I'm confused by the fact that these two rules are separate, it looks like the player triggers AoO by using her movement, but an NPC/enemy just has to leave your reach (e.g. pushed).
Is this correct?
Avoiding Opportunity Attack. You can avoid provoking an Opportunity Attack by taking the Disengage action. You also don’t provoke an Opportunity Attack when you Teleport or when you are moved without using your movement, action, Bonus Action, or Reaction. For example, you don’t provoke an Opportunity Attack if an explosion hurls you out of a foe’s reach or if you fall past an enemy.
Making an Opportunity Attack. You can make an Opportunity Attack when a creature that you can see leaves your reach. To make the attack, take a Reaction to make one melee attack with a weapon or an Unarmed Strike against that creature. The attack occurs right before it leaves your reach.
I'm confused by the fact that these two rules are separate, it looks like the player triggers AoO by using her movement, but an NPC/enemy just has to leave your reach (e.g. pushed).
Is this correct?
Avoiding Opportunity Attack. You can avoid provoking an Opportunity Attack by taking the Disengage action. You also don’t provoke an Opportunity Attack when you Teleport or when you are moved without using your movement, action, Bonus Action, or Reaction. For example, you don’t provoke an Opportunity Attack if an explosion hurls you out of a foe’s reach or if you fall past an enemy.
Making an Opportunity Attack. You can make an Opportunity Attack when a creature that you can see leaves your reach. To make the attack, take a Reaction to make one melee attack with a weapon or an Unarmed Strike against that creature. The attack occurs right before it leaves your reach.
Don't be confused by it using the word "you" all over the place; these rules apply in the same way to all creatures. Anyone leaving a hostile creatures reach provokes an opportunity attack, unless they're being forced to move without using their own resources, or they've used the Disengage action.
This language was the same in the 2014 PHB.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
pronouns: he/she/they
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I'm confused by the fact that these two rules are separate, it looks like the player triggers AoO by using her movement, but an NPC/enemy just has to leave your reach (e.g. pushed).
Is this correct?
Don't be confused by it using the word "you" all over the place; these rules apply in the same way to all creatures. Anyone leaving a hostile creatures reach provokes an opportunity attack, unless they're being forced to move without using their own resources, or they've used the Disengage action.
This language was the same in the 2014 PHB.
pronouns: he/she/they