So can I get an straight up answer that is 100% correct. I have checked forums but players are divided. Can I cast shillelagh (bonus action, cantrip) and an ordinary spell in the same turn. I have read the players hand book but I am not convinced on what is correct.
Shilellach is a bonus action spell, and thus follows the standard rules for bonus action spells -- you can only cast a cantrip that takes a standard action to cast in the same turn.
Basically, you can, so long as the second spell is a cantrip with a casting time of one action. So Shillelagh + Fire Bolt (or any other action cantrip) is fine, but Shillelagh + Fireball (or any other leveled spell, or non-action spell) is not.
The main reason Shillelagh is a bonus action spell is so that you can still take the Attack action on the same turn you use the spell to buff yourself.
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
Only the action spell is required to be a cantrip when casting with bonus action. So you could for example cast healing spirit and thorn whip in the same turn as well.
A few other notes for this rule: you can't cast reaction spells until the end of your turn (but probably won't come up). Casting limitations only apply when casting with a bonus action, so a fighter's action surge can let you cast 2 leveled spells as actions.
Only the action spell is required to be a cantrip when casting with bonus action. So you could for example cast healing spirit and thorn whip in the same turn as well.
A few other notes for this rule: you can't cast reaction spells until the end of your turn (but probably won't come up). Casting limitations only apply when casting with a bonus action, so a fighter's action surge can let you cast 2 leveled spells as actions.
Would it be correct then that if you cast shillelagh and thorn whip (2 cantrips) then Action Surge, if you cast a spell, as part of the second action, it also needs to be a cantrip (1 action cast) since you cast a bonus action spell.
Only the action spell is required to be a cantrip when casting with bonus action. So you could for example cast healing spirit and thorn whip in the same turn as well.
A few other notes for this rule: you can't cast reaction spells until the end of your turn (but probably won't come up). Casting limitations only apply when casting with a bonus action, so a fighter's action surge can let you cast 2 leveled spells as actions.
Would it be correct then that if you cast shillelagh and thorn whip (2 cantrips) then Action Surge, if you cast a spell, as part of the second action, it also needs to be a cantrip (1 action cast) since you cast a bonus action spell.
Yes, because the bonus action spell rule applies to the entire turn. Action surge gives you a second action, but it’s still the same turn.
I know it's 3 years later but just chiming in because I was looking this up myself. This is a confusing thing if you've only read the short version of the spell in your character sheet / are looking at the damage roll next to it, but the trick with Shillelagh is it's a buffing spell, NOT an attack roll (despite it having an attack roll option in the character sheet, that's just there for ease of use because of how it's altered your attack roll dice on that weapon.)
So: your character uses their bonus action to cast Shillelagh, infusing their weapon with magical power. THEN they can use their action to attack and hit someone with said weapon.
OR, you use your action use a cantrip, and then also use your bonus action to cast Shillelagh, BUT then you don't have any actions left to actually hit anyone - until your next turn (or use action surge if you're classed that way as someone says above). As it's a 1 minute duration, you can then keep using your action to hit with your buffed weapon if you choose to after this point.
You CAN'T cast a cantrip (action), then cast Shillelagh (bonus action), AND attack (another action - hit with the shillelagh-infused weapon), unless you have some additional ability which gives you an extra action.
(This is basically what Sigred above said but I'm just re-explaining for people like me who find this one a little extra confusing <3 )
That's it Shillelagh isn't meant to be cast and not attack with your action, but you can still instead cast a cantrip with your action following it or any other spell on subsequent turns.
The spell spiritual weapon is in similar position where they were designed to be cast with only a bonus action as opposed to an action so you can then usually immediately attack with it.
That's it Shillelagh isn't meant to be cast and not attack with your action, but you can still instead cast a cantrip with your action following it or any other spell on subsequent turns.
The spell spiritual weapon is in similar position where they were designed to be cast with only a bonus action as opposed to an action so you can then usually immediately attack with it.
Spiritual Weapon doesn't summon a weapon that you personally wield and take the attack action with. It's a summonable creature that you continue to direct with your bonus action on subsequent turns.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
That's it Shillelagh isn't meant to be cast and not attack with your action, but you can still instead cast a cantrip with your action following it or any other spell on subsequent turns.
