An open hand monksets pof the vibrationas of quivering palm in the BBEG. The BBEG escapes and disappears, it appears to have cast either teleport or planeshift (or something similar). What happens if the monk then uses his action to set off the quivering palm when the BBEG is on a different plane
Does the monk know the quivering plam failed to reach the BBEG?
Can he use his action again laterwhen he either knows or hopes the BBEG is in te same plane as him?
As a side question if the BBEG is in the same plane does he know if the BBEG failed or succeeded the con save,
Of course if the BBEG has a healer near him it might not kill him even if he fails
To do so, you and the target must be on the same plane of existence
I would rule that you can't even do it if you are not on the same plane. Meaning, you can't use the action to set it off in the first place (cluing you to the fact that the target might be on another plane)
Ad2. Since the monk couldn't really use the action before, if they learn that the target has returned later and it's still within the right period of time, sure, now they can use it.
Ad3. I would rule not since it encroaches on the "characters are aware of the game mechanics" territory. I would say that monk knows that the effect took, but not whether or not the target saved.
An open hand monksets pof the vibrationas of quivering palm in the BBEG. The BBEG escapes and disappears, it appears to have cast either teleport or planeshift (or something similar). What happens if the monk then uses his action to set off the quivering palm when the BBEG is on a different plane
As a side question if the BBEG is in the same plane does he know if the BBEG failed or succeeded the con save,
Of course if the BBEG has a healer near him it might not kill him even if he fails
AD1. Judging by this
To do so, you and the target must be on the same plane of existence
I would rule that you can't even do it if you are not on the same plane. Meaning, you can't use the action to set it off in the first place (cluing you to the fact that the target might be on another plane)
Ad2. Since the monk couldn't really use the action before, if they learn that the target has returned later and it's still within the right period of time, sure, now they can use it.
Ad3. I would rule not since it encroaches on the "characters are aware of the game mechanics" territory. I would say that monk knows that the effect took, but not whether or not the target saved.