When he casts the spell he can make an attack with his spirit weapon (As part of the same spell. You don't have to spend any other actions). And he can do it every turn thereafter using a BA.
IG is correct. In fact, spiritual weapon never uses your action for anything under any circumstances, so you always have your action available when dealing with spiritual weapon.
for clerics of the circle of small brains: the bonus action on future turns, it should be noted, does not use up a new spell slot each time. the weapon is already summoned and ready.
for clerics of large, pulsing brains (glowing, too) here's why that's important: you can't cast two level-1-or-higher spells in one round. so when the cleric cast the original spiritual weapon using a bonus action, they could not then have spent their main action to cast another spell of level 1 or higher. cantrip (spell level 0) is fine, however. later rounds the bonus action to move and/or attack with the summoned spiritual weapon does not use up a new spell slot and therefore they could cast a level 1 or higher spell as well.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
unhappy at the way in which we lost individual purchases for one-off subclasses, magic items, and monsters?
tell them you don't like features disappeared quietly in the night: providefeedback!
[...] you can't cast two level-1-or-higher spells in one round. [...]
That is totally wrong. On your turn you can cast as many level 1 or higher spells as you want, as long as you have spell slots, actions, and they are not spells with a bonus action cast time. And even by casting a level 1 or higher spell with your bonus action, you could cast another as a reaction if the trigger conditions are met.
In summary: The only limitation you have is that if you cast a spell of level 1 or more with your BA, with your action you can only cast one cantrip; or if you cast a level 1 or higher spell with your action, you cannot cast a level 1 or higher spell with your BA. But there is no rule that tells you that you can only cast one level 1 or higher spell per turn.
[...] you can't cast two level-1-or-higher spells in one round. [...]
That is totally wrong. On your turn you can cast as many level 1 or higher spells as you want, as long as you have spell slots, actions, and they are not spells with a bonus action cast time. And even by casting a level 1 or higher spell with your bonus action, you could cast another as a reaction if the trigger conditions are met.
In summary: The only limitation you have is that if you cast a spell of level 1 or more with your BA, with your action you can only cast one cantrip; or if you cast a level 1 or higher spell with your action, you cannot cast a level 1 or higher spell with your BA. But there is no rule that tells you that you can only cast one level 1 or higher spell per turn.
If I’m not mistaken it’s if you cast any spell as a BA (cantrip or 1st level or higher) you can only cast a cantrip as an action. And if you cast a level one spell as an action you cannot cast any spell (cantrip or 1st level or higher) as a BA.
[...] you can't cast two level-1-or-higher spells in one round. [...]
That is totally wrong. On your turn you can cast as many level 1 or higher spells as you want, as long as you have spell slots, actions, and they are not spells with a bonus action cast time. And even by casting a level 1 or higher spell with your bonus action, you could cast another as a reaction if the trigger conditions are met.
In summary: The only limitation you have is that if you cast a spell of level 1 or more with your BA, with your action you can only cast one cantrip; or if you cast a level 1 or higher spell with your action, you cannot cast a level 1 or higher spell with your BA. But there is no rule that tells you that you can only cast one level 1 or higher spell per turn.
Not quite.
If you cast any spell of any level as a bonus action (even a bonus action cantrip if there is one or a sorcerer that uses quicken on a cantrip), you can only cast cantrips on your turn with a casting time of one action. This means no other leveled spells on your turn AND no reaction spells on your turn.
If you do NOT cast a spell as a bonus action, then there are no restrictions on spellcasting. A character with multiple actions from a feature like action surge can cast multiple spells of any level (typically 1/action). They can also cast reaction spells on their turn. The only thing they can not do is cast any spell as a bonus action.
it has never sat right with me that a bonus action spell locks down both your action and reaction spells. as if bonus actions are more taxing. especially when you're not given the option to down-cast as a regular action. i hope dndone words it more like "you may not use up a spell slot during both your main action and bonus action. cantrips don't use up a spell slot." there might be an even more simple way to word it that precludes follow-up questions about action surge. shrug.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
unhappy at the way in which we lost individual purchases for one-off subclasses, magic items, and monsters?
tell them you don't like features disappeared quietly in the night: providefeedback!
it has never sat right with me that a bonus action spell locks down both your action and reaction spells. as if bonus actions are more taxing. especially when you're not given the option to down-cast as a regular action. i hope dndone words it more like "you may not use up a spell slot during both your main action and bonus action. cantrips don't use up a spell slot." there might be an even more simple way to word it that precludes follow-up questions about action surge. shrug.
