I would tend to rule against it since it's the familiar attacking and not the warlock. I saw in another thread that the familiar can somehow deliver touch spells for the warlock, but can't seem to find the documentation to support it. Given that support, I would rule that those attacks would qualify, given that they don't break concentration.
I would tend to rule against it since it's the familiar attacking and not the warlock. I saw in another thread that the familiar can somehow deliver touch spells for the warlock, but can't seem to find the documentation to support it. Given that support, I would rule that those attacks would qualify, given that they don't break concentration.
The documentation is the find familiar spell. And in this case you the warlock is still the one casting the spell so it will trigger hex's extra damage, but also can't be used the same turn you cast hex (because bonus action spellcasting rules).
I would tend to rule against it since it's the familiar attacking and not the warlock. I saw in another thread that the familiar can somehow deliver touch spells for the warlock, but can't seem to find the documentation to support it. Given that support, I would rule that those attacks would qualify, given that they don't break concentration.
The documentation is the find familiar spell. And in this case you the warlock is still the one casting the spell so it will trigger hex's extra damage, but also can't be used the same turn you cast hex (because bonus action spellcasting rules).
It works fine if the spell used as the cast a spell action is a cantrip. A warlock can cast hex on a target and then use the familiar to cast shocking grasp on the target for example and it would receive the extra d6 of damage from hex.
If I use my Bonus Action to cast Hex on a target and then I use my Action to have my familiar attack the target, does the extra damage still kick in?
One can do it however they wish (within the rules and DM discretion)but if you are not using eldritch blast in conjunction with your hex ( bonus action spell then regular action cantrip), or not taking agonizing blast, you are only hamstringing yourself out of damage especially at 5th lvl and higher
If I use my Bonus Action to cast Hex on a target and then I use my Action to have my familiar attack the target, does the extra damage still kick in?
One can do it however they wish but of you are not using eldritch blast in conjunction with your hex ( bonus action spell then regular action cantrip), or not taking agonizing blast, you are only hamstringing yourself out of damage especially at 5th lvl and higher
Yeah, but maybe you're low HP and want to just hide behind a rock while your familiar wades into melee :)
What about if you prepare a cantrip? You can use cantrips on turns you cast a spell with bonus action, so if you use hex, then use eldritch blast for with the extra d6, you use the familiar's action to (if that familiar can do it) become invisible, then it gets in the range it can attack the enemy while invisibility for safety and stay hidden untill the next turn, or you can use your action to prepare a melee cantrip to activate when your familiar gets close to the enemy, since it's not the familiar's attack, it doesn't brake it's invisibility.
On the next turn, you use your bonus action (from investment of the chain master) to command the familiar to attack, then use eldritch blast to trigger hex, it makes it an alternative to maddening hex that deal more damege and can inflict status effects (altough it's not AOE, and unless it's a sprit it doesn't have long range attacks), the problem with this is that is that i don't know if that i don't know if it attacks on it's turn or in your turn when you use your bonus action with the investment of the chain master or if it attacks on it's turn? and if it attacks on it's turn, does it use the reaction or it's action? if it uses it's reaction then fine, he can use it's action to become invisible again, but if it uses it'saction then they become vulnerable once the invisibility ends.
If I use my Bonus Action to cast Hex on a target and then I use my Action to have my familiar attack the target, does the extra damage still kick in?
DCI: 3319125026
I’d say no because it’s your familiar attacking, not you.
Professional computer geek
I would tend to rule against it since it's the familiar attacking and not the warlock. I saw in another thread that the familiar can somehow deliver touch spells for the warlock, but can't seem to find the documentation to support it. Given that support, I would rule that those attacks would qualify, given that they don't break concentration.
Agreed.
The documentation is the find familiar spell. And in this case you the warlock is still the one casting the spell so it will trigger hex's extra damage, but also can't be used the same turn you cast hex (because bonus action spellcasting rules).
It works fine if the spell used as the cast a spell action is a cantrip. A warlock can cast hex on a target and then use the familiar to cast shocking grasp on the target for example and it would receive the extra d6 of damage from hex.
One can do it however they wish (within the rules and DM discretion)but if you are not using eldritch blast in conjunction with your hex ( bonus action spell then regular action cantrip), or not taking agonizing blast, you are only hamstringing yourself out of damage especially at 5th lvl and higher
Gamecock City Adventurers of Sumter, SC
Yeah, but maybe you're low HP and want to just hide behind a rock while your familiar wades into melee :)
Looking for new subclasses, spells, magic items, feats, and races? Opinions welcome :)
What about if you prepare a cantrip? You can use cantrips on turns you cast a spell with bonus action, so if you use hex, then use eldritch blast for with the extra d6, you use the familiar's action to (if that familiar can do it) become invisible, then it gets in the range it can attack the enemy while invisibility for safety and stay hidden untill the next turn, or you can use your action to prepare a melee cantrip to activate when your familiar gets close to the enemy, since it's not the familiar's attack, it doesn't brake it's invisibility.
On the next turn, you use your bonus action (from investment of the chain master) to command the familiar to attack, then use eldritch blast to trigger hex, it makes it an alternative to maddening hex that deal more damege and can inflict status effects (altough it's not AOE, and unless it's a sprit it doesn't have long range attacks), the problem with this is that is that i don't know if that i don't know if it attacks on it's turn or in your turn when you use your bonus action with the investment of the chain master or if it attacks on it's turn? and if it attacks on it's turn, does it use the reaction or it's action? if it uses it's reaction then fine, he can use it's action to become invisible again, but if it uses it'saction then they become vulnerable once the invisibility ends.