The way I read it, there are two different targets: the "point within range" where the elemental is summoned and the recipient of the package. Based on that alone Twinned spell doesn't work. Though I could see the argument that the elemental is essentially flavor text.
But unless something is holding you to running RAW, I don't think there's anything wrong with letting the spell be twinned or even giving them a non-spell ability that performs the same function since we're already homebrewing.
Galder's Speedy Courier doesn't target any creatures, therefore doesn't meet the criteria for twinning. Per the spell, you target a spot; that is the only target of the spell that fits the range rule "the target of a spell must be within the spell's range." The summoned elemental and the creature the chest later appears near are not per rules "the target of the spell."
But HamFrozenSolid makes a point: if you are designing a monster you can give it whatever abilities it needs in order to further your goals or the story of the game.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I have a monster im designing that will have the spell, but also access to some meta magic. I was wondering, can Galder's Speedy Courier be twinned?
It only targets one creature, and doesn't have a range of self. So it seems to fit the bill but im not sure.
The way I read it, there are two different targets: the "point within range" where the elemental is summoned and the recipient of the package. Based on that alone Twinned spell doesn't work. Though I could see the argument that the elemental is essentially flavor text.
But unless something is holding you to running RAW, I don't think there's anything wrong with letting the spell be twinned or even giving them a non-spell ability that performs the same function since we're already homebrewing.
Galder's Speedy Courier doesn't target any creatures, therefore doesn't meet the criteria for twinning. Per the spell, you target a spot; that is the only target of the spell that fits the range rule "the target of a spell must be within the spell's range." The summoned elemental and the creature the chest later appears near are not per rules "the target of the spell."
But HamFrozenSolid makes a point: if you are designing a monster you can give it whatever abilities it needs in order to further your goals or the story of the game.