They are supposed to be more taxing. Their casting is "especially swift".
it has never sat right with me that a bonus action spell locks down both your action and reaction spells. as if bonus actions are more taxing. especially when you're not given the option to down-cast as a regular action. i hope dndone words it more like "you may not use up a spell slot during both your main action and bonus action. cantrips don't use up a spell slot." there might be an even more simple way to word it that precludes follow-up questions about action surge. shrug.
Bonus actions are meant to restrict reactions as well, so that people don't get 2 leveled spells in one round by casting a bonus action spell and then holding their action to cast a spell later.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Look at what you've done. You spoiled it. You have nobody to blame but yourself. Go sit and think about your actions.
Don't be mean. Rudeness is a vicious cycle, and it has to stop somewhere. Exceptions for things that are funny. Go to the current Competition of the Finest 'Brews! It's a cool place where cool people make cool things.
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat Off - Mod Hat Also Off (I'm not a mod)
it has never sat right with me that a bonus action spell locks down both your action and reaction spells. as if bonus actions are more taxing. especially when you're not given the option to down-cast as a regular action. i hope dndone words it more like "you may not use up a spell slot during both your main action and bonus action. cantrips don't use up a spell slot." there might be an even more simple way to word it that precludes follow-up questions about action surge. shrug.
Bonus actions are meant to restrict reactions as well, so that people don't get 2 leveled spells in one round by casting a bonus action spell and then holding their action to cast a spell later.
For clarity, I think that only applies to spells that you have Readied, as they are cast during your turn but are then held until you decide to let them take effect as a reaction. Other spells with a casting time of one reaction, such as Shield, can be cast, as they are cast during someone else’s turn.
So, for the OP:
Cast Spiritual Weapon as a BA
That turn, you may use your Action to bop a skeleton with your mace, Dodge, try to recall what you know about Liches, etc. You could also cast Sacred Flame (or another cantrip) but not a level 1 or higher spell (nor can you ready such a spell).
During other creatures’ turns, you can use your Reaction to make an opportunity attack or cast any spells you might have that have a casting time of one Reaction.
During your subsequent turns:
you can use your BA to make another attack with Spiritual Weapon;
you can use your Action to perform any action, including now casting spells of level 1 or higher.
Also, regarding Spiritual Weapon. It does not disappear if the caster is knocked out. It lasts for the duration of the spell, just remains inactive. It can be used again if caster is healed or rolls a 20 on a death save as long as it is still within the duration.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I'm sorry. I have read through the rules sections and the more I read the more confused it get. Please answer this question that came up last session.
Cleric casts Spiritual Weapon. Which is correct:
Casts Spiritual Weapon with Bonus Action and can use that same BA to make attack. Cleric still has an Action to use.
Or ... The cleric casts Spiritual Weapon using a BA. Then must use an Attack Action to make the melee spell attack.
Does the first attack happen with the same BA used to cast or not?
Please. Keep it simple as I am a Cleric of small brains.
Thank you
When he casts the spell he can make an attack with his spirit weapon (As part of the same spell. You don't have to spend any other actions). And he can do it every turn thereafter using a BA.
Thank you.
IG is correct. In fact, spiritual weapon never uses your action for anything under any circumstances, so you always have your action available when dealing with spiritual weapon.
"Not all those who wander are lost"
for clerics of the circle of small brains: the bonus action on future turns, it should be noted, does not use up a new spell slot each time. the weapon is already summoned and ready.
for clerics of large, pulsing brains (glowing, too) here's why that's important: you can't cast two level-1-or-higher spells in one round. so when the cleric cast the original spiritual weapon using a bonus action, they could not then have spent their main action to cast another spell of level 1 or higher. cantrip (spell level 0) is fine, however. later rounds the bonus action to move and/or attack with the summoned spiritual weapon does not use up a new spell slot and therefore they could cast a level 1 or higher spell as well.
unhappy at the way in which we lost individual purchases for one-off subclasses, magic items, and monsters?
tell them you don't like features disappeared quietly in the night: provide feedback!
