.
I am not entirely sure you can Gate throught it, spells and other magical effects cannot extend through the hut or be cast through it. Clearly the intent of the wording is prevent anyone not inside at the beginning from entering it, and I definitely would NOT let someone Misty step into the Hut. If it stops teleportation, then it should stop a Gate. On the other hand, a Gate is a high level spell and an argument can be made that it is too powerful for a Tiny Hut to block.
The other possibility is that the Gate works for people already inside, but only lets the 'approved' people in, while letting anyone leave.
In my opinion, this is an unclear area, and you should ask your DM. They could reasonably rule either way.
If you compare with Imprisonment, the game seems to assume that teleportation or planar travel is different than passing through something.
The Gate spell must be getting cast on a different plane, so there is no concept of being "outside" the hut or "inside" the hut as far as that other plane is concerned.
Not unless you can find some RAW that confirms that. Except where stated, the rules of game conform to standard physics. And in standard physics, moving to another plane means moving inside/outside of the building you are in.
You have a radically different concept of plane than I have, and in my opinion, are heavily house ruling. Go read the book Flatland by Edwin Abbott.
The word 'plane' is supposed to represent moving in another dimension than the standard four we are familiar with. (Up/Down, North/South, West/East and Past/Future). In other words, think of the Flatland 'plane' from Edwin Abbott's book. Another 'plane' on top of it can only be reached by moving UP (or down), a dimension that people on the Flatland plane do not know about and cannot even see.
In effect, there is no real difference between moving up/down and moving to another 'plane' Which means that YES, moving to another plane is moving in to/out of the Hut.
Tiny Hut prevents you moving through the dome.
If the dome doesn't exist on the other plane, then there is no issue with moving from one to another plane and appearing inside the dome.
I haven't read Flatland, I suspect is just presents one possible way of treating planes.
While a creature outside the hut certainly couldn't cast a gate into it, if you're inside the hut I see no reason why you couldn't create a gate there.
If you think about what the gate spell is doing, it's conjuring the gate itself, in the same way you might conjure woodland beings within the hut, if you were so inclined. That the gate connects to another location is irrelevant, because that location is on another plane of existence entirely, so that location neither exists "inside" nor "outside" the hut, so there can never be any passing through of the hut's boundary.
This differs for example from dimension door which, though it is arguably cast upon the caster (and optional companion) only so not "through" the hut, the effect would enable the caster (and companion) to pass through the boundary to point inside (as you only need to be able to visualise it) so can be argued that the effect "extends through the dome" in which case it is prevented.
Preventing planar travel is what spells like private sanctum are for.
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.