The spell spiritual weapon is in similar position where they were designed to be cast with only a bonus action as opposed to an action so you can then usually immediately attack with it.
Spiritual Weapon doesn't summon a weapon that you personally wield and take the attack action with. It's a summonable creature that you continue to direct with your bonus action on subsequent turns.
You don't summon a creature, it's not a conjuration spell but an evocation letting ''you create a floating, spectral weapon'' that you move and attack with as a bonus action. Like i said, it's a similar position in the sense that initial casting is not allowing to cast any spell you want, but on subsequent round attacking with it is otherwise not limiting spellcasting.
Spiritual Weapon doesn't summon a weapon that you personally wield and take the attack action with. It's a summonable creature that you continue to direct with your bonus action on subsequent turns.
No, it's a summonable object that you use to make attacks. This is important cases where your attacks are being modified by some effect.
Another important distinction a Spiritual Weapon is not a creature you can target with effects targeting creatures or use as for the purpose of Flanking or Sneak Attack.for exemple.
Just for reference there is a Sage Advice Compendium Q&A on the subject of bonus action granted by a spell;
Does the rule on casting a bonus action spell apply when you take a bonus action granted by a spell?
The rule on casting a spell as a bonus action applies only on the turn you cast the spell. For example, spiritual weapon can be cast as a bonus action, and it lasts for 1 minute. On the turn you cast it, you can’t cast another spell before or after it, unless that spell is a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action. Until spiritual weapon ends, it gives you the option of controlling its spectral weapon as a bonus action. That bonus action does not involve casting a spell, despite the fact that it’s granted by a spell, so you can control the weapon and cast whatever spell you like on the same turn.
That's it Shillelagh isn't meant to be cast and not attack with your action, but you can still instead cast a cantrip with your action following it or any other spell on subsequent turns.
The spell spiritual weapon is in similar position where they were designed to be cast with only a bonus action as opposed to an action so you can then usually immediately attack with it.
Spiritual Weapon doesn't summon a weapon that you personally wield and take the attack action with. It's a summonable creature that you continue to direct with your bonus action on subsequent turns.
You don't summon a creature, it's not a conjuration spell but an evocation letting ''you create a floating, spectral weapon'' that you move and attack with as a bonus action. Like i said, it's a similar position in the sense that initial casting is not allowing to cast any spell you want, but on subsequent round attacking with it is otherwise not limiting spellcasting.
I misinterpreted your point as you thinking it summons an actual object that can be wielded and used with the attack action like Shadow Blade. My bad. It's not a creature, but it's also very much not an object as objects can be interacted with. It's just a spell effect.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
I know it's 3 years later but just chiming in because I was looking this up myself. This is a confusing thing if you've only read the short version of the spell in your character sheet / are looking at the damage roll next to it, but the trick with Shillelagh is it's a buffing spell, NOT an attack roll (despite it having an attack roll option in the character sheet, that's just there for ease of use because of how it's altered your attack roll dice on that weapon.)
So: your character uses their bonus action to cast Shillelagh, infusing their weapon with magical power. THEN they can use their action to attack and hit someone with said weapon.
OR, you use your action use a cantrip, and then also use your bonus action to cast Shillelagh, BUT then you don't have any actions left to actually hit anyone - until your next turn (or use action surge if you're classed that way as someone says above). As it's a 1 minute duration, you can then keep using your action to hit with your buffed weapon if you choose to after this point.
You CAN'T cast a cantrip (action), then cast Shillelagh (bonus action), AND attack (another action - hit with the shillelagh-infused weapon), unless you have some additional ability which gives you an extra action.
(This is basically what Sigred above said but I'm just re-explaining for people like me who find this one a little extra confusing <3 )
Since it's already multi-bumped anyway, I'll chime in with a quick example of the "additional ability":
Green-Flame Blade and Booming Blade are both cantrips, meaning you can cast one after Shillelagh and use its attack as part of GFB or BB.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
So can I get an straight up answer that is 100% correct. I have checked forums but players are divided. Can I cast shillelagh (bonus action, cantrip) and an ordinary spell in the same turn. I have read the players hand book but I am not convinced on what is correct.