That is totally wrong. On your turn you can cast as many level 1 or higher spells as you want, as long as you have spell slots, actions, and they are not spells with a bonus action cast time. And even by casting a level 1 or higher spell with your bonus action, you could cast another as a reaction if the trigger conditions are met.
In summary: The only limitation you have is that if you cast a spell of level 1 or more with your BA, with your action you can only cast one cantrip; or if you cast a level 1 or higher spell with your action, you cannot cast a level 1 or higher spell with your BA. But there is no rule that tells you that you can only cast one level 1 or higher spell per turn.
If I’m not mistaken it’s if you cast any spell as a BA (cantrip or 1st level or higher) you can only cast a cantrip as an action. And if you cast a level one spell as an action you cannot cast any spell (cantrip or 1st level or higher) as a BA.
EZD6 by DM Scotty
https://www.drivethrurpg.com/en/product/397599/EZD6-Core-Rulebook?
Repeating the attack with a spiritual weapon. as a bonus action has nothing to do with bonus action spellcasting limitation though.
I didn't expect to need this chart in this thread, but here it is anyway.
"Not all those who wander are lost"
Not quite.
If you cast any spell of any level as a bonus action (even a bonus action cantrip if there is one or a sorcerer that uses quicken on a cantrip), you can only cast cantrips on your turn with a casting time of one action. This means no other leveled spells on your turn AND no reaction spells on your turn.
If you do NOT cast a spell as a bonus action, then there are no restrictions on spellcasting. A character with multiple actions from a feature like action surge can cast multiple spells of any level (typically 1/action). They can also cast reaction spells on their turn. The only thing they can not do is cast any spell as a bonus action.
it has never sat right with me that a bonus action spell locks down both your action and reaction spells. as if bonus actions are more taxing. especially when you're not given the option to down-cast as a regular action. i hope dndone words it more like "you may not use up a spell slot during both your main action and bonus action. cantrips don't use up a spell slot." there might be an even more simple way to word it that precludes follow-up questions about action surge. shrug.
unhappy at the way in which we lost individual purchases for one-off subclasses, magic items, and monsters?
tell them you don't like features disappeared quietly in the night: provide feedback!
They are supposed to be more taxing. Their casting is "especially swift".
The OP didn't ask about casting action spells and bonus action spells on the same turn.
Please keep this thread on track instead of debating the bonus action spell stuff for the umpteenth time on these forums.
Bonus actions are meant to restrict reactions as well, so that people don't get 2 leveled spells in one round by casting a bonus action spell and then holding their action to cast a spell later.
Look at what you've done. You spoiled it. You have nobody to blame but yourself. Go sit and think about your actions.
Don't be mean. Rudeness is a vicious cycle, and it has to stop somewhere. Exceptions for things that are funny.
Go to the current Competition of the Finest 'Brews! It's a cool place where cool people make cool things.
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat Off - Mod Hat Also Off (I'm not a mod)
For clarity, I think that only applies to spells that you have Readied, as they are cast during your turn but are then held until you decide to let them take effect as a reaction. Other spells with a casting time of one reaction, such as Shield, can be cast, as they are cast during someone else’s turn.
So, for the OP:
Cast Spiritual Weapon as a BA
That turn, you may use your Action to bop a skeleton with your mace, Dodge, try to recall what you know about Liches, etc. You could also cast Sacred Flame (or another cantrip) but not a level 1 or higher spell (nor can you ready such a spell).
During other creatures’ turns, you can use your Reaction to make an opportunity attack or cast any spells you might have that have a casting time of one Reaction.
During your subsequent turns:
you can use your BA to make another attack with Spiritual Weapon;
you can use your Action to perform any action, including now casting spells of level 1 or higher.
Also, regarding Spiritual Weapon. It does not disappear if the caster is knocked out. It lasts for the duration of the spell, just remains inactive. It can be used again if caster is healed or rolls a 20 on a death save as long as it is still within the duration.