I am curious how you would rule the following line from the Purple Worm stats and description:
"If the worm takes 30 damage or more on a single turn from a creature inside it, the worm must succeed on a DC 21 Constitution saving throw at the end of that turn or regurgitate all swallowed creatures, which fall prone in a space within 10 feet of the worm."
When it states "a creature", does that mean 30 damage from a singular creature? Or can that 30 hp damage include damage from more than one creature? For example, the Battlemaster Fighter has the Commander's Strike maneuver, allowing the PC to forego one of their possibly several attacks to allow an ally to attack on the BM Fighter's turn. Does the damage done by the not-BM Fighter count towards the 30 damage?
A separate but related question: by the time that the party would fight a Purple Worm, the PCs would be around level 10 or 11 at least, I assume. That probably means they would have one or more magic weapons and at least two combat feats. If magic did not function normally inside the Purple Worm, how difficult would it be to do 30 damage on one turn and force the Worm to make a CON save to not vomit out the PCs?
My read is that it must be 30+ damage from a single creature within a single turn. If that creature can attack multiple times in that turn then such damage could be added up.
Otherwise you'd get a solution where everyone else is just readying an attack that triggers when the last creature attacks and their reaction from the ready action would all happen on that last creature's turn. How would characters know to behave in this way and why should that work better? That would be kind of silly.
If magic did not function normally inside the Purple Worm, how difficult would it be to do 30 damage on one turn and force the Worm to make a CON save to not vomit out the PCs?
It would be difficult considering attacks are made with disadvantage, even more without features making multiple attacks on a turn such as Extra Attack, Multiattack or bonus action attack such as Polearm Master or Two-Weapon Fighting.. Even spellcasting is compromised, since many spells require you to see the target, which aren't usable when blinded.
Aye, in adding to the consensus on this, has to come from a single individual as the idea is it being a burst of damage that jolts the worm reflexively
If magic did not function normally inside the Purple Worm, how difficult would it be to do 30 damage on one turn and force the Worm to make a CON save to not vomit out the PCs?
It would be difficult considering attacks are made with disadvantage, even more without features making multiple attacks on a turn such as Extra Attack, Multiattack or bonus action attack such as Polearm Master or Two-Weapon Fighting.. Even spellcasting is compromised, since many spells require you to see the target, which aren't usable when blinded.
Sorry, I'm a little confused about this second part, @PlagueScarred. Where in the Purple worm description does it say or imply that Extra Attack or Multiattack or BA techniques are not usable after being swallowed by the Worm?
If magic did not function normally inside the Purple Worm, how difficult would it be to do 30 damage on one turn and force the Worm to make a CON save to not vomit out the PCs?
It would be difficult considering attacks are made with disadvantage, even more without features making multiple attacks on a turn such as Extra Attack, Multiattack or bonus action attack such as Polearm Master or Two-Weapon Fighting.. Even spellcasting is compromised, since many spells require you to see the target, which aren't usable when blinded.
Sorry, I'm a little confused about this second part, @PlagueScarred. Where in the Purple worm description does it say or imply that Extra Attack or Multiattack or BA techniques are not usable after being swallowed by the Worm?
I didn't say these features were not usable, i said casting spells requiring you to see the target is not possible. Attacking is possible, betetr if you can make more of them if you hope to deal sufficient damage in a single turn and be regurgitated.
I am curious how you would rule the following line from the Purple Worm stats and description:
"If the worm takes 30 damage or more on a single turn from a creature inside it, the worm must succeed on a DC 21 Constitution saving throw at the end of that turn or regurgitate all swallowed creatures, which fall prone in a space within 10 feet of the worm."
When it states "a creature", does that mean 30 damage from a singular creature? Or can that 30 hp damage include damage from more than one creature? For example, the Battlemaster Fighter has the Commander's Strike maneuver, allowing the PC to forego one of their possibly several attacks to allow an ally to attack on the BM Fighter's turn. Does the damage done by the not-BM Fighter count towards the 30 damage?
A separate but related question: by the time that the party would fight a Purple Worm, the PCs would be around level 10 or 11 at least, I assume. That probably means they would have one or more magic weapons and at least two combat feats. If magic did not function normally inside the Purple Worm, how difficult would it be to do 30 damage on one turn and force the Worm to make a CON save to not vomit out the PCs?
My read is that it must be 30+ damage from a single creature within a single turn. If that creature can attack multiple times in that turn then such damage could be added up.
Otherwise you'd get a solution where everyone else is just readying an attack that triggers when the last creature attacks and their reaction from the ready action would all happen on that last creature's turn. How would characters know to behave in this way and why should that work better? That would be kind of silly.
How i read it, the damage must be from a single creature as opposed to being from any creature.
It would be difficult considering attacks are made with disadvantage, even more without features making multiple attacks on a turn such as Extra Attack, Multiattack or bonus action attack such as Polearm Master or Two-Weapon Fighting.. Even spellcasting is compromised, since many spells require you to see the target, which aren't usable when blinded.
Aye, in adding to the consensus on this, has to come from a single individual as the idea is it being a burst of damage that jolts the worm reflexively
Sorry, I'm a little confused about this second part, @PlagueScarred. Where in the Purple worm description does it say or imply that Extra Attack or Multiattack or BA techniques are not usable after being swallowed by the Worm?
I didn't say these features were not usable, i said casting spells requiring you to see the target is not possible. Attacking is possible, betetr if you can make more of them if you hope to deal sufficient damage in a single turn and be regurgitated.
Okay, thanks for the clarification.