Shilellach is a bonus action spell, and thus follows the standard rules for bonus action spells -- you can only cast a cantrip that takes a standard action to cast in the same turn.
Basically, you can, so long as the second spell is a cantrip with a casting time of one action. So Shillelagh + Fire Bolt (or any other action cantrip) is fine, but Shillelagh + Fireball (or any other leveled spell, or non-action spell) is not.
So shillelagh and thorn whip would work? Casting two cantrips in one turn is ok if one is an bonus action?
Yes, shillelagh and thorn whip is a 100% A-okay combination.
The main reason Shillelagh is a bonus action spell is so that you can still take the Attack action on the same turn you use the spell to buff yourself.
Yes, casting any combination of (only) Cantrips with Action/Bonus Action is perfectly permissible.
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
Only the action spell is required to be a cantrip when casting with bonus action. So you could for example cast healing spirit and thorn whip in the same turn as well.
A few other notes for this rule: you can't cast reaction spells until the end of your turn (but probably won't come up). Casting limitations only apply when casting with a bonus action, so a fighter's action surge can let you cast 2 leveled spells as actions.
Would it be correct then that if you cast shillelagh and thorn whip (2 cantrips) then Action Surge, if you cast a spell, as part of the second action, it also needs to be a cantrip (1 action cast) since you cast a bonus action spell.
EZD6 by DM Scotty
https://www.drivethrurpg.com/en/product/397599/EZD6-Core-Rulebook?
Yes, because the bonus action spell rule applies to the entire turn. Action surge gives you a second action, but it’s still the same turn.
You got it.
I know it's 3 years later but just chiming in because I was looking this up myself. This is a confusing thing if you've only read the short version of the spell in your character sheet / are looking at the damage roll next to it, but the trick with Shillelagh is it's a buffing spell, NOT an attack roll (despite it having an attack roll option in the character sheet, that's just there for ease of use because of how it's altered your attack roll dice on that weapon.)
So: your character uses their bonus action to cast Shillelagh, infusing their weapon with magical power. THEN they can use their action to attack and hit someone with said weapon.
OR, you use your action use a cantrip, and then also use your bonus action to cast Shillelagh, BUT then you don't have any actions left to actually hit anyone - until your next turn (or use action surge if you're classed that way as someone says above). As it's a 1 minute duration, you can then keep using your action to hit with your buffed weapon if you choose to after this point.
You CAN'T cast a cantrip (action), then cast Shillelagh (bonus action), AND attack (another action - hit with the shillelagh-infused weapon), unless you have some additional ability which gives you an extra action.
(This is basically what Sigred above said but I'm just re-explaining for people like me who find this one a little extra confusing <3 )
That's it Shillelagh isn't meant to be cast and not attack with your action, but you can still instead cast a cantrip with your action following it or any other spell on subsequent turns.
The spell spiritual weapon is in similar position where they were designed to be cast with only a bonus action as opposed to an action so you can then usually immediately attack with it.
Spiritual Weapon doesn't summon a weapon that you personally wield and take the attack action with. It's a summonable creature that you continue to direct with your bonus action on subsequent turns.
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
You don't summon a creature, it's not a conjuration spell but an evocation letting ''you create a floating, spectral weapon'' that you move and attack with as a bonus action. Like i said, it's a similar position in the sense that initial casting is not allowing to cast any spell you want, but on subsequent round attacking with it is otherwise not limiting spellcasting.
No, it's a summonable object that you use to make attacks. This is important cases where your attacks are being modified by some effect.
Another important distinction a Spiritual Weapon is not a creature you can target with effects targeting creatures or use as for the purpose of Flanking or Sneak Attack.for exemple.
Just for reference there is a Sage Advice Compendium Q&A on the subject of bonus action granted by a spell;
I misinterpreted your point as you thinking it summons an actual object that can be wielded and used with the attack action like Shadow Blade. My bad. It's not a creature, but it's also very much not an object as objects can be interacted with. It's just a spell effect.
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
Since it's already multi-bumped anyway, I'll chime in with a quick example of the "additional ability":
Green-Flame Blade and Booming Blade are both cantrips, meaning you can cast one after Shillelagh and use its attack as part of GFB or BB.